Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Morphine Sulphate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

710 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2021.

710
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 50 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
94.9%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
51%
record death among outcomes, as reported
362 reports · not verified by FDA

710 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Morphine Sulphate" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2012 to September 2021. A further 1,469 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 50 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded drug abuse (29.2%), poisoning (16.1%) and death (9.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 241 different terms appear across these reports. Drug abuse is recorded in 29.2% of these reports, against 0.4% of all reports in the database.

94.9% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 51% record death among the outcomes and 19.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 23.1% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (25.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

024Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01132252012: 620122013: 9720132014: 2520142015: 22520152016: 8120162017: 1820172018: 15120182019: 2320192020: 4920202021: 352021

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Morphine Sulphate reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine29.2%207
  2. Poisoning16.1%114
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.7%69
  4. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount9.7%69
  5. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine8.9%63
  6. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances8.9%63
  7. Painpain, site not specified5.9%42
  8. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.2%37
  9. Constipationconstipation4.8%34
  10. Nauseafeeling sick4.2%30
  11. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine3.5%25
  12. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped3.4%24
  13. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.1%22
  14. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped3%21
  15. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.8%20
  16. Vomitingbeing sick2.8%20
  17. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine2.4%17
  18. Falla fall2.4%17
  19. Gait disturbancedifficulty walking2.4%17
  20. Psychotic disordera loss of contact with reality2.4%17
  21. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease2.4%17
  22. Fatiguetiredness2%14
  23. Self-medication2%14
  24. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose1.8%13
  25. Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.8%13
  26. Hallucinationseeing or hearing things that are not there1.7%12
  27. Somnolencedrowsiness1.7%12

Top 30 of 241 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death51%362
Life-threatening3.2%23
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)19.6%139
Disability2.8%20
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious39.3%279
Not serious5.1%36

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.7%5
2 to 111%7
12 to 170.7%5
18 to 4425.1%178
45 to 6424.8%176
65 to 745.5%39
75 and over4.5%32
Age not given37.7%268

Patient sex

Female42.1%299
Male35.4%251
Not given22.5%160

Who reported

Physician23.1%164
Pharmacist13.5%96
Other health professional21.5%153
Lawyer17.5%124
Consumer or non-health professional22.5%160
Not given1.8%13

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 59% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain19227%
Back pain111.5%
Analgesic therapy50.7%
Pain management50.7%
Intervertebral disc protrusion30.4%
Spinal anaesthesia30.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 710 reports.

In context

MeasureMorphine SulphateAll reports
Reports as suspect product71020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious94.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports51091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports196213
Consumer-filed share22.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug abuse 29.2%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Morphine Sulphate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Morphine Sulphate?

710 reports list Morphine Sulphate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,469 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Morphine Sulphate reports?

drug abuse (29.2%), poisoning (16.1%), death (9.7%), overdose (9.7%) and drug dependence (8.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Morphine Sulphate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.9% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 51% of reports include death and 19.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (23.1%), consumer or non-health professional (22.5%) and other health professional (21.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Morphine Sulphate rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Morphine Sulphate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Morphine Sulphate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Morphine Sulphate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,469) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.