Reported Reactions

Drugs › Iron chelator

Brand name · Deferasirox

Jadenu: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,848 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026. Class: Iron chelator.

2,848
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 168 a year
16
reports, 12 months to June 2026
18 in the 12 months before
61.3%
marked serious by the reporter
85.9% across the class
20.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
574 reports · not verified by FDA

2,848 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Jadenu (deferasirox) as a suspect or interacting product, from July 2009 to June 2026. A further 945 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 16 reports listed it, down 11% from 18 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 168 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 10.9% of the reports for the iron chelator class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (15.4%), diarrhoea (8.2%) and nausea (4.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 467 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 15.4% of these reports, a larger share than in the median iron chelator drug (7.5%).

61.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (85.9% across the class); 20.2% record death among the outcomes and 26.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 44.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (13.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01427Jul 2021: 27Aug 2021: 12Sep 2021: 24Oct 2021: 11Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 192022Jan 2022: 13Feb 2022: 15Mar 2022: 19Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 10Jun 2022: 8Jul 2022: 14Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 13Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 16Feb 2023: 10Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 11May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 10Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 7Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02324642009: 120092011: 12012: 120122014: 22015: 14720152016: 4292017: 46420172018: 4442019: 46420192020: 3802021: 22720212022: 1352023: 10220232024: 272025: 1020252026: 14

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Jadenu reports recording the termmedian drug in iron chelator

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term15.4%440
  2. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools8.2%234
  3. Nauseafeeling sick4.7%135
  4. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin4.6%130
  5. Fatiguetiredness4%113
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.5%101
  7. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.4%97
  8. Pyrexiafever3.4%96
  9. Blood iron increased3.2%92
  10. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain3%85
  11. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.9%82
  12. Vomitingbeing sick2.9%82
  13. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count2.8%81
  14. Rashskin rash2.7%78
  15. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort2.6%75
  16. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated2.5%70
  17. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.5%70
  18. Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test2.4%68
  19. Anaemialow red blood cells2.4%67
  20. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.2%64
  21. Painpain, site not specified2.1%61
  22. Pneumonialung infection2.1%60
  23. Headachehead pain2%56
  24. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.9%53
  25. Weight decreasedweight loss1.8%52
  26. Drug dose omissiona dose was missed1.8%51
  27. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times1.8%50
  28. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.7%49

Top 30 of 467 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 5 drugs in the iron chelator class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death20.2%574
Life-threatening2.7%77
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)26.2%747
Disability0.5%15
Congenital anomaly0%1
Other serious24.4%695
Not serious38.7%1,101

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 26,165 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%4
2 to 113.8%109
12 to 173.6%102
18 to 4413.1%374
45 to 647.5%213
65 to 747.1%202
75 and over10%286
Age not given54.7%1,558

Patient sex

Female44.4%1,265
Male40.5%1,154
Not given15.1%429

Who reported

Physician18.2%519
Pharmacist12.6%359
Other health professional21.1%601
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional44.1%1,257
Not given3.9%112

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 76.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Iron overload47716.7%
Myelodysplastic syndrome1746.1%
Haemochromatosis1445.1%
Thalassaemia1164.1%
Sickle cell anaemia953.3%
Sickle cell disease742.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,848 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Jadenu reports
Folic acid1695.9%
Exjade1655.8%
Hydroxyurea702.5%
Jakavi652.3%
Jakafi602.1%
Furosemide421.5%
Aspirin411.4%
Omeprazole321.1%
Vitamin d311.1%
Allopurinol291%

Other products listed in reports where Jadenu is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureJadenuIron chelatorAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,84826,16520,646,523
Share of that pool—10.9%0%
Reports, latest 12 months16—1,332,454
Marked serious61.3%85.9%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports20228491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports262369213
Consumer-filed share44.1%32.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 15.4%median 7.5%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the iron chelator class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Exjadebrand18,3093091.9%
Ferriproxbrand2,35129665%
Deferasiroxgeneric1,81015787.5%
Desferalbrand8471393.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Jadenu reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Jadenu?

2,848 reports list Jadenu as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 16 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 945 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Jadenu reports?

death (15.4%), diarrhoea (8.2%), nausea (4.7%), serum ferritin increased (4.6%) and haemoglobin decreased (4.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Jadenu was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

61.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 20.2% of reports include death and 26.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (44.1%), other health professional (21.1%) and physician (18.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Jadenu rising?

16 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 11% from 18 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Jadenu was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Jadenu?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Jadenu as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (945) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.