Reported Reactions

Drugs › Anti-coagulant

Generic name

Heparin sodium: adverse event reports filed with FDA

13,350 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Anti-coagulant. Also reported as Heparin Sodium Injection, Heparin Sodium 5 Iu, Heparin Sodium Inj.

13,350
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 593 a year
845
reports, 12 months to June 2026
671 in the 12 months before
68%
marked serious by the reporter
55.7% across the class
21.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,882 reports · not verified by FDA

13,350 adverse event reports received by FDA list heparin sodium, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 4,714 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 845 reports listed it, up 26% from 671 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 593 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 46.1% of the reports for the anti-coagulant class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are heparin-induced thrombocytopenia (12.2%), adverse event (10.9%) and drug ineffective (8.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,565 different terms appear across these reports. Heparin-induced thrombocytopenia is recorded in 12.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median anti-coagulant drug (1.4%).

68% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (55.7% across the class); 21.6% record death among the outcomes and 27% record hospitalisation, as reported. 31.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (20.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

066132Jul 2021: 76Aug 2021: 90Sep 2021: 59Oct 2021: 36Nov 2021: 36Dec 2021: 582022Jan 2022: 43Feb 2022: 39Mar 2022: 49Apr 2022: 86May 2022: 59Jun 2022: 76Jul 2022: 41Aug 2022: 79Sep 2022: 96Oct 2022: 53Nov 2022: 53Dec 2022: 532023Jan 2023: 52Feb 2023: 63Mar 2023: 55Apr 2023: 48May 2023: 39Jun 2023: 109Jul 2023: 76Aug 2023: 91Sep 2023: 46Oct 2023: 87Nov 2023: 44Dec 2023: 422024Jan 2024: 61Feb 2024: 26Mar 2024: 37Apr 2024: 74May 2024: 72Jun 2024: 71Jul 2024: 59Aug 2024: 53Sep 2024: 54Oct 2024: 68Nov 2024: 39Dec 2024: 632025Jan 2025: 56Feb 2025: 70Mar 2025: 41Apr 2025: 51May 2025: 52Jun 2025: 65Jul 2025: 94Aug 2025: 71Sep 2025: 47Oct 2025: 43Nov 2025: 37Dec 2025: 652026Jan 2026: 59Feb 2026: 65Mar 2026: 97Apr 2026: 55May 2026: 80Jun 2026: 132

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,2212,4422004: 45620042005: 1842006: 1552007: 9020072008: 1,3542009: 4732010: 2,44220102011: 6332012: 2652013: 20620132014: 1752015: 2352016: 27820162017: 3312018: 4332019: 67220192020: 6822021: 9502022: 72720222023: 7522024: 6772025: 69220252026: 488

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Heparin sodium reports recording the termmedian drug in anti-coagulant

  1. Heparin-induced thrombocytopenia12.2%1,635
  2. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified10.9%1,459
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected8.9%1,182
  4. Hypotensionlow blood pressure7.9%1,051
  5. Nauseafeeling sick7.8%1,041
  6. Vomitingbeing sick6.4%855
  7. Dyspnoeashortness of breath5.9%782
  8. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain4.8%644
  9. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine4.8%643
  10. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection4.3%573
  11. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.3%568
  12. Thrombosis4.2%559
  13. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung4.1%547
  14. Anaemialow red blood cells3.7%490
  15. Thrombocytopenialow platelets3.4%456
  16. Haemorrhagebleeding3.4%450
  17. Headachehead pain3.3%440
  18. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.2%426
  19. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.1%420
  20. Chest painchest pain2.9%390
  21. Deep vein thrombosisa blood clot in a deep vein2.9%387
  22. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.8%370
  23. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.8%368
  24. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen2.7%362
  25. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped2.7%354
  26. Myocardial infarctionheart attack2.7%354
  27. Cardiogenic shockshock from the heart failing to pump2.6%351
  28. Pyrexiafever2.6%345
  29. Blood pressure decreaseda low blood pressure reading2.5%338
  30. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.5%336

Top 30 of 1,565 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 10 drugs in the anti-coagulant class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.6%2,882
Life-threatening12%1,599
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)27%3,603
Disability3.4%455
Congenital anomaly0.9%116
Other serious48.9%6,530
Not serious32%4,266

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 28,971 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21%133
2 to 110.9%115
12 to 170.7%88
18 to 449.3%1,247
45 to 6420.7%2,770
65 to 7414.7%1,967
75 and over14.5%1,938
Age not given38.1%5,092

Patient sex

Female36.6%4,890
Male42.8%5,709
Not given20.6%2,751

Who reported

Physician23.6%3,153
Pharmacist16.1%2,144
Other health professional31.8%4,243
Lawyer16%2,136
Consumer or non-health professional8.3%1,112
Not given4.2%562

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 68.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Anticoagulant therapy2,00515%
Thrombosis prophylaxis1,1308.5%
Prophylaxis5253.9%
Pulmonary embolism2712%
Haemodialysis2401.8%
Catheterisation cardiac1451.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,350 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Heparin sodium reports
Aspirin9166.9%
Acetaminophen6334.7%
Furosemide5524.1%
Lansoprazole4833.6%
Potassium chloride4453.3%
Ondansetron4383.3%
Simvastatin4153.1%
Metronidazole4143.1%
Allopurinol4133.1%
Gabapentin3943%

Other products listed in reports where Heparin sodium is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureHeparin sodiumAnti-coagulantAll reports
Reports as suspect product13,35028,97120,646,523
Share of that pool—46.1%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months845—1,332,454
Marked serious68%55.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21617291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports270238213
Consumer-filed share8.3%10.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsHeparin-induced thrombocytopenia 12.2%median 1.4%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the anti-coagulant class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Anticoagulant Sodium Citratebrand6,781802.4%
Fragminbrand3,32722079.1%
Dalteparin sodiumgeneric1,2986395.5%
Argatrobangeneric1,0625285.1%
Bivalirudingeneric7064190.7%
Sodium citrategeneric6244495.2%
Potassium citrategeneric6166441.4%
Clenpiqbrand6163117.4%
Heparin Sodium in Dextrosebrand5912488.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Heparin sodium reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Heparin sodium?

13,350 reports list Heparin sodium as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 845 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 4,714 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Heparin sodium reports?

heparin-induced thrombocytopenia (12.2%), adverse event (10.9%), drug ineffective (8.9%), hypotension (7.9%) and nausea (7.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Heparin sodium was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

68% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.6% of reports include death and 27% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (31.8%), physician (23.6%) and pharmacist (16.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Heparin sodium rising?

845 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 26% from 671 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Heparin sodium was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Heparin sodium?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Heparin sodium as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (4,714) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.