Reported Reactions

Drugs › Aromatase inhibitor

Brand name · Letrozole

Femara: adverse event reports filed with FDA

8,770 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Aromatase inhibitor.

8,770
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 390 a year
367
reports, 12 months to June 2026
397 in the 12 months before
89.1%
marked serious by the reporter
82.2% across the class
13.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,153 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 8,770 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Femara (letrozole) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (5,324) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 367 reports listed it, close to the 397 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 390 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 12.5% of the reports for the aromatase inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are fatigue (10%), arthralgia (8.5%) and malignant neoplasm progression (8.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,432 different terms appear across these reports. Fatigue is recorded in 10% of these reports, about the same share as in the median aromatase inhibitor drug (10.6%).

89.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (82.2% across the class); 13.1% record death among the outcomes and 26.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 41% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (22.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03365Jul 2021: 33Aug 2021: 50Sep 2021: 30Oct 2021: 35Nov 2021: 48Dec 2021: 442022Jan 2022: 31Feb 2022: 30Mar 2022: 38Apr 2022: 29May 2022: 28Jun 2022: 38Jul 2022: 44Aug 2022: 30Sep 2022: 28Oct 2022: 30Nov 2022: 37Dec 2022: 392023Jan 2023: 33Feb 2023: 32Mar 2023: 27Apr 2023: 37May 2023: 40Jun 2023: 45Jul 2023: 28Aug 2023: 58Sep 2023: 40Oct 2023: 53Nov 2023: 43Dec 2023: 382024Jan 2024: 30Feb 2024: 39Mar 2024: 37Apr 2024: 33May 2024: 38Jun 2024: 34Jul 2024: 26Aug 2024: 24Sep 2024: 65Oct 2024: 32Nov 2024: 34Dec 2024: 342025Jan 2025: 33Feb 2025: 30Mar 2025: 32Apr 2025: 29May 2025: 29Jun 2025: 29Jul 2025: 29Aug 2025: 32Sep 2025: 35Oct 2025: 29Nov 2025: 39Dec 2025: 312026Jan 2026: 19Feb 2026: 50Mar 2026: 36Apr 2026: 22May 2026: 25Jun 2026: 20

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03056092004: 6420042005: 1382006: 2382007: 22120072008: 2782009: 3522010: 60920102011: 6012012: 4912013: 31820132014: 1892015: 3722016: 52220162017: 3752018: 4292019: 56220192020: 6092021: 5512022: 40220222023: 4742024: 4262025: 37720252026: 172

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Femara reports recording the termmedian drug in aromatase inhibitor

  1. Fatiguetiredness10%880
  2. Arthralgiajoint pain8.5%743
  3. Nauseafeeling sick7.8%687
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6.6%582
  5. Painpain, site not specified5.5%486
  6. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools5.4%477
  7. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5%439
  8. Breast cancerbreast cancer4.7%413
  9. Alopeciahair loss4.7%412
  10. Headachehead pain4.7%412
  11. Vomitingbeing sick4.7%410
  12. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell4.5%399
  13. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.4%388
  14. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg4.1%363
  15. Bone painbone pain4.1%361
  16. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4%350
  17. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.7%325
  18. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.5%310
  19. Pyrexiafever3.5%309
  20. Hot flusha hot flush3.5%303
  21. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count3.4%299
  22. Back painback pain3.2%285
  23. Insomniadifficulty sleeping3.1%268
  24. Myalgiamuscle pain3%267
  25. Anaemialow red blood cells3%261
  26. Weight decreasedweight loss2.9%251
  27. Coughcough2.9%250
  28. Falla fall2.9%250

Top 30 of 1,432 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the aromatase inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death13.1%1,153
Life-threatening2.9%250
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)26.3%2,307
Disability3.4%299
Congenital anomaly0.2%19
Other serious63%5,529
Not serious10.9%959

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 70,406 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%12
2 to 110%3
12 to 170.1%12
18 to 444.6%407
45 to 6422.5%1,970
65 to 7413.8%1,208
75 and over10%881
Age not given48.8%4,277

Patient sex

Female93%8,155
Male1.1%98
Not given5.9%517

Who reported

Physician30.1%2,639
Pharmacist5.8%506
Other health professional14.3%1,250
Lawyer0.1%8
Consumer or non-health professional41%3,598
Not given8.8%769

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 38.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Breast cancer3,33738.1%
Breast cancer metastatic8689.9%
Her2 positive breast cancer1842.1%
Breast cancer female1521.7%
Neoplasm malignant1091.2%
Hormone receptor positive her2 negative breast cancer971.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,770 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Femara reports
Kisqali1,34115.3%
Ibrance7028%
Aromasin3984.5%
Palbociclib3924.5%
Zometa3824.4%
Xgeva3784.3%
Faslodex3303.8%
Herceptin3053.5%
Letrozole2943.4%
Tamoxifen2873.3%

Other products listed in reports where Femara is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureFemaraAromatase inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product8,77070,40620,646,523
Share of that pool—12.5%0%
Reports, latest 12 months367—1,332,454
Marked serious89.1%82.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1319491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports263240213
Consumer-filed share41%31.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFatigue 10%median 10.6%3.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the aromatase inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Letrozolegeneric27,8492,52389.9%
Arimidexbrand10,2179558%
Anastrozolegeneric10,1221,23486.4%
Exemestanegeneric7,04147385.5%
Aromasinbrand6,40711267.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Femara reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Femara?

8,770 reports list Femara as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 367 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 5,324 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Femara reports?

fatigue (10%), arthralgia (8.5%), malignant neoplasm progression (8.4%), nausea (7.8%) and death (6.6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Femara was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

89.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 13.1% of reports include death and 26.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (41%), physician (30.1%) and other health professional (14.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Femara rising?

367 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 397 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Femara was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Femara?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Femara as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (5,324) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.