Reported Reactions

Drugs › Estrogen

Brand name · Estradiol, folliculinum, oophorinum (suis)

Estrogens: adverse event reports filed with FDA

738 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Estrogen. Also reported as Estrogens Nos.

738
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 33 a year
57
reports, 12 months to June 2026
47 in the 12 months before
90.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.2% across the class
5.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
40 reports · not verified by FDA

Between June 2004 and June 2026, 738 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Estrogens (estradiol, folliculinum, oophorinum (suis)) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,959) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 57 reports listed it, up 21% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 33 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.6% of the reports for the estrogen class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded breast cancer (30.2%), breast cancer female (25.7%) and breast operation (5.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 205 different terms appear across these reports. Breast cancer is recorded in 30.2% of these reports, a larger share than in the median estrogen drug (1.8%).

90.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (57.2% across the class); 5.4% record death among the outcomes and 11.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 41.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (20.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0611Jul 2021: 3Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 4Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 7Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 6Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 5Jun 2025: 9Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 9Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 52026Jan 2026: 6Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 6Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 7

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0811622004: 16220042005: 432006: 142007: 1420072008: 412009: 992010: 11520102011: 42012: 42013: 320132014: 12015: 62016: 220162017: 292018: 12019: 220192020: 42021: 122022: 2420222023: 322024: 412025: 5720252026: 28

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Estrogens reports recording the termmedian drug in estrogen

  1. Breast cancerbreast cancer30.2%223
  2. Breast operation5.1%38
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.7%27
  4. Mastectomy2.4%18
  5. Hot flusha hot flush2.3%17
  6. Anxietyanxiety2%15
  7. Oestrogen receptor assay positive1.9%14
  8. Painpain, site not specified1.9%14
  9. Progesterone receptor assay positive1.8%13
  10. Completed suicidedeath by suicide1.6%12
  11. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.6%12
  12. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label1.6%12
  13. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances1.5%11
  14. Depressionlow mood1.4%10
  15. Nauseafeeling sick1.4%10
  16. Vaginal haemorrhagevaginal bleeding1.4%10
  17. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.2%9
  18. Breast cancer in situ1.1%8
  19. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.1%8
  20. Depressed moodlow mood1.1%8
  21. Injurya physical injury1.1%8
  22. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg1.1%8
  23. Arthralgiajoint pain0.9%7
  24. Cryingcrying0.9%7
  25. Fatiguetiredness0.9%7
  26. Headachehead pain0.9%7
  27. Menopausal symptoms0.9%7

Top 30 of 205 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 25 drugs in the estrogen class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death5.4%40
Life-threatening1.2%9
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)11.2%83
Disability3.4%25
Congenital anomaly0.4%3
Other serious82%605
Not serious9.9%73

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 127,523 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.1%1
12 to 171.1%8
18 to 443.8%28
45 to 6420.7%153
65 to 746.5%48
75 and over3.5%26
Age not given64.2%474

Patient sex

Female90.9%671
Male2.8%21
Not given6.2%46

Who reported

Physician6.4%47
Pharmacist3.5%26
Other health professional11.9%88
Lawyer41.3%305
Consumer or non-health professional19.6%145
Not given17.2%127

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 68.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hormone replacement therapy26035.2%
Oestrogen replacement therapy162.2%
Menopause111.5%
Hormone therapy101.4%
Menopausal symptoms70.9%
Persistent genital arousal disorder50.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 738 reports.

In context

MeasureEstrogensEstrogenAll reports
Reports as suspect product738127,52320,646,523
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Reports, latest 12 months57—1,332,454
Marked serious90.1%57.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports541791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports112105213
Consumer-filed share19.6%49%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsBreast cancer 30.2%median 1.8%0.4%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the estrogen class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Premarinbrand34,40115877.8%
Premprobrand19,8323690.4%
Nuvaringbrand18,6435549.2%
Estradiolgeneric15,4792,77743%
Estradiol Transdermal Systembrand5,9891,3083.2%
Estracebrand4,6492558.9%
Estringbrand3,81311530.5%
CombiPatch (estradiol/norethindrone acetate transdermal system)brand3,60838419.5%
Climarabrand3,1463725.9%
Minivellebrand2,823334%
Climara Probrand1,94911511%
Xulanebrand1,5376510.3%
Vivelle-Dotbrand1,4886232.1%
EstroGelbrand1,3129474.9%
Conjugated estrogensgeneric1,1671298.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Estrogens reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Estrogens?

738 reports list Estrogens as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 57 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,959 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Estrogens reports?

breast cancer (30.2%), breast cancer female (25.7%), breast operation (5.1%), drug ineffective (3.7%) and breast cancer metastatic (3.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Estrogens was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

90.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 5.4% of reports include death and 11.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (41.3%), consumer or non-health professional (19.6%) and not given (17.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Estrogens rising?

57 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 21% from 47 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Estrogens was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Estrogens?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Estrogens as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,959) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.