Brand name · Apalutamide
Erleada: adverse event reports filed with FDA
9,485 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2018–2026.
- 9,485
- reports as suspect product
- 0.1% of all reports · about 1,138 a year
- 1,128
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 1,255 in the 12 months before
- 60.4%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 13.3%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 1,259 reports · not verified by FDA
Between March 2018 and June 2026, 9,485 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Erleada (apalutamide) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (832) are left out of every figure here.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,128 reports listed it, down 10% from 1,255 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,138 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
Reporters most often recorded rash (12.3%), death (10.6%) and fatigue (9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 802 different terms appear across these reports. Rash is recorded in 12.3% of these reports, against 2.1% of all reports in the database.
60.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 13.3% record death among the outcomes and 20.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (31.9%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Erleada reports recording the termall reports in the database
- Rashskin rash12.3%1,171
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.6%1,010
- Fatiguetiredness9%858
- Hot flusha hot flush5.7%544
- Product dose omission issuea dose was missed3.7%352
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.2%305
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.1%293
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.1%290
- Decreased appetitereduced appetite2.8%267
- Arthralgiajoint pain2.8%261
- Falla fall2.7%255
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.7%252
- Pruritusitching2.6%250
- Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.4%226
- Weight decreasedweight loss2.2%204
- Nauseafeeling sick2.1%198
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2%190
- Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.9%184
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%177
- Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.6%150
- Therapy cessation1.6%150
- Painpain, site not specified1.5%147
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.5%144
- Insomniadifficulty sleeping1.5%143
- Pyrexiafever1.5%139
- Headachehead pain1.4%130
- Incorrect dose administeredthe wrong dose was given1.3%121
- Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg1.2%118
- Pneumonialung infection1.2%117
Top 30 of 802 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 64.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Prostate cancer | 3,215 | 33.9% |
| Prostate cancer metastatic | 563 | 5.9% |
| Hormone-dependent prostate cancer | 543 | 5.7% |
| Hormone-refractory prostate cancer | 273 | 2.9% |
| Neoplasm malignant | 43 | 0.5% |
| Prostate cancer stage 0 | 20 | 0.2% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 9,485 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Erleada reports |
|---|---|---|
| Orgovyx | 293 | 3.1% |
| Atorvastatin | 265 | 2.8% |
| Aspirin | 258 | 2.7% |
| Amlodipine | 219 | 2.3% |
| Tamsulosin | 208 | 2.2% |
| Lupron | 203 | 2.1% |
| Eligard | 192 | 2% |
| Lisinopril | 174 | 1.8% |
| Ergocalciferol | 166 | 1.8% |
| Metformin | 159 | 1.7% |
Other products listed in reports where Erleada is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Erleada | All reports |
|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 9,485 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0.1% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 1,128 | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 60.4% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 133 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 206 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 36.2% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Rash 12.3% | 2.1% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Questions about Erleada reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Erleada?
9,485 reports list Erleada as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,128 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 832 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Erleada reports?
rash (12.3%), death (10.6%), fatigue (9%), hot flush (5.7%) and product dose omission issue (3.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Erleada was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
60.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 13.3% of reports include death and 20.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
consumer or non-health professional (36.2%), physician (26%) and other health professional (22.3%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Erleada rising?
1,128 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 10% from 1,255 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Erleada was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Erleada?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Erleada as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (832) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.