Reported Reactions

Drugs › Corticosteroid

Brand name · Methylprednisolone acetate

Depo-Medrol: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,181 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Corticosteroid.

2,181
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 97 a year
55
reports, 12 months to June 2026
77 in the 12 months before
75.8%
marked serious by the reporter
77.7% across the class
5.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
113 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and May 2026, 2,181 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Depo-Medrol (methylprednisolone acetate) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,847) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 55 reports listed it, down 29% from 77 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 97 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 0.3% of the reports for the corticosteroid class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded pain (11.1%), off label use (8.8%) and drug ineffective (7.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 635 different terms appear across these reports. Pain is recorded in 11.1% of these reports, a larger share than in the median corticosteroid drug (2%).

75.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (77.7% across the class); 5.2% record death among the outcomes and 29.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 32.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01019Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 19Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 7Dec 2022: 32023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 10Mar 2023: 7Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 11Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 7Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 5Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 14Feb 2024: 3Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 4May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 162025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 9Mar 2025: 9Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 7Aug 2025: 10Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 5Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 12May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0891772004: 6720042005: 562006: 702007: 5320072008: 642009: 662010: 14920102011: 922012: 1252013: 14720132014: 1152015: 1772016: 13220162017: 1582018: 1282019: 15120192020: 892021: 222022: 8820222023: 672024: 732025: 6520252026: 27

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Depo-Medrol reports recording the termmedian drug in corticosteroid

  1. Painpain, site not specified11.1%242
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.8%193
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.9%173
  4. Arthralgiajoint pain7.8%170
  5. Nauseafeeling sick7.7%168
  6. Dyspnoeashortness of breath6.7%147
  7. Headachehead pain6.7%146
  8. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg6.5%141
  9. Rashskin rash6.1%134
  10. Joint swellinga swollen joint5.9%129
  11. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.5%120
  12. Pruritusitching5.5%119
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness5.4%118
  14. Erythemaskin redness5.3%115
  15. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine5.1%111
  16. Infectionan infection, type not specified5%108
  17. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs4.8%104
  18. Hypoaesthesianumbness4.4%95
  19. Musculoskeletal stiffnessstiffness in muscles or joints4.4%95
  20. Anxietyanxiety4.3%94
  21. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease4.3%94
  22. Back painback pain4.1%89
  23. Pyrexiafever4.1%89
  24. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.9%86
  25. Fatiguetiredness3.9%86
  26. Musculoskeletal painpain in muscles or bones3.8%82
  27. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction3.6%79
  28. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain3.5%77
  29. Pneumonialung infection3.4%75

Top 30 of 635 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 74 drugs in the corticosteroid class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death5.2%113
Life-threatening5.4%118
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)29.8%651
Disability8.9%195
Congenital anomaly0.3%7
Other serious53.5%1,166
Not serious24.2%528

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 808,789 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.6%12
2 to 111%21
12 to 170.9%20
18 to 4417.4%379
45 to 6424.6%536
65 to 7410.6%232
75 and over6.9%151
Age not given38.1%830

Patient sex

Female55.2%1,204
Male29.5%644
Not given15.3%333

Who reported

Physician27.6%601
Pharmacist8.2%178
Other health professional23.8%520
Lawyer2.1%46
Consumer or non-health professional32.5%709
Not given5.8%127

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 60.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis1185.4%
Back pain904.1%
Arthralgia653%
Osteoarthritis562.6%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia492.2%
Spinal column stenosis401.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,181 reports.

In context

MeasureDepo-MedrolCorticosteroidAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,181808,78920,646,523
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months55—1,332,454
Marked serious75.8%77.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports5214691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports298336213
Consumer-filed share32.5%29.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPain 11.1%median 2%2.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the corticosteroid class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Prednisonegeneric183,86715,61491.4%
Dexamethasonegeneric129,6779,21695.1%
Prednisolonegeneric87,8066,62497.6%
Methylprednisolonegeneric49,5374,43095.2%
Symbicortbrand39,1191,17750.6%
Breo Elliptabrand22,22062831.7%
Hydrocortisonegeneric21,2632,38689.5%
Advair Diskusbrand20,51812029%
Advair Hfabrand19,62258954.9%
Budesonidegeneric14,7141,08382.2%
Desoximetasonegeneric12,2091,52599.2%
Floventbrand10,77217142.1%
Methylprednisolone sodium succinategeneric10,7721,63097.8%
Solu-medrolgeneric10,28843288.8%
Ciprobrand9,79110857.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Depo-Medrol reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Depo-Medrol?

2,181 reports list Depo-Medrol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 55 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,847 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Depo-Medrol reports?

pain (11.1%), off label use (8.8%), drug ineffective (7.9%), arthralgia (7.8%) and nausea (7.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Depo-Medrol was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

75.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 5.2% of reports include death and 29.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (32.5%), physician (27.6%) and other health professional (23.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Depo-Medrol rising?

55 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 29% from 77 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Depo-Medrol was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Depo-Medrol?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Depo-Medrol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,847) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.