Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Chlorhexidine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,219 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2026. Also reported as Chlorhexidine Unspecified, Chlorhexidine /00133002/, Chlorhexidine Topical.

5,219
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 268 a year
556
reports, 12 months to June 2026
902 in the 12 months before
96.5%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
32.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,680 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2007 and June 2026, 5,219 adverse event reports received by FDA list chlorhexidine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (4,400) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 556 reports listed it, down 38% from 902 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 268 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded rash (52.8%), joint swelling (51.7%) and pruritus (51%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 653 different terms appear across these reports. Rash is recorded in 52.8% of these reports, against 2.1% of all reports in the database.

96.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 32.2% record death among the outcomes and 46.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 66.2% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (45.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0160319Jul 2021: 89Aug 2021: 107Sep 2021: 77Oct 2021: 66Nov 2021: 120Dec 2021: 3192022Jan 2022: 146Feb 2022: 60Mar 2022: 84Apr 2022: 76May 2022: 74Jun 2022: 60Jul 2022: 59Aug 2022: 37Sep 2022: 41Oct 2022: 38Nov 2022: 40Dec 2022: 362023Jan 2023: 34Feb 2023: 43Mar 2023: 30Apr 2023: 29May 2023: 43Jun 2023: 23Jul 2023: 46Aug 2023: 58Sep 2023: 46Oct 2023: 48Nov 2023: 37Dec 2023: 542024Jan 2024: 66Feb 2024: 90Mar 2024: 75Apr 2024: 80May 2024: 135Jun 2024: 102Jul 2024: 113Aug 2024: 48Sep 2024: 66Oct 2024: 124Nov 2024: 86Dec 2024: 1012025Jan 2025: 53Feb 2025: 62Mar 2025: 94Apr 2025: 46May 2025: 16Jun 2025: 93Jul 2025: 78Aug 2025: 48Sep 2025: 54Oct 2025: 34Nov 2025: 45Dec 2025: 602026Jan 2026: 37Feb 2026: 30Mar 2026: 40Apr 2026: 44May 2026: 29Jun 2026: 57

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05431,0862007: 120072010: 82011: 620112012: 142013: 3820132014: 272015: 4620152016: 552017: 8220172018: 1432019: 24220192020: 3122021: 99720212022: 7512023: 49120232024: 1,0862025: 68320252026: 237

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Chlorhexidine reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Rashskin rash52.8%2,754
  2. Joint swellinga swollen joint51.7%2,697
  3. Pruritusitching51%2,663
  4. Sinusitissinus infection49.5%2,586
  5. Fatiguetiredness48.1%2,512
  6. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs48.1%2,509
  7. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction47.8%2,496
  8. Folliculitis47.1%2,458
  9. Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection47%2,452
  10. Impaired healingslow healing46.9%2,449
  11. Weight increasedweight gain46.7%2,438
  12. Pyrexiafever46.5%2,426
  13. Painpain, site not specified46.4%2,423
  14. Stomatitissore mouth46.1%2,407
  15. Swellingswelling45.4%2,367
  16. Blistera blister45.2%2,359
  17. Infectionan infection, type not specified44.9%2,342
  18. Nasopharyngitisa cold44.2%2,309
  19. Arthralgiajoint pain43.3%2,261
  20. Confusional stateconfusion43.2%2,252
  21. Muscle injury42.8%2,235
  22. Dyspnoeashortness of breath42.8%2,234
  23. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes40.8%2,127
  24. Hand deformity39.3%2,049
  25. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected39.2%2,047
  26. Glossodynia39%2,034

Top 30 of 653 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death32.2%1,680
Life-threatening39%2,036
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)46.2%2,411
Disability51.5%2,690
Congenital anomaly8.6%450
Other serious85.9%4,481
Not serious3.5%185

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%16
2 to 110.8%44
12 to 170.5%25
18 to 4445.6%2,381
45 to 649.2%482
65 to 742.1%112
75 and over2.2%117
Age not given39.1%2,042

Patient sex

Female75.1%3,919
Male6.1%319
Not given18.8%981

Who reported

Physician21%1,095
Pharmacist1%51
Other health professional66.2%3,455
Lawyer0%2
Consumer or non-health professional11%572
Not given0.8%44

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 9.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis3566.8%
Infection prophylaxis911.7%
Antibiotic prophylaxis851.6%
Gingival hypertrophy611.2%
Acanthamoeba keratitis320.6%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy270.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,219 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Chlorhexidine reports
Prednisone3,78472.5%
Acetaminophen3,76072%
Cimzia3,75071.9%
Methotrexate3,74971.8%
Actemra3,55568.1%
Orencia3,55368.1%
Enbrel3,49967%
Simponi3,42265.6%
Leflunomide3,31063.4%
Arava3,30363.3%

Other products listed in reports where Chlorhexidine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureChlorhexidineAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,21920,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months5561,332,454
Marked serious96.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports32291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports462213
Consumer-filed share11%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsRash 52.8%2.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Chlorhexidine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Chlorhexidine?

5,219 reports list Chlorhexidine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 556 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 4,400 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Chlorhexidine reports?

rash (52.8%), joint swelling (51.7%), pruritus (51%), sinusitis (49.5%) and fatigue (48.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Chlorhexidine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 32.2% of reports include death and 46.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (66.2%), physician (21%) and consumer or non-health professional (11%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Chlorhexidine rising?

556 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 38% from 902 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Chlorhexidine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Chlorhexidine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Chlorhexidine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (4,400) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.