Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Chloraprep: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,925 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026.

3,925
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 194 a year
728
reports, 12 months to June 2026
806 in the 12 months before
73.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
38.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,506 reports · not verified by FDA

Between April 2006 and June 2026, 3,925 adverse event reports received by FDA list chloraprep, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (392) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 728 reports listed it, down 10% from 806 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 194 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded rash (35.6%), pruritus (34.5%) and sinusitis (32.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 598 different terms appear across these reports. Rash is recorded in 35.6% of these reports, against 2.1% of all reports in the database.

73.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 38.4% record death among the outcomes and 49.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 59.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (45.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

068135Jul 2021: 22Aug 2021: 32Sep 2021: 41Oct 2021: 16Nov 2021: 24Dec 2021: 822022Jan 2022: 33Feb 2022: 26Mar 2022: 20Apr 2022: 33May 2022: 22Jun 2022: 20Jul 2022: 24Aug 2022: 24Sep 2022: 35Oct 2022: 27Nov 2022: 14Dec 2022: 282023Jan 2023: 38Feb 2023: 24Mar 2023: 20Apr 2023: 24May 2023: 42Jun 2023: 21Jul 2023: 27Aug 2023: 45Sep 2023: 48Oct 2023: 47Nov 2023: 23Dec 2023: 362024Jan 2024: 72Feb 2024: 77Mar 2024: 54Apr 2024: 79May 2024: 135Jun 2024: 79Jul 2024: 116Aug 2024: 42Sep 2024: 78Oct 2024: 82Nov 2024: 95Dec 2024: 922025Jan 2025: 30Feb 2025: 48Mar 2025: 82Apr 2025: 48May 2025: 19Jun 2025: 74Jul 2025: 63Aug 2025: 67Sep 2025: 65Oct 2025: 68Nov 2025: 52Dec 2025: 842026Jan 2026: 56Feb 2026: 56Mar 2026: 47Apr 2026: 64May 2026: 46Jun 2026: 60

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05011,0012006: 920062007: 82008: 112009: 1620092010: 132011: 402012: 3120122013: 362014: 462015: 3220152016: 532017: 1482018: 12320182019: 1682020: 1662021: 29420212022: 3062023: 3952024: 1,00120242025: 7002026: 329

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Chloraprep reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Rashskin rash35.6%1,398
  2. Pruritusitching34.5%1,355
  3. Sinusitissinus infection32.8%1,287
  4. Fatiguetiredness32.8%1,286
  5. Joint swellinga swollen joint32.2%1,265
  6. Folliculitis31.7%1,244
  7. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction31.5%1,235
  8. Impaired healingslow healing30.4%1,192
  9. Infectionan infection, type not specified30.2%1,184
  10. Swellingswelling30%1,177
  11. Pyrexiafever29.9%1,174
  12. Weight increasedweight gain29.7%1,167
  13. Stomatitissore mouth29.4%1,153
  14. Glossodynia28.6%1,121
  15. Hand deformity28.4%1,116
  16. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease28.3%1,111
  17. Blistera blister27.8%1,093
  18. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes27.8%1,093
  19. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion27.7%1,089
  20. Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection27.5%1,080
  21. Painpain, site not specified27.5%1,080
  22. Synovitis27.5%1,080
  23. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs27.4%1,075
  24. Confusional stateconfusion27.2%1,069
  25. Wound26.8%1,051
  26. Dyspnoeashortness of breath26.7%1,048

Top 30 of 598 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death38.4%1,506
Life-threatening43.7%1,717
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)49.5%1,942
Disability49.1%1,929
Congenital anomaly12.5%491
Other serious68.1%2,671
Not serious26.2%1,030

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.5%18
2 to 110.8%32
12 to 170.3%13
18 to 4445.6%1,790
45 to 646.4%252
65 to 741.9%73
75 and over0.5%20
Age not given44%1,727

Patient sex

Female62.2%2,442
Male5.6%221
Not given32.2%1,262

Who reported

Physician8.5%335
Pharmacist1.4%56
Other health professional59.3%2,329
Lawyer0.1%3
Consumer or non-health professional29.3%1,151
Not given1.3%51

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 29.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis43011%
Infection prophylaxis3799.7%
Preoperative care1122.9%
Antibiotic prophylaxis561.4%
Therapeutic skin care topical240.6%
Foetal exposure during pregnancy120.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,925 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Chloraprep reports
Prednisone2,19255.8%
Cimzia2,11053.8%
Actemra2,10253.6%
Acetaminophen2,09053.2%
Enbrel2,07552.9%
Orencia2,05452.3%
Methotrexate2,04452.1%
Leflunomide2,01251.3%
Simponi1,99250.8%
Folic acid1,95649.8%

Other products listed in reports where Chloraprep is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureChloraprepAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,92520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months7281,332,454
Marked serious73.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports38491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports495213
Consumer-filed share29.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsRash 35.6%2.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Chloraprep reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Chloraprep?

3,925 reports list Chloraprep as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 728 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 392 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Chloraprep reports?

rash (35.6%), pruritus (34.5%), sinusitis (32.8%), fatigue (32.8%) and joint swelling (32.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Chloraprep was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

73.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 38.4% of reports include death and 49.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (59.3%), consumer or non-health professional (29.3%) and physician (8.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Chloraprep rising?

728 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 10% from 806 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Chloraprep was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Chloraprep?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Chloraprep as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (392) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.