Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Budesonide Formoterol: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,792 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026.

2,792
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 201 a year
729
reports, 12 months to June 2026
909 in the 12 months before
84.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
15.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
425 reports · not verified by FDA

Between August 2012 and June 2026, 2,792 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Budesonide Formoterol" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,840) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 729 reports listed it, down 20% from 909 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 201 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are asthma (20.7%), dyspnoea (19.2%) and wheezing (13.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 760 different terms appear across these reports. Asthma is recorded in 20.7% of these reports, against 0.5% of all reports in the database.

84.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 15.2% record death among the outcomes and 39.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 75.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (24.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

070139Jul 2021: 21Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 9Oct 2021: 21Nov 2021: 42Dec 2021: 262022Jan 2022: 16Feb 2022: 28Mar 2022: 24Apr 2022: 21May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 18Jul 2022: 12Aug 2022: 28Sep 2022: 17Oct 2022: 22Nov 2022: 31Dec 2022: 92023Jan 2023: 24Feb 2023: 20Mar 2023: 25Apr 2023: 14May 2023: 28Jun 2023: 28Jul 2023: 14Aug 2023: 15Sep 2023: 18Oct 2023: 27Nov 2023: 16Dec 2023: 212024Jan 2024: 28Feb 2024: 38Mar 2024: 41Apr 2024: 73May 2024: 84Jun 2024: 64Jul 2024: 110Aug 2024: 102Sep 2024: 65Oct 2024: 38Nov 2024: 72Dec 2024: 672025Jan 2025: 47Feb 2025: 100Mar 2025: 93Apr 2025: 76May 2025: 67Jun 2025: 72Jul 2025: 135Aug 2025: 139Sep 2025: 79Oct 2025: 64Nov 2025: 80Dec 2025: 682026Jan 2026: 38Feb 2026: 31Mar 2026: 35Apr 2026: 25May 2026: 17Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05101,0202012: 220122013: 22018: 720182019: 372020: 7220202021: 2122022: 24420222023: 2502024: 78220242025: 1,0202026: 1642026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Budesonide Formoterol reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Asthmaasthma20.7%577
  2. Dyspnoeashortness of breath19.2%536
  3. Wheezingwheezing13.7%383
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10%278
  5. Coughcough9.7%272
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected8.6%240
  7. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed5.6%156
  8. Pneumonialung infection5.5%154
  9. Productive cougha cough with phlegm5.4%152
  10. Chest discomfortchest discomfort5.3%149
  11. Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseCOPD, a long-term lung disease5%140
  12. Device delivery system issuea problem with the delivery system4.5%125
  13. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.1%114
  14. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure4%112
  15. Device malfunctionthe device did not work properly3.9%110
  16. Illness3.6%101
  17. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used3.3%91
  18. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified3.2%90
  19. Fatiguetiredness2.9%82
  20. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.9%80

Top 30 of 760 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death15.2%425
Life-threatening3.6%101
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)39.8%1,112
Disability1.7%48
Congenital anomaly1.2%34
Other serious53.6%1,497
Not serious15.7%438

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%3
2 to 110.6%16
12 to 170.3%7
18 to 447.6%213
45 to 6422.9%640
65 to 7417.9%499
75 and over24.2%676
Age not given26.4%738

Patient sex

Female58%1,619
Male34.3%958
Not given7.7%215

Who reported

Physician10.4%289
Pharmacist1%28
Other health professional13.5%376
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional75.2%2,099
Not given0%0

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 23.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Asthma1,33347.7%
Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease792.8%
Dyspnoea140.5%
Drug therapy80.3%
Emphysema80.3%
Bronchitis40.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,792 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Budesonide Formoterol reports
Albuterol40014.3%
Prednisone38513.8%
Tiotropium bromide37013.3%
Albuterol sulfate28210.1%
Symbicort2779.9%
Furosemide1886.7%
Budesonide1856.6%
Nucala1706.1%
Singulair1545.5%
Bisoprolol fumarate1354.8%

Other products listed in reports where Budesonide Formoterol is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBudesonide FormoterolAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,79220,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months7291,332,454
Marked serious84.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports15291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports398213
Consumer-filed share75.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsAsthma 20.7%0.5%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Budesonide Formoterol reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Budesonide Formoterol?

2,792 reports list Budesonide Formoterol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 729 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,840 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Budesonide Formoterol reports?

asthma (20.7%), dyspnoea (19.2%), wheezing (13.7%), therapeutic product effect incomplete (10.2%) and death (10%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Budesonide Formoterol was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

84.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 15.2% of reports include death and 39.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (75.2%), other health professional (13.5%) and physician (10.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Budesonide Formoterol rising?

729 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 20% from 909 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Budesonide Formoterol was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Budesonide Formoterol?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Budesonide Formoterol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,840) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.