Reported Reactions

Drugs › Endothelin receptor antagonist

Generic name

Bosentan: adverse event reports filed with FDA

8,308 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Endothelin receptor antagonist. Also reported as Bosentan Tablet, Bosentan 125mg, Bosentan Tablets.

8,308
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 373 a year
621
reports, 12 months to June 2026
591 in the 12 months before
57.6%
marked serious by the reporter
72.7% across the class
14.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,218 reports · not verified by FDA

Between April 2004 and June 2026, 8,308 adverse event reports received by FDA list bosentan, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (2,085) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 621 reports listed it, close to the 591 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 373 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 4.3% of the reports for the endothelin receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded dyspnoea (8.4%), off label use (7.9%) and death (7.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 912 different terms appear across these reports. Dyspnoea is recorded in 8.4% of these reports, a smaller share than in the median endothelin receptor antagonist drug (15%).

57.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (72.7% across the class); 14.7% record death among the outcomes and 31.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.4% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (9.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0182364Jul 2021: 85Aug 2021: 47Sep 2021: 29Oct 2021: 77Nov 2021: 317Dec 2021: 592022Jan 2022: 45Feb 2022: 364Mar 2022: 49Apr 2022: 61May 2022: 317Jun 2022: 42Jul 2022: 79Aug 2022: 103Sep 2022: 59Oct 2022: 65Nov 2022: 94Dec 2022: 1412023Jan 2023: 139Feb 2023: 56Mar 2023: 72Apr 2023: 262May 2023: 199Jun 2023: 359Jul 2023: 71Aug 2023: 92Sep 2023: 90Oct 2023: 55Nov 2023: 18Dec 2023: 382024Jan 2024: 46Feb 2024: 41Mar 2024: 40Apr 2024: 31May 2024: 81Jun 2024: 49Jul 2024: 42Aug 2024: 65Sep 2024: 78Oct 2024: 51Nov 2024: 46Dec 2024: 402025Jan 2025: 33Feb 2025: 58Mar 2025: 61Apr 2025: 26May 2025: 49Jun 2025: 42Jul 2025: 40Aug 2025: 32Sep 2025: 36Oct 2025: 44Nov 2025: 41Dec 2025: 592026Jan 2026: 54Feb 2026: 49Mar 2026: 43Apr 2026: 71May 2026: 60Jun 2026: 92

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07481,4962004: 920042005: 142006: 122007: 820072008: 52009: 122010: 1620102011: 102012: 142013: 2120132014: 152015: 312016: 3920162017: 932018: 2972019: 88720192020: 1,4962021: 9592022: 1,41920222023: 1,4512024: 6102025: 52120252026: 369

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Bosentan reports recording the termmedian drug in endothelin receptor antagonist

  1. Dyspnoeashortness of breath8.4%698
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label7.9%658
  3. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.6%635
  4. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed7.1%591
  5. Fatiguetiredness5%417
  6. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital3.8%315
  7. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.5%292
  8. Headachehead pain3.4%286
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.3%278
  10. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified3.3%272
  11. Pneumonialung infection3.1%258
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.8%231
  13. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2.8%229
  14. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.6%216
  15. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.5%205
  16. Nauseafeeling sick2.3%195
  17. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.3%188
  18. Coughcough2.2%179
  19. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2%164
  20. Chest painchest pain1.8%152
  21. Vomitingbeing sick1.8%149
  22. Falla fall1.8%148
  23. Anaemialow red blood cells1.7%143
  24. Cardiac failureheart failure1.6%137
  25. Fluid retentionthe body holding extra fluid1.6%133
  26. Pulmonary hypertensionhigh pressure in the lung arteries1.6%131
  27. Product dose omissiona dose was missed1.6%130

Top 30 of 912 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 6 drugs in the endothelin receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death14.7%1,218
Life-threatening1.5%127
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31.4%2,609
Disability0.8%64
Congenital anomaly0.1%7
Other serious30.5%2,531
Not serious42.4%3,521

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 192,634 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 23.2%262
2 to 112.4%198
12 to 171.3%110
18 to 445.5%455
45 to 649.7%802
65 to 746.5%544
75 and over6.3%524
Age not given65.2%5,413

Patient sex

Female42.4%3,524
Male15.1%1,252
Not given42.5%3,532

Who reported

Physician22.5%1,868
Pharmacist5.7%471
Other health professional22.9%1,899
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional48.4%4,022
Not given0.6%48

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 80.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pulmonary arterial hypertension3,99448.1%
Pulmonary hypertension6908.3%
Systemic scleroderma821%
Skin ulcer520.6%
Scleroderma associated digital ulcer320.4%
Raynaud's phenomenon300.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 8,308 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Bosentan reports
Sildenafil94211.3%
Tadalafil6087.3%
Warfarin5206.3%
Sildenafil citrate4595.5%
Furosemide3694.4%
Treprostinil3253.9%
Amlodipine2953.6%
Uptravi2673.2%
Remodulin2633.2%
Eliquis2312.8%

Other products listed in reports where Bosentan is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBosentanEndothelin receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product8,308192,63420,646,523
Share of that pool—4.3%0%
Reports, latest 12 months621—1,332,454
Marked serious57.6%72.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports14720391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports314460213
Consumer-filed share48.4%39%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDyspnoea 8.4%median 15%2.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the endothelin receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Ambrisentangeneric54,5111,45982.5%
Letairisbrand49,7435846.6%
Opsumitbrand41,0721,54274.2%
Tracleerbrand33,2545694.1%
Macitentangeneric5,74610393.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Bosentan reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Bosentan?

8,308 reports list Bosentan as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 621 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,085 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Bosentan reports?

dyspnoea (8.4%), off label use (7.9%), death (7.6%), product dose omission issue (7.1%) and fatigue (5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Bosentan was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

57.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 14.7% of reports include death and 31.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (48.4%), other health professional (22.9%) and physician (22.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Bosentan rising?

621 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 591 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Bosentan was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Bosentan?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Bosentan as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,085) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.