Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Bendamustine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

12,104 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Bendamustine /01263302/.

12,104
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 540 a year
904
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,112 in the 12 months before
97.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
21.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,600 reports · not verified by FDA

12,104 adverse event reports received by FDA list bendamustine, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2004 to June 2026. A further 2,979 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 904 reports listed it, down 19% from 1,112 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 540 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are disease progression (17%), off label use (13.1%) and neutropenia (8.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,405 different terms appear across these reports. Disease progression is recorded in 17% of these reports, against 0.6% of all reports in the database.

97.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 21.5% record death among the outcomes and 38.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 63.2% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0105210Jul 2021: 84Aug 2021: 44Sep 2021: 84Oct 2021: 92Nov 2021: 78Dec 2021: 1242022Jan 2022: 69Feb 2022: 66Mar 2022: 67Apr 2022: 68May 2022: 107Jun 2022: 114Jul 2022: 97Aug 2022: 104Sep 2022: 133Oct 2022: 110Nov 2022: 144Dec 2022: 1542023Jan 2023: 167Feb 2023: 176Mar 2023: 187Apr 2023: 204May 2023: 210Jun 2023: 184Jul 2023: 204Aug 2023: 146Sep 2023: 123Oct 2023: 172Nov 2023: 120Dec 2023: 1252024Jan 2024: 93Feb 2024: 86Mar 2024: 137Apr 2024: 105May 2024: 165Jun 2024: 74Jul 2024: 94Aug 2024: 93Sep 2024: 79Oct 2024: 200Nov 2024: 77Dec 2024: 1092025Jan 2025: 63Feb 2025: 67Mar 2025: 75Apr 2025: 53May 2025: 71Jun 2025: 131Jul 2025: 99Aug 2025: 74Sep 2025: 64Oct 2025: 49Nov 2025: 79Dec 2025: 662026Jan 2026: 68Feb 2026: 50Mar 2026: 74Apr 2026: 79May 2026: 104Jun 2026: 98

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,0092,0182004: 220042006: 72007: 32008: 2620082009: 442010: 882011: 14620112012: 2512013: 5322014: 57820142015: 5472016: 4222017: 45020172018: 6952019: 5992020: 90120202021: 8862022: 1,2332023: 2,01820232024: 1,3122025: 8912026: 4732026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Bendamustine reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Disease progressionthe disease advanced17%2,057
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label13.1%1,585
  3. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell8.1%976
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.6%793
  5. Thrombocytopenialow platelets6.4%769
  6. Pyrexiafever6.2%756
  7. Pneumonialung infection5.8%697
  8. Covid-19COVID-19 infection5.5%664
  9. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells5.4%652
  10. Anaemialow red blood cells5%601
  11. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.4%536
  12. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.9%472
  13. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.3%400
  14. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.1%378
  15. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells3%367
  16. Lymphomaa cancer of the lymphatic system2.8%336
  17. Fatiguetiredness2.6%313
  18. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label2.5%299
  19. Nauseafeeling sick2.5%297
  20. Rashskin rash2.3%279
  21. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.1%260
  22. Vomitingbeing sick2.1%258
  23. Dyspnoeashortness of breath2.1%253
  24. Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathyPML, a rare brain infection2%242
  25. Leukopenialow white blood cells2%238

Top 30 of 1,405 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death21.5%2,600
Life-threatening6.9%830
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)38.4%4,652
Disability1.4%168
Congenital anomaly0.2%27
Other serious66.7%8,069
Not serious2.7%328

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%3
2 to 110%4
12 to 170.6%70
18 to 444.9%596
45 to 6424%2,911
65 to 7423%2,782
75 and over14.3%1,730
Age not given33.1%4,008

Patient sex

Female31.4%3,797
Male46.6%5,645
Not given22%2,662

Who reported

Physician63.2%7,651
Pharmacist2%243
Other health professional30.1%3,640
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional4.1%500
Not given0.6%69

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 14.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma2,50520.7%
Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia1,63913.5%
Follicular lymphoma8927.4%
B-cell lymphoma8056.7%
Mantle cell lymphoma7416.1%
Non-hodgkin's lymphoma5134.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 12,104 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Bendamustine reports
Rituximab8,11567%
Cyclophosphamide4,26835.3%
Prednisone3,17226.2%
Dexamethasone3,02325%
Vincristine2,95824.4%
Doxorubicin2,57221.2%
Cytarabine2,06217%
Polatuzumab vedotin1,98716.4%
Etoposide1,77814.7%
Cisplatin1,57313%

Other products listed in reports where Bendamustine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBendamustineAll reports
Reports as suspect product12,10420,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months9041,332,454
Marked serious97.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports21591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports384213
Consumer-filed share4.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDisease progression 17%0.6%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Bendamustine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Bendamustine?

12,104 reports list Bendamustine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 904 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,979 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Bendamustine reports?

disease progression (17%), off label use (13.1%), neutropenia (8.1%), drug ineffective (6.6%) and thrombocytopenia (6.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Bendamustine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 21.5% of reports include death and 38.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (63.2%), other health professional (30.1%) and consumer or non-health professional (4.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Bendamustine rising?

904 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 19% from 1,112 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Bendamustine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Bendamustine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Bendamustine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,979) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.