Reported Reactions

Drugs › B lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor

Generic name

Belimumab: adverse event reports filed with FDA

4,254 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2011–2026. Class: B lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor. Also reported as Belimumab Solution For Injection.

4,254
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 290 a year
654
reports, 12 months to June 2026
669 in the 12 months before
90.6%
marked serious by the reporter
41.8% across the class
5.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
241 reports · not verified by FDA

Between November 2011 and June 2026, 4,254 adverse event reports received by FDA list belimumab, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (329) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 654 reports listed it, close to the 669 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 290 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 14.1% of the reports for the b lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are systemic lupus erythematosus (27.3%), product dose omission issue (12.8%) and drug ineffective (9.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 826 different terms appear across these reports. Systemic lupus erythematosus is recorded in 27.3% of these reports, a larger share than in the median b lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor drug (18.8%).

90.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (41.8% across the class); 5.7% record death among the outcomes and 29.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 39% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (24.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

051101Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 11Sep 2021: 28Oct 2021: 30Nov 2021: 15Dec 2021: 322022Jan 2022: 19Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 28Apr 2022: 21May 2022: 23Jun 2022: 44Jul 2022: 23Aug 2022: 24Sep 2022: 68Oct 2022: 15Nov 2022: 29Dec 2022: 292023Jan 2023: 39Feb 2023: 30Mar 2023: 31Apr 2023: 31May 2023: 40Jun 2023: 36Jul 2023: 29Aug 2023: 25Sep 2023: 19Oct 2023: 40Nov 2023: 39Dec 2023: 642024Jan 2024: 80Feb 2024: 62Mar 2024: 60Apr 2024: 101May 2024: 66Jun 2024: 75Jul 2024: 97Aug 2024: 70Sep 2024: 62Oct 2024: 72Nov 2024: 49Dec 2024: 462025Jan 2025: 49Feb 2025: 45Mar 2025: 52Apr 2025: 30May 2025: 46Jun 2025: 51Jul 2025: 67Aug 2025: 45Sep 2025: 42Oct 2025: 55Nov 2025: 57Dec 2025: 492026Jan 2026: 55Feb 2026: 74Mar 2026: 85Apr 2026: 38May 2026: 54Jun 2026: 33

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

04208402011: 320112012: 232013: 3320132014: 1002015: 23220152016: 1152017: 14220172018: 2222019: 38720192020: 2232021: 24420212022: 3402023: 42320232024: 8402025: 58820252026: 339

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Belimumab reports recording the termmedian drug in b lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor

  1. Systemic lupus erythematosuslupus, an autoimmune disease27.3%1,160
  2. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed12.8%545
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.9%421
  4. Painpain, site not specified6.1%261
  5. Fatiguetiredness6%256
  6. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6%256
  7. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times6%255
  8. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse5.3%226
  9. Arthralgiajoint pain5.3%224
  10. Lupus nephritis5.1%218
  11. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.4%187
  12. Headachehead pain4.3%183
  13. Pyrexiafever4.1%176
  14. Nauseafeeling sick4%172
  15. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection3.6%152
  16. Pneumonialung infection3.4%145
  17. Rashskin rash3%128
  18. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy2.8%121
  19. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.8%118
  20. Influenzaflu2.7%115
  21. Illness2.6%112
  22. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.5%105
  23. Nasopharyngitisa cold2.4%104
  24. Coughcough2.4%100
  25. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.3%97
  26. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.2%95
  27. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.2%95
  28. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.2%94
  29. Herpes zostershingles2.1%89
  30. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg2.1%88

Top 30 of 826 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the b lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death5.7%241
Life-threatening2.9%125
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)29.6%1,260
Disability1%43
Congenital anomaly1%44
Other serious78.7%3,347
Not serious9.4%398

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 30,275 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.6%25
2 to 110.2%8
12 to 171.4%59
18 to 4424.8%1,057
45 to 6417.9%761
65 to 743.5%147
75 and over0.7%29
Age not given51%2,168

Patient sex

Female55.4%2,355
Male7.2%305
Not given37.5%1,594

Who reported

Physician36.1%1,534
Pharmacist2.8%121
Other health professional21.9%930
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional39%1,658
Not given0.3%11

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 47.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Systemic lupus erythematosus2,99470.4%
Lupus nephritis2205.2%
Chronic cutaneous lupus erythematosus551.3%
Immunosuppression250.6%
Immunosuppressant drug therapy160.4%
Sjogren's syndrome150.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 4,254 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Belimumab reports
Hydroxychloroquine84619.9%
Prednisone68316.1%
Mycophenolate mofetil59714%
Methotrexate45610.7%
Azathioprine45510.7%
Prednisolone45210.6%
Rituximab3047.1%
Cyclophosphamide2546%
Plaquenil1824.3%
Tacrolimus1744.1%

Other products listed in reports where Belimumab is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureBelimumabB lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitorAll reports
Reports as suspect product4,25430,27520,646,523
Share of that pool—14.1%0%
Reports, latest 12 months654—1,332,454
Marked serious90.6%41.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports572991
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports296142213
Consumer-filed share39%67.6%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsSystemic lupus erythematosus 27.3%median 18.8%0.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the b lymphocyte stimulator-specific inhibitor class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Benlystabrand26,0213,21833.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Belimumab reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Belimumab?

4,254 reports list Belimumab as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 654 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 329 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Belimumab reports?

systemic lupus erythematosus (27.3%), product dose omission issue (12.8%), drug ineffective (9.9%), pain (6.1%) and fatigue (6%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Belimumab was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

90.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 5.7% of reports include death and 29.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (39%), physician (36.1%) and other health professional (21.9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Belimumab rising?

654 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 669 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Belimumab was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Belimumab?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Belimumab as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (329) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.