Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Aztreonam Lysine: adverse event reports filed with FDA

12,255 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026.

12,255
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 855 a year
698
reports, 12 months to June 2026
707 in the 12 months before
97.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
11.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,408 reports · not verified by FDA

Between March 2012 and June 2026, 12,255 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Aztreonam Lysine" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (53) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 698 reports listed it, close to the 707 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 855 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are cystic fibrosis (23.3%), off label use (11.4%) and pneumonia (10.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 548 different terms appear across these reports. Cystic fibrosis is recorded in 23.3% of these reports, against 0% of all reports in the database.

97.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 11.5% record death among the outcomes and 68.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 86.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (38.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

058115Jul 2021: 87Aug 2021: 83Sep 2021: 88Oct 2021: 80Nov 2021: 95Dec 2021: 1152022Jan 2022: 73Feb 2022: 82Mar 2022: 84Apr 2022: 76May 2022: 69Jun 2022: 77Jul 2022: 75Aug 2022: 85Sep 2022: 72Oct 2022: 83Nov 2022: 59Dec 2022: 752023Jan 2023: 75Feb 2023: 61Mar 2023: 72Apr 2023: 64May 2023: 54Jun 2023: 69Jul 2023: 52Aug 2023: 90Sep 2023: 58Oct 2023: 57Nov 2023: 71Dec 2023: 802024Jan 2024: 78Feb 2024: 66Mar 2024: 74Apr 2024: 62May 2024: 68Jun 2024: 69Jul 2024: 62Aug 2024: 50Sep 2024: 38Oct 2024: 79Nov 2024: 64Dec 2024: 412025Jan 2025: 71Feb 2025: 79Mar 2025: 74Apr 2025: 45May 2025: 54Jun 2025: 50Jul 2025: 52Aug 2025: 48Sep 2025: 54Oct 2025: 50Nov 2025: 72Dec 2025: 652026Jan 2026: 57Feb 2026: 48Mar 2026: 75Apr 2026: 73May 2026: 58Jun 2026: 46

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,0612,1222012: 820122013: 152014: 36720142015: 6512016: 80120162017: 1,0442018: 1,38020182019: 2,1222020: 1,26320202021: 1,0692022: 91020222023: 8032024: 75120242025: 7142026: 3572026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Aztreonam Lysine reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Cystic fibrosis23.3%2,854
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label11.4%1,398
  3. Pneumonialung infection10.3%1,262
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term9.1%1,113
  5. Infectionan infection, type not specified6.8%839
  6. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified4.5%553
  7. Lung transplant4.2%509
  8. Cystic fibrosis respiratory infection suppression3.7%452
  9. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.6%442
  10. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.4%419
  11. Coughcough2.4%299
  12. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.2%275
  13. Influenzaflu2.2%267
  14. Pulmonary function test decreased2.1%258
  15. Haemoptysiscoughing up blood2%243
  16. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.8%219
  17. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used1.2%150
  18. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.1%135
  19. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1%127
  20. Pneumothoraxa collapsed lung1%118
  21. Pyrexiafever0.9%115
  22. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen0.9%111
  23. Fatiguetiredness0.9%109
  24. Nasopharyngitisa cold0.9%106
  25. Sleep disordera sleep problem0.8%100
  26. Weight decreasedweight loss0.8%96

Top 30 of 548 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death11.5%1,408
Life-threatening0.1%16
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)68.2%8,359
Disability0.6%79
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious73.1%8,961
Not serious2.8%338

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%22
2 to 116.1%746
12 to 1710%1,227
18 to 4438.8%4,754
45 to 6410.6%1,293
65 to 744.1%506
75 and over3.4%419
Age not given26.8%3,288

Patient sex

Female57.1%7,003
Male39.2%4,810
Not given3.6%442

Who reported

Physician3.1%377
Pharmacist1.6%201
Other health professional8.7%1,070
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional86.5%10,606
Not given0%1

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 96% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Cystic fibrosis7,21958.9%
Cystic fibrosis lung1,41611.6%
Pseudomonas infection1,40311.4%
Bronchiectasis4593.7%
Infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis1181%
Illness990.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 12,255 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Aztreonam Lysine reports
Pulmozyme2,32619%
Trikafta1,34511%
Sodium chloride1,29410.6%
Albuterol sulfate1,1479.4%
Creon1,0958.9%
Tobramycin1,0108.2%
Ergocalciferol6064.9%
Azithromycin Anhydrous5754.7%
Omeprazole5734.7%
Azithromycin5704.7%

Other products listed in reports where Aztreonam Lysine is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAztreonam LysineAll reports
Reports as suspect product12,25520,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months6981,332,454
Marked serious97.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports11591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports682213
Consumer-filed share86.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCystic fibrosis 23.3%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Aztreonam Lysine reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Aztreonam Lysine?

12,255 reports list Aztreonam Lysine as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 698 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 53 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Aztreonam Lysine reports?

cystic fibrosis (23.3%), off label use (11.4%), pneumonia (10.3%), death (9.1%) and infection (6.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Aztreonam Lysine was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 11.5% of reports include death and 68.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (86.5%), other health professional (8.7%) and physician (3.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Aztreonam Lysine rising?

698 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 707 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Aztreonam Lysine was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Aztreonam Lysine?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Aztreonam Lysine as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (53) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.