Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,241 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2021.

3,241
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 145 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
99.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
26.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
856 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and September 2021, 3,241 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,334) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 145 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded product use in unapproved indication (10.7%), transplant rejection (9.1%) and off label use (8.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 823 different terms appear across these reports. Product use in unapproved indication is recorded in 10.7% of these reports, against 1.2% of all reports in the database.

99.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 26.4% record death among the outcomes and 30.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 66.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03060Jul 2021: 60Aug 2021: 51Sep 2021: 39Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03787562004: 520042005: 12006: 1020062007: 122008: 920082009: 172010: 1020102011: 122012: 5020122013: 602014: 15220142015: 762016: 19320162017: 3442018: 52220182019: 5942020: 75620202021: 418

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label10.7%346
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label8.9%289
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.3%237
  4. Transplant dysfunction6.8%222
  5. Alopeciahair loss6.3%205
  6. Acneacne6.1%197
  7. Ovarian cysta cyst on an ovary6%196
  8. Post transplant lymphoproliferative disorder5.7%186
  9. Pneumonialung infection5.6%180
  10. Pyrexiafever5.4%174
  11. Coma5.2%170
  12. Pneumonia aspirationlung infection from breathing in material5.1%164
  13. Somnolencedrowsiness5%161
  14. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.6%117
  15. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing3.5%115
  16. Acute graft versus host disease3.4%109
  17. Painpain, site not specified3.2%105
  18. Cytomegalovirus viraemia3.2%103
  19. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.2%103
  20. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function3.1%99
  21. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.1%99
  22. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used3%97
  23. Graft versus host disease in skin2.9%95
  24. Acute graft versus host disease in skin2.9%94
  25. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease2.9%94

Top 30 of 823 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.4%856
Life-threatening11%357
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)30.3%983
Disability0.3%10
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious75.1%2,434
Not serious0.8%25

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 25.2%168
2 to 119.7%313
12 to 176.2%201
18 to 4416.5%535
45 to 6425.7%834
65 to 745.4%176
75 and over1%31
Age not given30.3%983

Patient sex

Female36.7%1,188
Male36.4%1,179
Not given27%874

Who reported

Physician26.5%858
Pharmacist0.4%12
Other health professional66.8%2,166
Lawyer0.1%2
Consumer or non-health professional4.8%156
Not given1.5%47

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 25.2% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Immunosuppressant drug therapy45213.9%
Bone marrow conditioning regimen35811%
Prophylaxis against graft versus host disease2738.4%
Aplastic anaemia2176.7%
Immunosuppression1966%
Stem cell transplant1655.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,241 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin reports
Mycophenolate mofetil1,28639.7%
Tacrolimus1,26639.1%
Fludarabine73222.6%
Prednisone70521.8%
Ciclosporin65320.1%
Cyclophosphamide60618.7%
Methylprednisolone60118.5%
Busulfan59718.4%
Methotrexate49615.3%
Prednisolone41612.8%

Other products listed in reports where Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAntithymocyte ImmunoglobulinAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,24120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious99.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports26491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports303213
Consumer-filed share4.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsProduct use in unapproved indication 10.7%1.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin?

3,241 reports list Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,334 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin reports?

product use in unapproved indication (10.7%), transplant rejection (9.1%), off label use (8.9%), cytomegalovirus infection (7.7%) and drug ineffective (7.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.4% of reports include death and 30.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (66.8%), physician (26.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (4.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Antithymocyte Immunoglobulin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,334) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.