Reported Reactions

Drugs › Selective T cell costimulation modulator

Generic name

Abatacept: adverse event reports filed with FDA

22,147 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: Selective T cell costimulation modulator.

22,147
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 1,003 a year
353
reports, 12 months to June 2026
278 in the 12 months before
95.1%
marked serious by the reporter
60.2% across the class
11.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
2,452 reports · not verified by FDA

22,147 adverse event reports received by FDA list abatacept, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2004 to June 2026. A further 1,070 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 353 reports listed it, up 27% from 278 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,003 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 16.9% of the reports for the selective T cell costimulation modulator class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (12%), arthralgia (9.3%) and pain (9.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 2,251 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 12% of these reports, a smaller share than in the median selective T cell costimulation modulator drug (22%).

95.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (60.2% across the class); 11.1% record death among the outcomes and 35.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 51% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0110220Jul 2021: 219Aug 2021: 218Sep 2021: 220Oct 2021: 185Nov 2021: 174Dec 2021: 2152022Jan 2022: 176Feb 2022: 150Mar 2022: 133Apr 2022: 62May 2022: 71Jun 2022: 49Jul 2022: 29Aug 2022: 49Sep 2022: 21Oct 2022: 23Nov 2022: 24Dec 2022: 472023Jan 2023: 38Feb 2023: 36Mar 2023: 26Apr 2023: 27May 2023: 34Jun 2023: 33Jul 2023: 30Aug 2023: 33Sep 2023: 36Oct 2023: 43Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 332024Jan 2024: 25Feb 2024: 39Mar 2024: 49Apr 2024: 39May 2024: 37Jun 2024: 32Jul 2024: 28Aug 2024: 33Sep 2024: 17Oct 2024: 32Nov 2024: 16Dec 2024: 352025Jan 2025: 30Feb 2025: 16Mar 2025: 26Apr 2025: 18May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 20Jul 2025: 25Aug 2025: 14Sep 2025: 46Oct 2025: 49Nov 2025: 13Dec 2025: 102026Jan 2026: 14Feb 2026: 56Mar 2026: 58Apr 2026: 22May 2026: 22Jun 2026: 24

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,8253,6502004: 1020042005: 122006: 282007: 6520072008: 782009: 802010: 7520102011: 1062012: 932013: 7920132014: 4402015: 1,7422016: 2,58120162017: 2,9782018: 3,6502019: 2,81220192020: 2,7912021: 2,4552022: 83420222023: 3862024: 3822025: 27420252026: 196

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Abatacept reports recording the termmedian drug in selective t cell costimulation modulator

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected12%2,660
  2. Arthralgiajoint pain9.3%2,060
  3. Painpain, site not specified9.2%2,044
  4. Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease7.8%1,726
  5. Arthropathy7.3%1,615
  6. Fatiguetiredness6.5%1,441
  7. Pneumonialung infection5.9%1,313
  8. Falla fall5.7%1,262
  9. Nasopharyngitisa cold5.6%1,230
  10. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.5%1,224
  11. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg5.5%1,223
  12. Headachehead pain5.5%1,210
  13. Infectionan infection, type not specified5.5%1,209
  14. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label5.5%1,209
  15. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.4%1,190
  16. Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection5.1%1,132
  17. Joint swellinga swollen joint4.9%1,093
  18. Nauseafeeling sick4.5%1,004
  19. Peripheral swellingswelling of the arms or legs4.5%997
  20. Rashskin rash4.5%994
  21. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.5%992
  22. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.5%991
  23. Pyrexiafever4.4%966
  24. Urinary tract infectionbladder or urinary infection4.2%938
  25. Sinusitissinus infection3.9%864
  26. Coughcough3.7%811
  27. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction3.5%783
  28. Vomitingbeing sick3.4%759
  29. Swellingswelling3.2%713

Top 30 of 2,251 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the selective t cell costimulation modulator class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death11.1%2,452
Life-threatening5%1,111
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)35.3%7,808
Disability4.3%945
Congenital anomaly0.6%142
Other serious85%18,823
Not serious4.9%1,085

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 130,919 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%56
2 to 110.8%167
12 to 171%232
18 to 447.3%1,609
45 to 6424.7%5,477
65 to 7416.9%3,740
75 and over12.3%2,730
Age not given36.7%8,136

Patient sex

Female77%17,049
Male18.5%4,091
Not given4.5%1,007

Who reported

Physician12.8%2,827
Pharmacist1.3%288
Other health professional34.8%7,714
Lawyer0%2
Consumer or non-health professional51%11,291
Not given0.1%25

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 21.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis16,63175.1%
Juvenile idiopathic arthritis2471.1%
Psoriatic arthropathy2070.9%
Prophylaxis against graft versus host disease1850.8%
Polyarthritis730.3%
Systemic lupus erythematosus580.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 22,147 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Abatacept reports
Methotrexate6,53229.5%
Prednisone3,58616.2%
Folic acid3,53616%
Leflunomide1,8318.3%
Sulfasalazine1,5717.1%
Arava1,5236.9%
Enbrel1,4806.7%
Hydroxychloroquine1,4496.5%
Plaquenil1,3806.2%
Rituximab1,2675.7%

Other products listed in reports where Abatacept is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureAbataceptSelective T cell costimulation modulatorAll reports
Reports as suspect product22,147130,91920,646,523
Share of that pool—16.9%0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months353—1,332,454
Marked serious95.1%60.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1117091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports353185213
Consumer-filed share51%37.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 12%median 22%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the selective t cell costimulation modulator class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Orenciabrand108,7728,14353.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Abatacept reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Abatacept?

22,147 reports list Abatacept as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 353 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,070 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Abatacept reports?

drug ineffective (12%), arthralgia (9.3%), pain (9.2%), rheumatoid arthritis (7.8%) and arthropathy (7.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Abatacept was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 11.1% of reports include death and 35.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (51%), other health professional (34.8%) and physician (12.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Abatacept rising?

353 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 27% from 278 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Abatacept was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Abatacept?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Abatacept as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,070) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.