Reported Reactions

Devices › Suture, absorbable, synthetic, polyglycolic acid

Device brand name · Suture absorbable synthetic

Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture: medical device reports filed with FDA

852 reports name it, 2013–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon. Product code GAM.

852
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 65 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
67.6%
classified as malfunction
76.5% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

852 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture" (suture absorbable synthetic); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon; received from June 2013 to August 2017. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (67.6%), injury (32.2%) and death (0.1%); across all suture, absorbable, synthetic, polyglycolic acid reports (product code GAM) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 76.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (41%), needle, separation (36.4%) and other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (7.9%). The patient problems coded most often are wound dehiscence, surgical procedure and reaction. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in August 2017.

By year received

02184362013: 18520132014: 43620142015: 6420152016: 11020162017: 572017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%1
Injury32.2%274
Malfunction67.6%576
Other0%0
Not given0.1%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%852
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 56,946 reports carrying product code GAM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke34941%36.3%
Needle, separation31036.4%1.7%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)677.9%2.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified202.3%1.1%
Bent151.8%0.2%
Implant extrusion121.4%0.2%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging80.9%0.3%
Detachment of device component30.4%1%
Component incompatible20.2%0.1%
Unsealed device packaging20.2%0%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label10.1%0.6%
Incomplete or missing packaging10.1%0%
Insufficient device problem information10.1%1.1%
Migration or expulsion of device10.1%0.1%
Sterility10.1%0%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material10.1%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened637.4%
Surgical procedure455.3%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified404.7%
Impaired healingslow healing344%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque283.3%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body242.8%
Treatment with medication(s)232.7%
Inflammationinflammation202.3%
Surgical procedure, additional192.2%
Organ dehiscence172%
Scar tissue161.9%
Painpain, site not specified131.5%
Extrusion121.4%
Drainage101.2%
Scarring91.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureVicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 SutureProduct code GAMAll MAUDE reports
Reports85256,94626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports129
Classified as injury32.2%23%36.2%
Classified as malfunction67.6%76.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GAM

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Polysorb5,4101,8360%
V-Loc 1803,4476780%
Vicryl Polyglactin 910 Suture Unknown Product2,3732101.2%
Coated VICRYL (polyglactin 910) Suture1,930200.5%
Maxon1,8093090%
Biosyn1,6812610%
V-Loc 901,3782260%
VICRYL Polyglactin 910 Suture1,262740.1%
Vcl+ Ud 27in 5-0 S/A Tf1,1251580.1%
Coated VICRYL9788510%
Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 91072400%
Vcl+ Ud 18in 5-0 S/A P-3 Prm Mp5181260%
Unknown VLoc Product413393.6%
Caprosyn399940%
Vcl+ Vio 36in 2-0 S/A Ct-1399420.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture reports

How many FDA reports name Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture?

852 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (67.6%), injury (32.2%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (41%), needle, separation (36.4%), other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (7.9%), reaction (2.3%) and bent (1.8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.