Reported Reactions

Devices › Suture, absorbable, synthetic, polyglycolic acid

Device brand name · Suture absorbable

Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910: medical device reports filed with FDA

724 reports name it, 2004–2013. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon. Product code GAM.

724
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 32 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
83.4%
classified as malfunction
76.5% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

724 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910" (suture absorbable); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon; received from February 2004 to June 2013. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (83.4%) and injury (16.6%); across all suture, absorbable, synthetic, polyglycolic acid reports (product code GAM) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 76.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (43.1%), needle, separation (43.1%) and other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (8.7%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, wound dehiscence and treatment with medication(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in June 2013.

By year received

01883752004: 520042005: 1020052011: 21320112012: 37520122013: 1212013

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury16.6%120
Malfunction83.4%604
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%724
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 56,946 reports carrying product code GAM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke31243.1%36.3%
Needle, separation31243.1%1.7%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)638.7%2.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified192.6%1.1%
Absorption101.4%0.2%
Implant extrusion30.4%0.2%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging20.3%0.3%
Detachment of device component10.1%1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure476.5%
Wound dehiscencea wound reopened365%
Treatment with medication(s)263.6%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)233.2%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body131.8%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified131.8%
Surgical procedure, additional81.1%
Impaired healingslow healing71%
Abscessa collection of pus60.8%
Scar tissue60.8%
Inflammationinflammation50.7%
Painpain, site not specified50.7%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional50.7%
Extrusion30.4%
Rashskin rash30.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureCoated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910Product code GAMAll MAUDE reports
Reports72456,94626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury16.6%23%36.2%
Classified as malfunction83.4%76.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GAM

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Polysorb5,4101,8360%
V-Loc 1803,4476780%
Vicryl Polyglactin 910 Suture Unknown Product2,3732101.2%
Coated VICRYL (polyglactin 910) Suture1,930200.5%
Maxon1,8093090%
Biosyn1,6812610%
V-Loc 901,3782260%
VICRYL Polyglactin 910 Suture1,262740.1%
Vcl+ Ud 27in 5-0 S/A Tf1,1251580.1%
Coated VICRYL9788510%
Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 Suture85200.1%
Vcl+ Ud 18in 5-0 S/A P-3 Prm Mp5181260%
Unknown VLoc Product413393.6%
Caprosyn399940%
Vcl+ Vio 36in 2-0 S/A Ct-1399420.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 reports

How many FDA reports name Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910?

724 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (83.4%) and injury (16.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (43.1%), needle, separation (43.1%), other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (8.7%), reaction (2.6%) and absorption (1.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Coated Vicryl Plus Antibacterial Polyglactin 910 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.