Reported Reactions

Devices › Pulse generator, permanent, implantable

Device brand name · Pulse generator permanent implantable

Versa Ipg: medical device reports filed with FDA

479 reports name it, 2018–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Med Rel Medtronic Puerto Rico. Product code NVZ.

479
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 58 a year
12
reports, 12 months to August 2026
33 in the 12 months before
43%
classified as malfunction
43.5% across the product code
8.1%
classified as death, as reported
39 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 479 reports that name the brand "Versa Ipg" (pulse generator permanent implantable), received between April 2018 and July 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Med Rel Medtronic Puerto Rico. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

12 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 64% from 33 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (48.9%), malfunction (43%) and death (8.1%); across all pulse generator, permanent, implantable reports (product code NVZ) death is recorded in 4.1% and malfunction in 43.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are pacing problem (22.8%), premature discharge of battery (10.9%) and failure to interrogate (10.4%). The patient problems coded most often are bradycardia, death and syncope/fainting. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0510Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 9Dec 2021: 72022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 7Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 10Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 9Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 6Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 1Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0541072018: 1420182019: 10720192020: 8120202021: 7920212022: 5820222023: 6120232024: 4420242025: 2820252026: 72026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death8.1%39
Injury48.9%234
Malfunction43%206
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%479
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 95,612 reports carrying product code NVZ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Pacing problem10922.8%10.5%
Premature discharge of battery5210.9%11.3%
Failure to interrogate5010.4%4.6%
Battery problema problem with the battery265.4%4.7%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit245%1.5%
Failure to capture132.7%3.4%
Reset problem81.7%1.4%
Electromagnetic interference71.5%0.9%
Incorrect measurementthe device measured wrongly71.5%1.6%
Data problem61.3%0.8%
Device sensing problem61.3%1.4%
Capturing problem51%0.6%
Unable to obtain readings51%1.9%
False positive result40.8%0.2%
High impedance40.8%1.7%
Insufficient device problem information40.8%1.8%
Output problem40.8%0.6%
Over-sensing40.8%5.6%
Signal artifact/noise40.8%1.2%
High capture threshold30.6%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Bradycardiaslow heart rate377.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term245%
Syncope/fainting214.4%
Dyspneashortness of breath163.3%
Arrhythmia91.9%
Falla fall91.9%
Chest painchest pain81.7%
Fatiguetiredness81.7%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness71.5%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available61.3%
Painpain, site not specified61.3%
Asystole51%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped51%
Erosion51%
Endocarditis40.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureVersa IpgProduct code NVZAll MAUDE reports
Reports47995,61226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports81419
Classified as injury48.9%52.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction43%43.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NVZ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Adapta4,8932797.4%
Advisa MRI SureScan3,5892721.9%
Reply2,81491.5%
Insignia3,79201.3%
Altrua4,12202.4%
Carelink15,005180%
Sensia IPG1,391732.7%
Dextrus 41365,69800.8%
Azure91901.8%
MyCareLink Patient Monitor893470.1%
Pulse Generator Permanent Implantable852241.1%
Fortify Vr U1 6 Sj4 Us1,56481.2%
Ellipse VR1,507453.7%
Symphony1,1631331.6%
Fortify Assura VR ICD, US4,8882132.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Versa Ipg reports

How many FDA reports name Versa Ipg?

479 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 12 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (48.9%), malfunction (43%) and death (8.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

pacing problem (22.8%), premature discharge of battery (10.9%), failure to interrogate (10.4%), battery problem (5.4%) and communication or transmission problem (5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Versa Ipg was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.