Reported Reactions

Devices › Drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes

Device brand name · Pacer lead

Dextrus 4136: medical device reports filed with FDA

5,698 reports name it, 2007–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biotronik Se & Kg. Product code NVN.

5,698
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 303 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
31.3%
classified as malfunction
41.6% across the product code
0.8%
classified as death, as reported
44 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 5,698 reports that name the brand "Dextrus 4136" (pacer lead), received between September 2007 and March 2019; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biotronik Se & Kg. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (66.1%), malfunction (31.3%) and other (1.5%); across all drug eluting permanent right ventricular (rv) or right atrial (ra) pacemaker electrodes reports (product code NVN) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 41.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device dislodged or dislocated (29.4%), failure to capture (13.9%) and dislodged (11.1%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, cardiac perforation and syncope. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Dextrus 4136 was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in March 2019.

By year received

03396782007: 1920072008: 4252009: 45020092010: 6782011: 55320112012: 5062013: 58020132014: 6532015: 60320152016: 4482017: 36420172018: 3352019: 842019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.8%44
Injury66.1%3,769
Malfunction31.3%1,783
Other1.5%88
Not given0.2%14

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%5,698
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 229,796 reports carrying product code NVN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device dislodged or dislocated1,67429.4%15.8%
Failure to capture79013.9%12.6%
Dislodged63411.1%0%
Ambient noise problem5459.6%1.4%
High capture threshold5229.2%10.7%
Over-sensing3916.9%17.9%
Normal3586.3%0%
High impedance3175.6%9.1%
High sensing threshold2955.2%0.5%
Insufficient device problem information2774.9%2.6%
Device remains implanted2644.6%0%
Explanted2384.2%0%
Pacing problem2093.7%4.4%
Under-sensing1953.4%4.5%
Intermittent capture1272.2%1.1%
Impedance problem1111.9%2.2%
Low impedance1061.9%5.1%
Fracturea broken bone1001.8%4.7%
Material perforation741.3%0%
Failure to sense601.1%2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure1,02017.9%
Cardiac perforation1472.6%
Syncopefainting1071.9%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped781.4%
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection771.4%
Muscle stimulation761.3%
Twiddlers syndrome721.3%
Perforation641.1%
Discomfortdiscomfort520.9%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness520.9%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term500.9%
Pocket erosion490.9%
Painpain, site not specified380.7%
Falla fall330.6%
Staphylococcus aureus300.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDextrus 4136Product code NVNAll MAUDE reports
Reports5,698229,79626,136,888
Share of that pool—2.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports8229
Classified as injury66.1%56.2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction31.3%41.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%96.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NVN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Tendril Sts54,0364,3203.1%
SelectSecure MRI SureScan20,9614,9941.3%
Tendril St20,1565475.2%
Ingevity Mri17,1011,7490.3%
Ingevity+15,3402,1500.3%
Tendril Sdx Lead9,3804314.5%
CapSure Fix MRI5,7556000.6%
Solia S 534,9976470.5%
Tendril Mri7,0764224.1%
Drug Eluting Permanent Right Ventricular Rv Or Right Atrial Ra Pacemaker Ele4,4624050.3%
Capsurefix Mri Surescan4,24702.8%
Tendril Sdx8,31632.3%
Ingevity9,0392990.9%
Ingevity +3,0532,2810.6%
Isoflex Optim Lead7,8894372%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Dextrus 4136 reports

How many FDA reports name Dextrus 4136?

5,698 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (66.1%), malfunction (31.3%) and other (1.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device dislodged or dislocated (29.4%), failure to capture (13.9%), dislodged (11.1%), ambient noise problem (9.6%) and high capture threshold (9.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Dextrus 4136 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.