Reported Reactions

Devices › Defibrillator, implantable, dual-chamber

Device brand name · Defibrillator implantable dual-chamber

Paradym: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,278 reports name it, 2009–2021. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Sorin Group Italia - Crm Facility. Product code MRM.

1,278
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 77 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
61.7%
classified as malfunction
60% across the product code
1.9%
classified as death, as reported
24 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,278 reports that name the brand "Paradym" (defibrillator implantable dual-chamber), received between December 2009 and November 2021; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Sorin Group Italia - Crm Facility. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (61.7%), injury (36.3%) and death (1.9%); across all defibrillator, implantable, dual-chamber reports (product code MRM) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 60%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are over-sensing (19.9%), connection problem (7.7%) and inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (7.5%). The patient problems coded most often are death, no patient involvement and shock from patient lead(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

012Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

01082152009: 820092010: 1112011: 16420112012: 1772013: 21520132014: 2012015: 17320152016: 1092017: 4920172018: 312019: 1620192020: 132021: 112021

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.9%24
Injury36.3%464
Malfunction61.7%788
Other0%0
Not given0.2%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%1,278
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 7,873 reports carrying product code MRM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Over-sensing25419.9%12.1%
Connection problema connection problem997.7%1.2%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation967.5%7.2%
High impedance624.9%2.9%
Pacemaker found in back-up mode584.5%1.7%
Premature discharge of battery524.1%2.8%
Device displays incorrect message514%2.5%
Low impedance483.8%1.9%
Unable to obtain readings453.5%0.6%
Display or visual feedback problem393.1%1.4%
Failure to interrogate342.7%5.9%
Application interface becomes non-functional or program exits abnormally332.6%0.7%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly332.6%1.9%
Failure to transmit record312.4%0.4%
Defibrillation/stimulation problem262%1.2%
Difficult to interrogate241.9%0.5%
Inappropriate or unexpected reset241.9%0.6%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit211.6%1.1%
Device difficult to program or calibrate181.4%0.1%
Reset problem181.4%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term372.9%
No patient involvement221.7%
Shock from patient lead(s)201.6%
Electric shockan electric shock141.1%
Shockshock, a collapse of the circulation131%
Discomfortdiscomfort100.8%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers100.8%
Painpain, site not specified70.5%
Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm60.5%
Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers60.5%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate40.3%
Muscle stimulation40.3%
Arrhythmia30.2%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness30.2%
Fatiguetiredness30.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureParadymProduct code MRMAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,2787,87326,136,888
Share of that pool—16.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports19249
Classified as injury36.3%36.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction61.7%60%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.6%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MRM

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Isoline59860.8%
Ovatio67503.3%
Platinium1,041421.2%
Alto648603.5%
Orchestra71300.1%
Lumax 340 Hf-T18609.7%
Paradym Rf24101.7%
Lumax 540 Hf-T313010.5%
SmartTouch6681320%
Lumax 340 Vr-T17305.2%
Smartview31750%
Lumax 540 Vr-T28903.5%
Kora846210%
Linox SD 65/161,288311.2%
Linox Smart S 65761260.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Paradym reports

How many FDA reports name Paradym?

1,278 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (61.7%), injury (36.3%) and death (1.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

over-sensing (19.9%), connection problem (7.7%), inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (7.5%), high impedance (4.9%) and pacemaker found in back-up mode (4.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Paradym was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.