Reported Reactions

Devices › Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt)

Device brand name · Icd

Lumax 340 Vr-T: medical device reports filed with FDA

173 reports name it, 2007–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biotronik Se & Kg. Product code LWS.

173
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 9 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
59%
classified as malfunction
37.4% across the product code
5.2%
classified as death, as reported
9 reports · not verified by FDA

173 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Lumax 340 Vr-T" (icd); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biotronik Se & Kg; received from June 2007 to November 2019. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (59%), injury (33.5%) and death (5.2%); across all implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt) reports (product code LWS) death is recorded in 2.7% and malfunction in 37.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are normal (18.5%), failure to interrogate (8.7%) and premature end-of-life indicator (8.7%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, shock from patient lead(s) and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Lumax 340 Vr-T was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2019.

By year received

013262007: 420072008: 252009: 2620092010: 212011: 1520112012: 122013: 1120132014: 162015: 1320152016: 92017: 920172018: 62019: 62019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death5.2%9
Injury33.5%58
Malfunction59%102
Other1.2%2
Not given1.2%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.4%172
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.6%1

Grey bar: all 380,959 reports carrying product code LWS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Normal3218.5%1.8%
Failure to interrogate158.7%0.9%
Premature end-of-life indicator158.7%0.4%
Over-sensing148.1%21.1%
Premature elective replacement indicator137.5%1.7%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation126.9%12.8%
Explanted116.4%1.6%
Ambient noise problem74%0.7%
Insufficient device problem information63.5%1.7%
High impedance42.3%15.6%
Device displays incorrect message31.7%1.7%
Dislodged31.7%0.7%
Premature discharge of battery31.7%8.1%
Defibrillation/stimulation problem21.2%1%
Computer software problema software problem10.6%0%
Device issuea problem with the device10.6%0.2%
Device remains implanted10.6%0.2%
Device, removal of (non-implant)10.6%0%
Elective removal10.6%0%
Electrode(s), fracture of10.6%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure2413.9%
Shock from patient lead(s)137.5%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term105.8%
Twiddlers syndrome31.7%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers31.7%
Erosion21.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue21.2%
Painpain, site not specified21.2%
Ventricular fibrillationa chaotic rhythm from the lower heart chambers21.2%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped10.6%
Discharge10.6%
Discomfortdiscomfort10.6%
Endocarditis10.6%
Injurya physical injury10.6%
Necrosisdeath of tissue10.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureLumax 340 Vr-TProduct code LWSAll MAUDE reports
Reports173380,95926,136,888
Share of that pool—0%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports52279
Classified as injury33.5%59.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction59%37.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.4%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LWS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Sprint Quattro Secure S MRI SureScan36,8956,4361.4%
Emblem Mri S-Icd21,4803,0880.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure24,23725.2%
Emblem S-Icd17,2502,2370.1%
Sprint Fidelis17,00534014.1%
Sprint Quattro Secure S14,39802.4%
Endotak Reliance25,8972381.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan15,6061,9031.4%
Endotak Reliance G10,1151,0490.6%
Teligen16,537470.6%
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation9,6813015.6%
Sprint Quattro5,59102.6%
Reliance 4-Front9,8522,0240.4%
Sprint6,1311612.4%
Vitality 24,77901%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Lumax 340 Vr-T reports

How many FDA reports name Lumax 340 Vr-T?

173 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (59%), injury (33.5%) and death (5.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

normal (18.5%), failure to interrogate (8.7%), premature end-of-life indicator (8.7%), over-sensing (8.1%) and premature elective replacement indicator (7.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Lumax 340 Vr-T was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.