Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, hemodialysis, non-implanted

Device brand name · Catheter hemodialysis non-implanted

Mahurkar: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,046 reports name it, 2008–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Covidien Mfg Solutions. Product code MPB.

1,046
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 57 a year
6
reports, 12 months to August 2026
125 in the 12 months before
92.4%
classified as malfunction
75.8% across the product code
1.1%
classified as death, as reported
11 reports · not verified by FDA

1,046 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Mahurkar" (catheter hemodialysis non-implanted); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Covidien Mfg Solutions; received from March 2008 to November 2025. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

6 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 95% from 125 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (92.4%), injury (6.6%) and death (1.1%); across all catheter, hemodialysis, non-implanted reports (product code MPB) death is recorded in 2.3% and malfunction in 75.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material puncture/hole (25%), break (17.2%) and difficult to remove (15.1%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, foreign body in patient and unintended radiation exposure. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01121Sep 2021: 21Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 192022Jan 2022: 16Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 16Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 16Jun 2022: 17Jul 2022: 6Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 10Dec 2022: 172023Jan 2023: 17Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 5May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 18Nov 2023: 15Dec 2023: 132024Jan 2024: 11Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 8Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 7Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 13Aug 2024: 12Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 11Dec 2024: 72025Jan 2025: 19Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 19Apr 2025: 17May 2025: 12Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 12Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0761522008: 320082017: 8320172018: 12420182019: 11820192020: 11220202021: 15220212022: 13720222023: 11120232024: 10120242025: 1052025

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.1%11
Injury6.6%69
Malfunction92.4%966
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report98.6%1,031
Voluntary report0.5%5
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given1%10

Grey bar: all 3,212 reports carrying product code MPB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material puncture/hole26225%5.9%
Breakthe device broke18017.2%7.1%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove15815.1%4.1%
Product quality problem11711.2%2.6%
Obstruction of flow938.9%1.1%
Infusion or flow problema problem with flow or infusion565.4%0.5%
Unraveled material514.9%3.8%
Insufficient flow or under infusion424%0.3%
Fluid/blood leak383.6%5.2%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material383.6%0.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked363.4%0.1%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off333.2%1.2%
Difficult to advance272.6%0.3%
Material frayed242.3%3.1%
Insufficient device problem information232.2%0.2%
Material deformation181.7%4.7%
Migration or expulsion of device181.7%1.6%
Material fragmentation161.5%0.2%
Defective component141.3%0.7%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed141.3%0.6%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement333.2%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient131.2%
Unintended radiation exposure131.2%
Blood loss111.1%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available101%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding101%
Radiation exposure, unintended90.9%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term80.8%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue70.7%
Inflammationinflammation50.5%
Fever40.4%
Painpain, site not specified40.4%
Skin discoloration40.4%
Perforation of vessels30.3%
Air embolism20.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureMahurkarProduct code MPBAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,0463,21226,136,888
Share of that pool—32.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports11239
Classified as injury6.6%18.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction92.4%75.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer98.6%93.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MPB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Arrow Hemodialysis Set 2-Lumen 12 Fr X 20 Cm404680.2%
Arrow Hemodialysis Set 2-Lumen 12 Fr X 16 Cm198261%
Mahurkar Elite152103.3%
Ash Split Catheter25803.5%
Dialysis Unknown40265%
Kendall213232.3%
Arrow Cvc Set 3-Lumen 7 Fr X 30 Cm338120%
Arrow Cvc Set 2-Lumen 7 Fr X 20 Cm1,4061700.1%
Arrow Pi Cvc Kit 3-L 7 Fr X 20 Cm Agb286631%
Liberty Select Cycler58904.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Mahurkar reports

How many FDA reports name Mahurkar?

1,046 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 6 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (92.4%), injury (6.6%) and death (1.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material puncture/hole (25%), break (17.2%), difficult to remove (15.1%), product quality problem (11.2%) and obstruction of flow (8.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (98.6%) and voluntary reports (0.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Mahurkar was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.