Reported Reactions

Devices › System, peritoneal, automatic delivery

Device brand name · System peritoneal automatic delivery

Liberty Select Cycler: medical device reports filed with FDA

589 reports name it, 2017–2023. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Concord Manufacturing. Product code FKX.

589
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 68 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
67.6%
classified as malfunction
85.8% across the product code
4.8%
classified as death, as reported
28 reports · not verified by FDA

589 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Liberty Select Cycler" (system peritoneal automatic delivery); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Concord Manufacturing; received from November 2017 to August 2023. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (67.6%), injury (27.7%) and death (4.8%); across all system, peritoneal, automatic delivery reports (product code FKX) death is recorded in 2.1% and malfunction in 85.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are overfill (32.8%), fluid/blood leak (28.4%) and thermal decomposition of device (4.8%). The patient problems coded most often are peritonitis, hypervolemia and discomfort. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01631Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 31Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02585162017: 3820172018: 51620182019: 420192023: 312023

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death4.8%28
Injury27.7%163
Malfunction67.6%398
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report93.9%553
Voluntary report5.3%31
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.8%5

Grey bar: all 164,765 reports carrying product code FKX. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Overfill19332.8%19%
Fluid/blood leak16728.4%14.9%
Thermal decomposition of device284.8%3%
Output problem142.4%0%
Overheating of device61%0.1%
Leak/splashthe device leaked50.8%1.2%
Sparking50.8%0.1%
Image display error/artifact40.7%0%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method40.7%7.6%
Obstruction of flow40.7%0%
Device issuea problem with the device30.5%0%
Electrical shorting20.3%0%
Smoking20.3%0.1%
Charred10.2%0%
Contamination10.2%0.5%
Device alarm system10.2%0.3%
Device displays incorrect message10.2%28.5%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly10.2%7.5%
Disconnection10.2%2.4%
Electrical /electronic property probleman electrical or electronic problem10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Peritonitis549.2%
Hypervolemia488.1%
Discomfortdiscomfort305.1%
Dyspneashortness of breath284.8%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain254.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term254.2%
Hernia162.7%
Painpain, site not specified132.2%
Nauseafeeling sick111.9%
Abdominal distention101.7%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped101.7%
Vomitingbeing sick91.5%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension81.4%
Pulmonary edema81.4%
Pneumonialung infection71.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureLiberty Select CyclerProduct code FKXAll MAUDE reports
Reports589164,76526,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports48219
Classified as injury27.7%11.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction67.6%85.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer93.9%99.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FKX

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
HomeChoice Automated PD Set with Cassette27,4171490.5%
Homechoice25,67502.4%
Homechoice Pro22,61403.6%
Liberty Select Cycler Assy Non-Valuated15,7841,1743.6%
Liberty Cycler Set Single Conn /Ext Dl11,7299520.5%
Liberty Cycler3,74209%
Ni32,9391,5871.8%
Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong3,26200.2%
Liberty Cycler Set Dual Patient Connect3,0831500.8%
Automated Pd Set W/Cassette4 Prong2,09000.3%
Amia Automated Pd Cycler Set1,67100%
Integrated Apd Set W/Cassette3-Prong1,64100.4%
Homechoice Cycler-Refurbished1,61301.2%
Fmc Cassette1,093301%
Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4 Prong90600.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Liberty Select Cycler reports

How many FDA reports name Liberty Select Cycler?

589 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (67.6%), injury (27.7%) and death (4.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

overfill (32.8%), fluid/blood leak (28.4%), thermal decomposition of device (4.8%), output problem (2.4%) and overheating of device (1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (93.9%) and voluntary reports (5.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Liberty Select Cycler was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.