Reported Reactions

Devices › Electrode, electrocardiograph

Device brand name · Electrode electrocardiograph

Kendall: medical device reports filed with FDA

213 reports name it, 1997–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Cardinal Health 200. Product code DRX.

213
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 7 a year
23
reports, 12 months to August 2026
17 in the 12 months before
61.5%
classified as malfunction
25.5% across the product code
2.3%
classified as death, as reported
5 reports · not verified by FDA

213 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Kendall" (electrode electrocardiograph); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Cardinal Health 200; received from March 1997 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

23 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 35% from 17 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (61.5%), injury (25.4%) and other (8.9%); across all electrode, electrocardiograph reports (product code DRX) death is recorded in 1.5% and malfunction in 25.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are component(s), broken (8%), balloon burst (4.2%) and detachment of device component (3.3%). The patient problems coded most often are blister, full thickness (third degree) burn and no patient involvement. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

036Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 4Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

018361997: 519971999: 42000: 122001: 420012002: 92003: 62004: 920042005: 112006: 362007: 820072008: 92009: 42010: 520102011: 102014: 32015: 320152017: 212018: 72023: 320232024: 52025: 182026: 212026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.3%5
Injury25.4%54
Malfunction61.5%131
Other8.9%19
Not given1.9%4

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report41.8%89
Voluntary report26.3%56
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given31.9%68

Grey bar: all 1,611 reports carrying product code DRX. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Component(s), broken178%0%
Balloon burst94.2%0%
Detachment of device component73.3%0.7%
Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings62.8%0.6%
Balloon rupture41.9%0%
Inflation problem41.9%0%
Leak/splashthe device leaked41.9%0.1%
Replace41.9%0.8%
Defibrillation/stimulation problem31.4%0.2%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove31.4%0.3%
Incorrect interpretation of signal31.4%0.5%
Crackthe device cracked20.9%0%
Device issuea problem with the device20.9%0.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.9%2.4%
Failure to read input signal20.9%0.6%
Material separation20.9%0.7%
Migration or expulsion of device20.9%0%
Sticking20.9%0.1%
Breakthe device broke10.5%0.5%
Device alarm system10.5%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Blistera blister73.3%
Full thickness (third degree) burn52.3%
No patient involvement52.3%
Partial thickness (second degree) burn52.3%
Surgical procedure52.3%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional41.9%
Bruise/contusion31.4%
Painpain, site not specified31.4%
Burn(s)a burn20.9%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.9%
Deformity/ disfigurement20.9%
Diaphoresis20.9%
Discomfortdiscomfort20.9%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction20.9%
Itching sensation20.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureKendallProduct code DRXAll MAUDE reports
Reports2131,61126,136,888
Share of that pool—13.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports23159
Classified as injury25.4%57.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction61.5%25.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer41.8%68.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DRX

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Universal electrode-patch1981600.5%
Nissha Medical Technologies1771440%
Skintact245170.4%
TruWave Disposable Pressure Transducer624670.5%
Conmed900890.2%
Electrodes Onestep Complete26604.9%
Electrodes Onestep Complete Single R Series21781.8%
Valleylab2,0103530.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Kendall reports

How many FDA reports name Kendall?

213 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 23 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (61.5%), injury (25.4%) and other (8.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

component(s), broken (8%), balloon burst (4.2%), detachment of device component (3.3%), incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings (2.8%) and balloon rupture (1.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (41.8%) and voluntary reports (26.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Kendall was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.