Reported Reactions

Devices › Filter, intravascular, cardiovascular

Device brand name · Dtk filter intravascular cardiovascular

G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach: medical device reports filed with FDA

190 reports name it, 2017–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: William Cook Europe. Product code DTK.

190
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 20 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
64.2%
classified as malfunction
29.9% across the product code
1.1%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 190 reports that name the brand "G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach" (dtk filter intravascular cardiovascular), received between January 2017 and July 2018; the manufacturer given most often on reports is William Cook Europe. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (64.2%), injury (18.9%) and death (1.1%); across all filter, intravascular, cardiovascular reports (product code DTK) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 29.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to advance (31.6%), kinked (26.3%) and malposition of device (12.1%). The patient problems coded most often are perforation of vessels, pain and hematoma. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in July 2018.

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.1%2
Injury18.9%36
Malfunction64.2%122
Other0%0
Not given15.8%30

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%190
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 38,361 reports carrying product code DTK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to advance6031.6%1.4%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked5026.3%0.3%
Malposition of device2312.1%10.9%
Difficult or delayed positioning2211.6%1.3%
Premature activation2111.1%0.7%
Activation failure178.9%1.7%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove157.9%19.8%
Positioning failure94.7%1.4%
Migration or expulsion of device84.2%9.6%
Bent63.2%0.3%
Activation, positioning or separation problem31.6%1.1%
Difficult to advance31.6%0.3%
Entrapment of device31.6%1.4%
Filtration problem31.6%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off21.1%7.8%
Device handling problem21.1%0.1%
Fracturea broken bone21.1%7.3%
Material deformation21.1%1.2%
Material frayed21.1%0.1%
Positioning problem21.1%2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Perforation of vessels1910%
Painpain, site not specified63.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue42.1%
Thrombus31.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term21.1%
No patient involvement21.1%
Cardiac perforation10.5%
Edemaswelling from fluid10.5%
Extravasation10.5%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding10.5%
Internal organ perforation10.5%
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung10.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureG Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular ApproachProduct code DTKAll MAUDE reports
Reports19038,36126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports11249
Classified as injury18.9%67%36.2%
Classified as malfunction64.2%29.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%93%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Gunther Tulip Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set1,92600.6%
Gunther Tulip Jugular Vena Cava Filter Set1,23500.7%
G2 Filter System - Femoral1,12203.7%
Denali Femoral System928784.6%
466fxxxx93601.9%
Cook Celect Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set89801.3%
Unknown Optease Vena Cava Filter83501.7%
Greenfield73550.5%
Unknown Trapease72001.7%
Denali Jugular System704456.3%
Option Ivc Filter70202.1%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
Optease Retrieval Filter68503.4%
Cook Celect Navalign Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set67301.5%
Eclipse Filter System - Femoral64906%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach reports

How many FDA reports name G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach?

190 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (64.2%), injury (18.9%) and death (1.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to advance (31.6%), kinked (26.3%), malposition of device (12.1%), difficult or delayed positioning (11.6%) and premature activation (11.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that G Nther Tulip Vena Cava Filter Jugular Approach was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.