Reported Reactions

Devices › Filter, intravascular, cardiovascular

Device brand name · Vena cava filter

Denali Jugular System: medical device reports filed with FDA

704 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Bard Peripheral Vascular. Product code DTK.

704
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 55 a year
45
reports, 12 months to August 2026
47 in the 12 months before
65.3%
classified as malfunction
29.9% across the product code
6.3%
classified as death, as reported
44 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 704 reports that name the brand "Denali Jugular System" (vena cava filter), received between September 2013 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Bard Peripheral Vascular. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

45 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 47 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (65.3%), injury (28.4%) and death (6.3%); across all filter, intravascular, cardiovascular reports (product code DTK) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 29.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are activation failure (26%), malposition of device (16.6%) and difficult to remove (15.1%). The patient problems coded most often are pulmonary embolism, abdominal pain and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0918Sep 2021: 7Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 9May 2022: 5Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 5Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 62024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 8May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 5Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 7Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 7Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 6Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0581162013: 620132014: 252015: 5820152016: 372017: 5720172018: 312019: 5620192020: 692021: 11620212022: 612023: 5020232024: 642025: 4220252026: 32

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death6.3%44
Injury28.4%200
Malfunction65.3%460
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%703
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.1%1

Grey bar: all 38,361 reports carrying product code DTK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Activation failure18326%1.7%
Malposition of device11716.6%10.9%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove10615.1%19.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off8812.5%7.8%
Failure to advance8512.1%1.4%
Patient device interaction problem699.8%6.4%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient618.7%4.3%
Material deformation517.2%1.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated436.1%0.4%
Migration or expulsion of device405.7%9.6%
Activation, positioning or separation problem355%1.1%
Deformation due to compressive stress273.8%0.2%
Material puncture/hole253.6%0.4%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed202.8%3.1%
Breakthe device broke162.3%1%
Difficult to advance162.3%0.3%
Positioning failure142%1.4%
Positioning problem142%2%
Premature activation142%0.7%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert131.8%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung638.9%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain446.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term415.8%
Thrombus273.8%
Thrombosis/thrombus233.3%
Painpain, site not specified202.8%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available111.6%
Great vessel perforation111.6%
Chest painchest pain91.3%
Vessel or plaque, device embedded in91.3%
Thrombosis71%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding60.9%
Blood loss50.7%
Perforation of vessels50.7%
Cardiac perforation40.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDenali Jugular SystemProduct code DTKAll MAUDE reports
Reports70438,36126,136,888
Share of that pool—1.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports63249
Classified as injury28.4%67%36.2%
Classified as malfunction65.3%29.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%93%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Gunther Tulip Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set1,92600.6%
Gunther Tulip Jugular Vena Cava Filter Set1,23500.7%
G2 Filter System - Femoral1,12203.7%
Denali Femoral System928784.6%
466fxxxx93601.9%
Cook Celect Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set89801.3%
Unknown Optease Vena Cava Filter83501.7%
Greenfield73550.5%
Unknown Trapease72001.7%
Option Ivc Filter70202.1%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
Optease Retrieval Filter68503.4%
Cook Celect Navalign Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set67301.5%
Eclipse Filter System - Femoral64906%
Recovery Filter System61343.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Denali Jugular System reports

How many FDA reports name Denali Jugular System?

704 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 45 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (65.3%), injury (28.4%) and death (6.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

activation failure (26%), malposition of device (16.6%), difficult to remove (15.1%), detachment of device or device component (12.5%) and failure to advance (12.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Denali Jugular System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.