Reported Reactions

Devices › Filter, intravascular, cardiovascular

Device brand name · Vena cava filter

Denali Filter: medical device reports filed with FDA

265 reports name it, 2015–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Bard Peripheral Vascular. Product code DTK.

265
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 24 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
92.5%
classified as malfunction
29.9% across the product code
0.8%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 265 reports that name the brand "Denali Filter" (vena cava filter), received between August 2015 and December 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Bard Peripheral Vascular. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (92.5%), injury (6.8%) and death (0.8%); across all filter, intravascular, cardiovascular reports (product code DTK) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 29.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are failure to advance (32.5%), malposition of device (20.8%) and patient device interaction problem (19.2%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, pulmonary embolism and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

011Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0511012015: 9120152019: 6620192020: 10120202021: 420212022: 32022

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.8%2
Injury6.8%18
Malfunction92.5%245
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.2%263
Voluntary report0.4%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.4%1

Grey bar: all 38,361 reports carrying product code DTK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Failure to advance8632.5%1.4%
Malposition of device5520.8%10.9%
Patient device interaction problem5119.2%6.4%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove4818.1%19.8%
Migration or expulsion of device3312.5%9.6%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off3212.1%7.8%
Material deformation166%1.2%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient155.7%4.3%
Activation failure124.5%1.7%
Device dislodged or dislocated124.5%0.4%
Obstruction of flow124.5%4.1%
Positioning problem124.5%2%
Activation, positioning or separation problem103.8%1.1%
Material puncture/hole51.9%0.4%
Unintended movement41.5%10.2%
Bent31.1%0.3%
Deformation due to compressive stress31.1%0.2%
Difficult or delayed positioning20.8%1.3%
Material perforation20.8%1%
Breakthe device broke10.4%1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury51.9%
Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung31.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.8%
Thrombosis20.8%
Thrombus20.8%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain10.4%
Blood loss10.4%
Chest painchest pain10.4%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque10.4%
Dyspneashortness of breath10.4%
Edemaswelling from fluid10.4%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient10.4%
No patient involvement10.4%
Occlusion10.4%
Painpain, site not specified10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDenali FilterProduct code DTKAll MAUDE reports
Reports26538,36126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.7%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports8249
Classified as injury6.8%67%36.2%
Classified as malfunction92.5%29.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.2%93%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTK

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Gunther Tulip Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set1,92600.6%
Gunther Tulip Jugular Vena Cava Filter Set1,23500.7%
G2 Filter System - Femoral1,12203.7%
Denali Femoral System928784.6%
466fxxxx93601.9%
Cook Celect Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set89801.3%
Unknown Optease Vena Cava Filter83501.7%
Greenfield73550.5%
Unknown Trapease72001.7%
Denali Jugular System704456.3%
Option Ivc Filter70202.1%
Trapease Pvcf Fem/Jug 55cm Csi98303.7%
Optease Retrieval Filter68503.4%
Cook Celect Navalign Femoral Vena Cava Filter Set67301.5%
Eclipse Filter System - Femoral64906%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Denali Filter reports

How many FDA reports name Denali Filter?

265 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (92.5%), injury (6.8%) and death (0.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

failure to advance (32.5%), malposition of device (20.8%), patient device interaction problem (19.2%), difficult to remove (18.1%) and migration or expulsion of device (12.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.2%) and voluntary reports (0.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Denali Filter was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.