Reports received by FDA, by month
November 2013: adverse event reports received by FDA
56,523 drug reports (FAERS) and 59,953 device reports (MAUDE).
- 56,523
- drug reports received
- 63,476 a year earlier
- 63,452
- monthly average, preceding 12 months
- -10.9% against the average
- 59,953
- device reports received
- 38,290 a year earlier
FDA received 56,523 drug adverse event reports in November 2013, against 63,476 in the same month a year earlier and a monthly average of 63,452 over the preceding 12 months. The MAUDE device database received 59,953 reports that month (38,290 a year earlier).
The drugs listed most often as suspect products were Dianeal Low Calcium (2,577), Enbrel (2,241) and Letairis (2,180), and the reactions recorded most often were drug ineffective (2,943), death (2,501) and nausea (2,375).
Relative to their own average over the preceding 12 months, the drugs whose report count rose most were Oxytrol for Women (31× its average), Bydureon (22.8× its average) and Byetta Pen Disposable (11.1× its average). A jump in one month usually reflects a batch of reports from a manufacturer, a publicised event or a new product, not a change in what happens to patients.
Drug reports by month, three years to November 2013
Drugs listed most often as suspect products
| Drug | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Dianeal Low Calcium | 2,577 | 4.6% |
| Enbrel | 2,241 | 4% |
| Letairis | 2,180 | 3.9% |
| Bydureon | 1,542 | 2.7% |
| Tysabri | 1,366 | 2.4% |
| Tecfidera | 1,358 | 2.4% |
| Avonex | 1,060 | 1.9% |
| Humira | 1,036 | 1.8% |
| Paragard 380a | 865 | 1.5% |
| Lyrica | 752 | 1.3% |
| Remicade | 651 | 1.2% |
| Propoxyphene Napsylate/Acetaminophen Tablets | 635 | 1.1% |
| Tiotropium bromide | 628 | 1.1% |
| Xarelto | 609 | 1.1% |
| Qsymia 3 75mg/23mg | 539 | 1% |
FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Largest rises against their own average
| Drug | Reports this month | Times its 12-month average |
|---|---|---|
| Oxytrol for Women | 333 | 31× |
| Bydureon | 1,542 | 22.8× |
| Byetta Pen Disposable | 171 | 11.1× |
| Lexiscan(r) (regadenoson) | 216 | 9.2× |
| Byetta | 525 | 8.8× |
| Epilim | 107 | 7.6× |
| Paragard 380a | 865 | 7.5× |
| Letairis | 2,180 | 6.1× |
Drugs with at least 50 reports in the month and an average of at least 10 a month over the preceding year. A rise usually reflects a batch of manufacturer reports, a publicised event or a new product.
Reactions recorded most often
| MedDRA term | Reports | Share of the month |
|---|---|---|
| Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected | 2,943 | 5.2% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 2,501 | 4.4% |
| Nauseafeeling sick | 2,375 | 4.2% |
| Dyspnoeashortness of breath | 2,192 | 3.9% |
| Fatiguetiredness | 1,925 | 3.4% |
| Headachehead pain | 1,878 | 3.3% |
| Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools | 1,654 | 2.9% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 1,561 | 2.8% |
| Vomitingbeing sick | 1,542 | 2.7% |
| Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness | 1,431 | 2.5% |
| Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell | 1,330 | 2.4% |
| Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label | 1,257 | 2.2% |
| Astheniaweakness or lack of energy | 1,227 | 2.2% |
| Anxietyanxiety | 1,008 | 1.8% |
| Falla fall | 997 | 1.8% |
Devices named most often
| Brand | Reports | Share of device reports |
|---|---|---|
| Spectrum Infusion Pump | 4,943 | 8.2% |
| Onetouchping Glucosemgmtsystem | 2,197 | 3.7% |
| Ot Verio Iq Meter | 1,257 | 2.1% |
| Unknown Women's Health Mesh Product | 727 | 1.2% |
| Gynecare Tvt Obturator System | 679 | 1.1% |
| Paradigm Real-Time Revel Insulin Infusion Pump | 647 | 1.1% |
| HomeChoice Automated PD Set with Cassette | 584 | 1% |
| Gynecare Tvt Retropubic System | 562 | 0.9% |
| Ot Ping Meter | 531 | 0.9% |
| Powered Wheelchair | 506 | 0.8% |
Questions about November 2013
How many adverse event reports did FDA receive in November 2013?
56,523 drug reports are in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, and 59,953 device reports in the MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026. The same month a year earlier has 63,476 drug reports.
Which drugs were listed most often?
Dianeal Low Calcium (2,577), Enbrel (2,241), Letairis (2,180), Bydureon (1,542) and Tysabri (1,366).
Which reactions were recorded most often?
drug ineffective (2,943), death (2,501), nausea (2,375), dyspnoea (2,192) and fatigue (1,925).
Can the count for a month still change?
Yes. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Older months change little.
Does a busy month mean something happened that month?
Not by itself. The date is when FDA received the report, not when the event occurred, and volume follows manufacturer batches, product launches and publicity. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.