Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Zydone: adverse event reports filed with FDA

17,650 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2026.

17,650
reports as suspect product
0.1% of all reports · about 909 a year
4
reports, 12 months to June 2026
36 in the 12 months before
100%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
93.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
16,471 reports · not verified by FDA

17,650 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Zydone" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2007 to June 2026. A further 60 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 4 reports listed it, down 89% from 36 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 909 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are death (50.8%), toxicity to various agents (43.5%) and overdose (19.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 67 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 50.8% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

100% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 93.3% record death among the outcomes and 3.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 86.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (0.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02550Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 17Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 50Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 11Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 10Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 23Apr 2024: 11May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 14Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 9Sep 2024: 9Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 4Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

08,51817,0352007: 320072008: 12013: 920132017: 3932018: 17,03520182019: 12020: 420202021: 102023: 8320232024: 1012025: 820252026: 2

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zydone reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term50.8%8,962
  2. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances43.5%7,676
  3. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount19.2%3,388
  4. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine4.8%846
  5. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine3.3%588
  6. Accidental overdosean accidental overdose2.8%497
  7. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended1.7%292
  8. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy0.4%66
  9. Drug withdrawal syndromesymptoms on stopping a medicine0.3%45
  10. Hepatitis Chepatitis C infection0.2%42
  11. Ill-defined disordera condition that was not clearly described0.1%19
  12. Depressionlow mood0.1%17
  13. Completed suicidedeath by suicide0.1%14
  14. Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine0.1%13
  15. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy0%7
  16. Painpain, site not specified0%7
  17. Anxietyanxiety0%6
  18. Amnesiamemory loss0%4
  19. Injurya physical injury0%4
  20. Memory impairmentmemory problems0%4
  21. Traumatic lung injury0%4

Top 30 of 67 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death93.3%16,471
Life-threatening0%6
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)3.8%670
Disability0.1%12
Congenital anomaly1.8%322
Other serious14.3%2,518
Not serious0%6

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 440.1%9
45 to 640%1
65 to 740%1
75 and over0%0
Age not given99.9%17,639

Patient sex

Female0.7%116
Male0.7%129
Not given98.6%17,405

Who reported

Physician0%6
Pharmacist0%0
Other health professional0%5
Lawyer86.8%15,320
Consumer or non-health professional13.1%2,319
Not given0%0

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 100% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain17,12797%
Injury40%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 17,650 reports.

In context

MeasureZydoneAll reports
Reports as suspect product17,65020,646,523
Share of that pool—0.1%
Reports, latest 12 months41,332,454
Marked serious100%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports93391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports38213
Consumer-filed share13.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 50.8%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Zydone reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zydone?

17,650 reports list Zydone as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 4 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 60 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zydone reports?

death (50.8%), toxicity to various agents (43.5%), overdose (19.2%), drug abuse (4.8%) and drug dependence (3.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zydone was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

100% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 93.3% of reports include death and 3.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (86.8%), consumer or non-health professional (13.1%) and physician (0%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zydone rising?

4 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 89% from 36 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zydone was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zydone?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zydone as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (60) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.