Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Alpha-1-proteinase inhibitor human kit

Zemaira: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,601 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2008–2026.

2,601
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 141 a year
82
reports, 12 months to June 2026
157 in the 12 months before
65.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
8.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
223 reports · not verified by FDA

2,601 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Zemaira (alpha-1-proteinase inhibitor human kit) as a suspect or interacting product, from February 2008 to June 2026. A further 85 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 82 reports listed it, down 48% from 157 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 141 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are dyspnoea (14.5%), pneumonia (8.7%) and headache (6.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 298 different terms appear across these reports. Dyspnoea is recorded in 14.5% of these reports, against 2.7% of all reports in the database.

65.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 8.6% record death among the outcomes and 34.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46.2% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (29.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01734Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 5Sep 2021: 9Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 6Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 5Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 10Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 5May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 11Aug 2024: 15Sep 2024: 10Oct 2024: 9Nov 2024: 8Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 8Feb 2025: 14Mar 2025: 13Apr 2025: 12May 2025: 34Jun 2025: 18Jul 2025: 10Aug 2025: 12Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 72026Jan 2026: 8Feb 2026: 10Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03547082008: 620082009: 22010: 520102011: 362012: 3620122013: 862014: 36520142015: 3512016: 70820162017: 1562018: 19720182019: 1182020: 9220202021: 712022: 4820222023: 492024: 9420242025: 1372026: 442026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Zemaira reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Dyspnoeashortness of breath14.5%378
  2. Pneumonialung infection8.7%226
  3. Headachehead pain6.1%158
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term6%155
  5. Coughcough5.7%148
  6. Fatiguetiredness5.1%133
  7. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.5%116
  8. Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseCOPD, a long-term lung disease3.7%97
  9. Pyrexiafever3.5%91
  10. Nasopharyngitisa cold3.2%84
  11. Nauseafeeling sick3%79
  12. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported2.9%76
  13. Bronchitischest infection2.9%75
  14. Sinusitissinus infection2.9%75
  15. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.7%70
  16. Upper respiratory tract infectiona cold or similar infection2.7%69
  17. Painpain, site not specified2.6%67
  18. Chest painchest pain2.2%57
  19. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.1%54
  20. Influenzaflu2%52
  21. Falla fall1.9%50
  22. Productive cougha cough with phlegm1.9%49
  23. Vomitingbeing sick1.9%49
  24. Back painback pain1.8%48
  25. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.7%44
  26. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital1.6%41
  27. Chillschills or shivering1.5%40
  28. Influenza like illnessflu-like symptoms1.5%40
  29. Wheezingwheezing1.5%39

Top 30 of 298 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death8.6%223
Life-threatening1.8%46
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)34.3%891
Disability1.6%41
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious31.4%816
Not serious34.8%905

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.2%5
12 to 170.1%2
18 to 444.2%109
45 to 6429.5%767
65 to 7415.5%402
75 and over6.5%170
Age not given44%1,145

Patient sex

Female58.5%1,522
Male39.4%1,024
Not given2.1%55

Who reported

Physician6.9%180
Pharmacist12.1%315
Other health professional34%885
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional46.2%1,201
Not given0.7%19

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 97.7% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Alpha-1 anti-trypsin deficiency1,27649.1%
Alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency36213.9%
Emphysema632.4%
Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease491.9%
Asthma190.7%
Enzyme abnormality160.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,601 reports.

In context

MeasureZemairaAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,60120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months821,332,454
Marked serious65.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports8691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports343213
Consumer-filed share46.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDyspnoea 14.5%2.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Zemaira reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Zemaira?

2,601 reports list Zemaira as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 82 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 85 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Zemaira reports?

dyspnoea (14.5%), pneumonia (8.7%), headache (6.1%), death (6%) and cough (5.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Zemaira was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

65.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 8.6% of reports include death and 34.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (46.2%), other health professional (34%) and pharmacist (12.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Zemaira rising?

82 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 48% from 157 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Zemaira was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Zemaira?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Zemaira as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (85) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.