Brand name · Lifitegrast
Xiidra: adverse event reports filed with FDA
13,758 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2016–2026.
- 13,758
- reports as suspect product
- 0.1% of all reports · about 1,400 a year
- 533
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 676 in the 12 months before
- 14.1%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 1.8%
- record death among outcomes, as reported
- 243 reports · not verified by FDA
13,758 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Xiidra (lifitegrast) as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2016 to June 2026. A further 2,300 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.
In the 12 months to June 2026, 533 reports listed it, down 21% from 676 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,400 reports a year and 0.1% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.
The MedDRA terms listed most often are eye irritation (18.6%), vision blurred (18.5%) and drug ineffective (10.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 638 different terms appear across these reports. Eye irritation is recorded in 18.6% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.
14.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 1.8% record death among the outcomes and 2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 72.5% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (8.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
By year received
2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.
Reactions recorded in the reports
share of Xiidra reports recording the termall reports in the database
- Eye irritationeye irritation18.6%2,564
- Vision blurredblurred vision18.5%2,543
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected10.2%1,404
- Instillation site pain9.3%1,280
- Dysgeusiaaltered taste7.9%1,090
- Eye paineye pain7.7%1,064
- Dry eyedry eye7.5%1,038
- Instillation site reaction7.4%1,017
- Ocular hyperaemiaa red eye4.4%600
- Lacrimation increasedwatery eyes4.2%580
- Visual impairmentreduced vision4%545
- Headachehead pain3.2%441
- Eye pruritus3%412
- Eye discharge2.6%364
- Product quality issuea problem with the product itself2.5%349
- Product use complaint2.5%349
- Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction2.5%347
- Eye disorder2.3%323
- Burning sensationa burning feeling2.1%287
- Product dose omission issuea dose was missed2%280
- Product container issuea problem with the container1.9%257
- Instillation site irritation1.8%242
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.7%228
- Eye swellinga swollen eye1.6%223
- Painpain, site not specified1.6%218
- Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times1.5%213
- Instillation site erythema1.5%208
- Overdosea dose above the recommended amount1.5%208
- Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse1.5%207
- Ocular discomfort1.5%202
Top 30 of 638 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Outcomes recorded
Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."
Patients and reporters
Patient age
Patient sex
Who reported
Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 99.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.
Reason for use recorded
| Indication as recorded (MedDRA) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Dry eye | 4,851 | 35.3% |
| Sjogren's syndrome | 60 | 0.4% |
| Off label use | 19 | 0.1% |
| Eye disorder | 13 | 0.1% |
| Glaucoma | 11 | 0.1% |
| Eye irritation | 9 | 0.1% |
The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 13,758 reports.
Drugs most often listed in the same reports
| Drug (any role in the report) | Reports | Share of Xiidra reports |
|---|---|---|
| Restasis | 546 | 4% |
| Levothyroxine | 164 | 1.2% |
| Synthroid | 160 | 1.2% |
| Ergocalciferol | 114 | 0.8% |
| Losartan | 110 | 0.8% |
| Atorvastatin | 105 | 0.8% |
| Vitamin d | 105 | 0.8% |
| Calcium | 104 | 0.8% |
| Omeprazole | 103 | 0.7% |
| Lisinopril | 96 | 0.7% |
Other products listed in reports where Xiidra is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.
In context
| Measure | Xiidra | All reports |
|---|---|---|
| Reports as suspect product | 13,758 | 20,646,523 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0.1% |
| Reports, latest 12 months | 533 | 1,332,454 |
| Marked serious | 14.1% | 57.4% |
| Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports | 18 | 91 |
| Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports | 20 | 213 |
| Consumer-filed share | 72.5% | 45.8% |
| Top term, share of reports | Eye irritation 18.6% | 0.3% |
Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Questions about Xiidra reports
How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Xiidra?
13,758 reports list Xiidra as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 533 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 2,300 list it only as a concomitant medication.
What reactions are recorded in Xiidra reports?
eye irritation (18.6%), vision blurred (18.5%), drug ineffective (10.2%), instillation site pain (9.3%) and dysgeusia (7.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Xiidra was responsible.
How serious are the reports?
14.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 1.8% of reports include death and 2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.
Who files these reports?
consumer or non-health professional (72.5%), physician (18.2%) and other health professional (7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.
Are reports for Xiidra rising?
533 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 21% from 676 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.
Do these reports show that Xiidra was responsible for these reactions?
No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.
Is this a list of the side effects of Xiidra?
No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.
How do I report an adverse event?
Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Xiidra as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (2,300) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.