Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Uvadex: adverse event reports filed with FDA

623 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2009–2026.

623
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 37 a year
22
reports, 12 months to June 2026
38 in the 12 months before
95.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
26.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
163 reports · not verified by FDA

623 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Uvadex" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2009 to March 2026. A further 4 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 22 reports listed it, down 42% from 38 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 37 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are product use in unapproved indication (53.5%), disease progression (5.6%) and condition aggravated (5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 145 different terms appear across these reports. Product use in unapproved indication is recorded in 53.5% of these reports, against 1.2% of all reports in the database.

95.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 26.2% record death among the outcomes and 20.4% record hospitalisation, as reported. 65.5% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0510Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 8Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 7Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 10Jul 2023: 9Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 4Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 6Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 6Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

049972009: 220092010: 22011: 820112012: 32013: 420132014: 112015: 2520152016: 302017: 2320172018: 952019: 9720192020: 762021: 5820212022: 412023: 6420232024: 392025: 3720252026: 8

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Uvadex reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label53.5%333
  2. Disease progressionthe disease advanced5.6%35
  3. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse5%31
  4. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.8%30
  5. Infectionan infection, type not specified4.7%29
  6. Pulmonary embolisma blood clot in the lung4.7%29
  7. Hypotensionlow blood pressure3.9%24
  8. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3.4%21
  9. Acute graft versus host disease2.9%18
  10. Chronic graft versus host disease2.7%17
  11. Anaemialow red blood cells2.4%15
  12. Deep vein thrombosisa blood clot in a deep vein2.4%15
  13. Nauseafeeling sick2.2%14
  14. Pyrexiafever2.2%14
  15. Thrombosis in devicea blood clot in the device2.2%14
  16. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.1%13
  17. Chest painchest pain1.8%11
  18. Device related infectionan infection related to the device1.8%11
  19. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.8%11
  20. Therapy non-responderthe treatment did not work1.8%11
  21. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.6%10
  22. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.4%9
  23. Pneumonialung infection1.4%9
  24. Covid-19COVID-19 infection1.3%8
  25. Cytomegalovirus infection reactivation1.3%8
  26. Gastrointestinal haemorrhagebleeding in the stomach or bowel1.3%8
  27. Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeseveral organs failing1.3%8

Top 30 of 145 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.2%163
Life-threatening2.2%14
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20.4%127
Disability0.3%2
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious62.4%389
Not serious4.3%27

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.4%9
2 to 116.9%43
12 to 174.5%28
18 to 4416.4%102
45 to 6419.7%123
65 to 748%50
75 and over2.6%16
Age not given40.4%252

Patient sex

Female34.5%215
Male39.8%248
Not given25.7%160

Who reported

Physician24.1%150
Pharmacist0.2%1
Other health professional65.5%408
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional7.7%48
Not given2.6%16

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 36.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Graft versus host disease10516.9%
Chronic graft versus host disease7812.5%
Acute graft versus host disease497.9%
Cutaneous t-cell lymphoma355.6%
Graft versus host disease in gastrointestinal tract182.9%
Mycosis fungoides152.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 623 reports.

In context

MeasureUvadexAll reports
Reports as suspect product62320,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months221,332,454
Marked serious95.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports26291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports204213
Consumer-filed share7.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsProduct use in unapproved indication 53.5%1.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Uvadex reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Uvadex?

623 reports list Uvadex as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 22 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 4 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Uvadex reports?

product use in unapproved indication (53.5%), disease progression (5.6%), condition aggravated (5%), death (4.8%) and infection (4.7%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Uvadex was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

95.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.2% of reports include death and 20.4% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (65.5%), physician (24.1%) and consumer or non-health professional (7.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Uvadex rising?

22 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 42% from 38 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Uvadex was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Uvadex?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Uvadex as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (4) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.