Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Trasylol: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,528 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2022.

3,528
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 157 a year
0
reports, 12 months to June 2026
0 in the 12 months before
99.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
51.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,813 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and October 2022, 3,528 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Trasylol" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (35) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 0 reports listed it, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 157 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded pain (80.6%), renal failure (78.9%) and injury (77%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 246 different terms appear across these reports. Pain is recorded in 80.6% of these reports, against 2.9% of all reports in the database.

99.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 51.4% record death among the outcomes and 29.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 35.4% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (25.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

035Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01,1522,3042004: 3120042005: 952006: 13520062007: 1542008: 6420082009: 2422010: 19220102011: 2,3042012: 24720122013: 22014: 320142016: 12017: 220172019: 42020: 2620202021: 192022: 72022

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Trasylol reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Painpain, site not specified80.6%2,844
  2. Renal failurekidney failure78.9%2,782
  3. Injurya physical injury77%2,715
  4. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed72.6%2,562
  5. Anxietyanxiety72.5%2,557
  6. Fear67%2,363
  7. Renal injury58.2%2,053
  8. Emotional distressemotional distress57.1%2,015
  9. Anhedonia50.4%1,779
  10. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function48.6%1,715
  11. Stressstress47.5%1,675
  12. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term41.4%1,459
  13. Depressionlow mood26.2%925
  14. Myocardial infarctionheart attack6.3%221
  15. Nervousnessnervousness5.6%198
  16. Organ failure5.1%179
  17. Disability4.6%162
  18. Fear of death4.4%155
  19. Post procedural complicationa complication after a procedure2.5%87
  20. Anaphylactic reactiona severe, sudden allergic reaction2.1%75
  21. Hypotensionlow blood pressure2.1%73
  22. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.8%65
  23. Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen1.8%62
  24. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped1.7%59
  25. Cardiogenic shockshock from the heart failing to pump1.7%59

Top 30 of 246 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death51.4%1,813
Life-threatening3%107
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)29.9%1,055
Disability1.7%60
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious90.2%3,182
Not serious0.7%25

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.7%26
2 to 110.4%14
12 to 170.3%11
18 to 444.8%170
45 to 6425.7%907
65 to 7419.1%675
75 and over13.2%466
Age not given35.7%1,259

Patient sex

Female37%1,305
Male58.8%2,074
Not given4.2%149

Who reported

Physician9.7%343
Pharmacist0.6%22
Other health professional28.3%1,000
Lawyer35.4%1,248
Consumer or non-health professional23.8%840
Not given2.1%75

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 94.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Coronary artery bypass1,12031.7%
Aortic valve replacement2085.9%
Cardiac operation1985.6%
Mitral valve replacement1113.1%
Mitral valve repair571.6%
Surgery441.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,528 reports.

In context

MeasureTrasylolAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,52820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months01,332,454
Marked serious99.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports51491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports299213
Consumer-filed share23.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPain 80.6%2.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Trasylol reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Trasylol?

3,528 reports list Trasylol as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 0 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 35 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Trasylol reports?

pain (80.6%), renal failure (78.9%), injury (77%), unevaluable event (72.6%) and anxiety (72.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Trasylol was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 51.4% of reports include death and 29.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

lawyer (35.4%), other health professional (28.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (23.8%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Trasylol rising?

0 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Trasylol was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Trasylol?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Trasylol as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (35) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.