Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Terbutaline sulfate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

751 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Also reported as Terbutaline Sulfate Tablets Usp.

751
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 33 a year
46
reports, 12 months to June 2026
27 in the 12 months before
96.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
54 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 751 adverse event reports received by FDA list terbutaline sulfate, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,061) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 46 reports listed it, up 70% from 27 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 33 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded dyspnoea (37.8%), asthma (35.2%) and wheezing (25.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 361 different terms appear across these reports. Dyspnoea is recorded in 37.8% of these reports, against 2.7% of all reports in the database.

96.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.2% record death among the outcomes and 44.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 30.4% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (21.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0918Jul 2021: 7Aug 2021: 9Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 18Nov 2021: 14Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 10Feb 2022: 17Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 13May 2022: 10Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 9Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 82023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 6Mar 2023: 10Apr 2023: 8May 2023: 13Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 8Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 82024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 6Apr 2024: 18May 2024: 7Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 8Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 12Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0671332004: 920042005: 82006: 192007: 3120072008: 162009: 82010: 1520102011: 62012: 52013: 2020132014: 132015: 72016: 520162017: 322018: 312019: 3920192020: 712021: 1332022: 9920222023: 762024: 522025: 2220252026: 34

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Terbutaline sulfate reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Dyspnoeashortness of breath37.8%284
  2. Asthmaasthma35.2%264
  3. Wheezingwheezing25.3%190
  4. Pneumonialung infection14.5%109
  5. Coughcough13.7%103
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected13.4%101
  7. Fatiguetiredness8.5%64
  8. Nasopharyngitisa cold8%60
  9. Chest discomfortchest discomfort6.9%52
  10. Heart rate increaseda fast heart rate reading6.4%48
  11. Influenzaflu6.3%47
  12. Vomitingbeing sick6.3%47
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness6.1%46
  14. Productive cougha cough with phlegm6%45
  15. Fungal infectiona fungal infection5.9%44
  16. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell5.9%44
  17. Infectionan infection, type not specified5.7%43
  18. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading5.3%40
  19. Painpain, site not specified5.3%40
  20. Tachycardiafast heart rate5.3%40
  21. Rhinitis5.1%38
  22. Therapeutic response decreasedthe medicine worked less well5.1%38
  23. Eosinophil count abnormal4.9%37

Top 30 of 361 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.2%54
Life-threatening9.3%70
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)44.2%332
Disability1.1%8
Congenital anomaly1.9%14
Other serious66.4%499
Not serious3.9%29

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.4%18
2 to 113.9%29
12 to 172.7%20
18 to 4415.8%119
45 to 6416%120
65 to 7410.3%77
75 and over21.4%161
Age not given27.6%207

Patient sex

Female55.1%414
Male34.2%257
Not given10.7%80

Who reported

Physician30.4%228
Pharmacist8.5%64
Other health professional29.3%220
Lawyer0.7%5
Consumer or non-health professional24.2%182
Not given6.9%52

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 14% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Asthma506.7%
Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease293.9%
Premature labour212.8%
Bronchitis182.4%
Lung disorder141.9%
Status asthmaticus141.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 751 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Terbutaline sulfate reports
Ipratropium bromide18024%
Budesonide16822.4%
Mepolizumab15420.5%
Prednisone15420.5%
Tiotropium bromide13618.1%
Albuterol12516.6%
Singulair11915.8%
Budesonide Formoterol Fumarate11815.7%
Albuterol sulfate10714.2%
Symbicort8411.2%

Other products listed in reports where Terbutaline sulfate is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTerbutaline sulfateAll reports
Reports as suspect product75120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months461,332,454
Marked serious96.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports442213
Consumer-filed share24.2%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDyspnoea 37.8%2.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Terbutaline sulfate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Terbutaline sulfate?

751 reports list Terbutaline sulfate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 46 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,061 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Terbutaline sulfate reports?

dyspnoea (37.8%), asthma (35.2%), wheezing (25.3%), loss of personal independence in daily activities (17.7%) and sleep disorder due to a general medical condition (15%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Terbutaline sulfate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

96.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.2% of reports include death and 44.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (30.4%), other health professional (29.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (24.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Terbutaline sulfate rising?

46 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 70% from 27 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Terbutaline sulfate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Terbutaline sulfate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Terbutaline sulfate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,061) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.