Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Brexucabtagene autoleucel

Tecartus: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,368 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026.

1,368
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 235 a year
232
reports, 12 months to June 2026
249 in the 12 months before
94%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
26.8%
record death among outcomes, as reported
366 reports · not verified by FDA

1,368 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Tecartus (brexucabtagene autoleucel) as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2020 to June 2026. A further 6 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 232 reports listed it, close to the 249 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 235 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded cytokine release syndrome (51.3%), immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (34.1%) and neurotoxicity (12.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 205 different terms appear across these reports. Cytokine release syndrome is recorded in 51.3% of these reports, against 0.1% of all reports in the database.

94% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 26.8% record death among the outcomes and 42% record hospitalisation, as reported. 58.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (24.7%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02141Jul 2021: 16Aug 2021: 19Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 19Nov 2021: 13Dec 2021: 152022Jan 2022: 13Feb 2022: 23Mar 2022: 19Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 18Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 25Aug 2022: 15Sep 2022: 22Oct 2022: 20Nov 2022: 26Dec 2022: 252023Jan 2023: 20Feb 2023: 25Mar 2023: 28Apr 2023: 15May 2023: 28Jun 2023: 27Jul 2023: 16Aug 2023: 21Sep 2023: 29Oct 2023: 30Nov 2023: 33Dec 2023: 212024Jan 2024: 28Feb 2024: 21Mar 2024: 31Apr 2024: 35May 2024: 37Jun 2024: 41Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 28Sep 2024: 25Oct 2024: 19Nov 2024: 30Dec 2024: 212025Jan 2025: 23Feb 2025: 19Mar 2025: 19Apr 2025: 21May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 12Jul 2025: 17Aug 2025: 15Sep 2025: 26Oct 2025: 16Nov 2025: 20Dec 2025: 282026Jan 2026: 13Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 35Apr 2026: 22May 2026: 16Jun 2026: 16

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01703402020: 2320202021: 14820212022: 23020222023: 29320232024: 34020242025: 22420252026: 1102026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tecartus reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term12.5%171
  2. Pyrexiafever5.8%79
  3. Disease progressionthe disease advanced4.9%67
  4. Fatiguetiredness4.9%67
  5. Hypotensionlow blood pressure4.8%65
  6. Confusional stateconfusion3.7%50
  7. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3%41
  8. Tremorshaking3%41
  9. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.9%40
  10. Tachycardiafast heart rate2.8%38
  11. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell2.3%32
  12. Aphasiadifficulty with language2.3%31
  13. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.2%30
  14. Headachehead pain2%27
  15. Hypoxialow oxygen1.9%26
  16. Thrombocytopenialow platelets1.9%26
  17. Decreased appetitereduced appetite1.8%25
  18. Mantle cell lymphoma1.8%24
  19. Memory impairmentmemory problems1.8%24
  20. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.7%23
  21. Nauseafeeling sick1.7%23
  22. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection1.7%23
  23. Cytopenia1.6%22
  24. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.6%22
  25. Seizurea fit or convulsion1.6%22

Top 30 of 205 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death26.8%366
Life-threatening7.9%108
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)42%575
Disability1.9%26
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious75.3%1,030
Not serious6%82

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 110.1%1
12 to 170%0
18 to 4410.1%138
45 to 6424.7%338
65 to 7423.4%320
75 and over10%137
Age not given31.7%433

Patient sex

Female22.7%311
Male55.2%755
Not given22.1%302

Who reported

Physician26.8%366
Pharmacist3.4%47
Other health professional58.3%797
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional9.5%130
Not given2%28

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 64.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Mantle cell lymphoma51737.8%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia19514.3%
B-cell type acute leukaemia463.4%
Mantle cell lymphoma recurrent211.5%
Diffuse large b-cell lymphoma201.5%
Mantle cell lymphoma refractory201.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,368 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Tecartus reports
Cyclophosphamide1299.4%
Fludarabine906.6%
Acyclovir705.1%
Dexamethasone604.4%
Allopurinol564.1%
Pantoprazole483.5%
Rituximab473.4%
Acetaminophen413%
Ondansetron413%
Fluconazole402.9%

Other products listed in reports where Tecartus is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureTecartusAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,36820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2321,332,454
Marked serious94%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports26891
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports420213
Consumer-filed share9.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsCytokine release syndrome 51.3%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Tecartus reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tecartus?

1,368 reports list Tecartus as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 232 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 6 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tecartus reports?

cytokine release syndrome (51.3%), immune effector cell-associated neurotoxicity syndrome (34.1%), neurotoxicity (12.6%), death (12.5%) and pyrexia (5.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tecartus was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 26.8% of reports include death and 42% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (58.3%), physician (26.8%) and consumer or non-health professional (9.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tecartus rising?

232 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 249 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tecartus was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tecartus?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tecartus as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (6) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.