Reported Reactions

Drugs › Complement 5a receptor antagonist

Brand name · Avacopan

Tavneos: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,627 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2022–2026. Class: Complement 5a receptor antagonist. Also reported as Tavneos 10mg.

5,627
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 1,252 a year
1,884
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,203 in the 12 months before
70.7%
marked serious by the reporter
72.8% across the class
9.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
527 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2022 and June 2026, 5,627 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Tavneos (avacopan) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (61) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1,884 reports listed it, up 57% from 1,203 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 1,252 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 90.8% of the reports for the complement 5a receptor antagonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded hospitalisation (16%), death (5.9%) and therapy interrupted (5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 614 different terms appear across these reports. Hospitalisation is recorded in 16% of these reports, a larger share than in the median complement 5a receptor antagonist drug (10.5%).

70.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (72.8% across the class); 9.4% record death among the outcomes and 46.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 33.8% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (22.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0169337Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 9Feb 2022: 7Mar 2022: 6Apr 2022: 63May 2022: 13Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 113Aug 2022: 27Sep 2022: 14Oct 2022: 129Nov 2022: 29Dec 2022: 232023Jan 2023: 207Feb 2023: 33Mar 2023: 52Apr 2023: 337May 2023: 149Jun 2023: 139Jul 2023: 106Aug 2023: 121Sep 2023: 100Oct 2023: 110Nov 2023: 103Dec 2023: 1022024Jan 2024: 120Feb 2024: 85Mar 2024: 82Apr 2024: 83May 2024: 90Jun 2024: 75Jul 2024: 83Aug 2024: 72Sep 2024: 91Oct 2024: 116Nov 2024: 93Dec 2024: 722025Jan 2025: 105Feb 2025: 118Mar 2025: 103Apr 2025: 122May 2025: 113Jun 2025: 115Jul 2025: 96Aug 2025: 107Sep 2025: 119Oct 2025: 149Nov 2025: 127Dec 2025: 1522026Jan 2026: 151Feb 2026: 178Mar 2026: 203Apr 2026: 195May 2026: 189Jun 2026: 218

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

07801,5592022: 44620222023: 1,55920232024: 1,06220242025: 1,42620252026: 1,1342026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Tavneos reports recording the termmedian drug in complement 5a receptor antagonist

  1. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital16%900
  2. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.9%334
  3. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.1%232
  4. Fatiguetiredness4.1%230
  5. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.1%229
  6. Nauseafeeling sick4%224
  7. Pneumonialung infection3.4%194
  8. Headachehead pain2.9%161
  9. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed2.6%148
  10. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.5%138
  11. Dialysisdialysis2.3%130
  12. Rashskin rash2%115
  13. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.9%108
  14. Illness1.8%103
  15. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed1.8%102
  16. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.8%101
  17. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.7%98
  18. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.7%96
  19. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.6%90
  20. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort1.6%89
  21. Vomitingbeing sick1.5%85
  22. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes1.5%84
  23. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.3%73
  24. Pruritusitching1.3%71
  25. Falla fall1.2%70
  26. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain1.2%66

Top 30 of 614 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 2 drugs in the complement 5a receptor antagonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9.4%527
Life-threatening1.5%82
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)46.1%2,596
Disability0.4%22
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious23.3%1,309
Not serious29.3%1,647

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 6,196 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%12
2 to 110.1%6
12 to 170.5%27
18 to 448.2%459
45 to 6420.7%1,162
65 to 7418.1%1,017
75 and over22.4%1,258
Age not given30%1,686

Patient sex

Female43.6%2,454
Male32.8%1,843
Not given23.6%1,330

Who reported

Physician21.1%1,185
Pharmacist5.6%315
Other health professional13.1%737
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional33.8%1,900
Not given26.5%1,490

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 76% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Granulomatosis with polyangiitis96017.1%
Anti-neutrophil cytoplasmic antibody positive vasculitis88715.8%
Microscopic polyangiitis68712.2%
Vasculitis891.6%
Arteritis761.4%
Antineutrophil cytoplasmic antibody641.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,627 reports.

In context

MeasureTavneosComplement 5a receptor antagonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,6276,19620,646,523
Share of that pool—90.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months1,884—1,332,454
Marked serious70.7%72.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9410191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports461458213
Consumer-filed share33.8%32.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsHospitalisation 16%median 10.5%0.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the complement 5a receptor antagonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Avacopangeneric56920793.7%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Tavneos reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Tavneos?

5,627 reports list Tavneos as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1,884 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 61 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Tavneos reports?

hospitalisation (16%), death (5.9%), therapy interrupted (5%), diarrhoea (4.1%) and fatigue (4.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Tavneos was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

70.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9.4% of reports include death and 46.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (33.8%), not given (26.5%) and physician (21.1%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Tavneos rising?

1,884 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 57% from 1,203 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Tavneos was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Tavneos?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Tavneos as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (61) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.