Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

709 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2020–2026.

709
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 115 a year
398
reports, 12 months to June 2026
284 in the 12 months before
99.3%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
54.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
385 reports · not verified by FDA

709 adverse event reports received by FDA list sodium zirconium cyclosilicate, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from May 2020 to June 2026. A further 176 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 398 reports listed it, up 40% from 284 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 115 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (50.5%), end stage renal disease (4.7%) and blood potassium increased (3.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 109 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 50.5% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

99.3% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 54.3% record death among the outcomes and 20.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 58.1% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (16.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

02243Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 21Nov 2024: 33Dec 2024: 402025Jan 2025: 39Feb 2025: 30Mar 2025: 32Apr 2025: 34May 2025: 29Jun 2025: 25Jul 2025: 32Aug 2025: 25Sep 2025: 27Oct 2025: 43Nov 2025: 36Dec 2025: 312026Jan 2026: 24Feb 2026: 41Mar 2026: 40Apr 2026: 31May 2026: 40Jun 2026: 28

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01923832020: 320202021: 120212022: 820222023: 920232024: 10120242025: 38320252026: 2042026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term50.5%358
  2. End stage renal diseasekidney failure needing dialysis or transplant4.7%33
  3. Chronic kidney diseaselong-term kidney disease3.2%23
  4. Renal failurekidney failure3.1%22
  5. Hyperkalaemiahigh blood potassium2.3%16
  6. Blindnessloss of sight2%14
  7. Pneumonialung infection2%14
  8. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used2%14
  9. Renal impairmentreduced kidney function1.8%13
  10. Falla fall1.7%12
  11. Vomitingbeing sick1.7%12
  12. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools1.6%11
  13. Blood potassium abnormal1.4%10
  14. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure1.4%10
  15. Diabetes mellitusdiabetes1.3%9
  16. Anaemialow red blood cells1.1%8
  17. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy1.1%8
  18. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1%7
  19. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed1%7
  20. Pyrexiafever1%7
  21. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm0.8%6
  22. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin0.8%6
  23. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified0.8%6
  24. Visual impairmentreduced vision0.8%6
  25. Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test0.7%5

Top 30 of 109 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death54.3%385
Life-threatening1.6%11
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)20.3%144
Disability1.4%10
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious54%383
Not serious0.7%5

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 442.7%19
45 to 6410.4%74
65 to 748.9%63
75 and over16.2%115
Age not given61.8%438

Patient sex

Female35%248
Male60.1%426
Not given4.9%35

Who reported

Physician20.6%146
Pharmacist1.8%13
Other health professional19.2%136
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional58.1%412
Not given0.3%2

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 74.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hyperkalaemia12617.8%
Blood potassium increased91.3%
Tumour lysis syndrome20.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 709 reports.

In context

MeasureSodium zirconium cyclosilicateAll reports
Reports as suspect product70920,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months3981,332,454
Marked serious99.3%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports54391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports203213
Consumer-filed share58.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 50.5%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate?

709 reports list Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 398 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 176 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate reports?

death (50.5%), end stage renal disease (4.7%), blood potassium increased (3.5%), chronic kidney disease (3.2%) and renal failure (3.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

99.3% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 54.3% of reports include death and 20.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (58.1%), physician (20.6%) and other health professional (19.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate rising?

398 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 40% from 284 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Sodium zirconium cyclosilicate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (176) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.