Reported Reactions

Drugs › beta2-Adrenergic agonist

Generic name

Salmeterol xinafoate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

2,557 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026. Class: beta2-Adrenergic agonist.

2,557
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 114 a year
48
reports, 12 months to June 2026
56 in the 12 months before
53.5%
marked serious by the reporter
40.5% across the class
17.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
453 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2004 and June 2026, 2,557 adverse event reports received by FDA list salmeterol xinafoate, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (3,098) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 48 reports listed it, down 14% from 56 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 114 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database, and 2.8% of the reports for the beta2-Adrenergic agonist class. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are drug ineffective (22.9%), dyspnoea (18%) and asthma (16.6%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 504 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 22.9% of these reports, a larger share than in the median beta2-Adrenergic agonist drug (16.3%).

53.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter (40.5% across the class); 17.7% record death among the outcomes and 21% record hospitalisation, as reported. 66.6% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (19.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0815Jul 2021: 9Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 12Feb 2022: 8Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 7Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 6Nov 2022: 8Dec 2022: 52023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 8Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 4Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 9May 2024: 15Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 6Sep 2024: 11Oct 2024: 14Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 11Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 11Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 3Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 7May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02114212004: 42120042005: 3062006: 2022007: 18020072008: 1722009: 2222010: 16620102011: 1082012: 622013: 9520132014: 1362015: 352016: 620162017: 22018: 82019: 2920192020: 592021: 772022: 6220222023: 692024: 802025: 3520252026: 25

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Salmeterol xinafoate reports recording the termmedian drug in beta2-adrenergic agonist

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected22.9%586
  2. Dyspnoeashortness of breath18%460
  3. Asthmaasthma16.6%424
  4. Coughcough9.2%235
  5. Wheezingwheezing7.7%197
  6. Chest discomfortchest discomfort7.3%186
  7. Product quality issuea problem with the product itself6.1%156
  8. Headachehead pain6.1%155
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.6%143
  10. Chest painchest pain5.1%130
  11. Dysphoniaa hoarse voice4.9%125
  12. Pneumonialung infection4.3%111
  13. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine3.9%99
  14. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.7%94
  15. Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseCOPD, a long-term lung disease3.6%91
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.5%89
  17. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.3%84
  18. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse3.2%83
  19. Myalgiamuscle pain3%77
  20. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label3%76
  21. Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps2.9%75
  22. Nauseafeeling sick2.9%73
  23. Painpain, site not specified2.9%73
  24. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.7%69
  25. Dry mouthdry mouth2.7%69
  26. Weight decreasedweight loss2.6%67
  27. Constipationconstipation2.5%65
  28. Arthritis2.5%64

Top 30 of 504 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the median share across the 7 drugs in the beta2-adrenergic agonist class; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death17.7%453
Life-threatening4.3%109
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)21%536
Disability5.9%151
Congenital anomaly1.3%32
Other serious30%767
Not serious46.5%1,188

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 91,817 reports in the class. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 111.6%40
12 to 171%26
18 to 446.8%175
45 to 6419.6%501
65 to 7415.7%401
75 and over17.2%440
Age not given38.1%973

Patient sex

Female61%1,559
Male33.5%857
Not given5.5%141

Who reported

Physician9.5%243
Pharmacist3.4%86
Other health professional16.9%433
Lawyer2%50
Consumer or non-health professional66.6%1,704
Not given1.6%41

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 51.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Asthma89535%
Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease26810.5%
Ill-defined disorder823.2%
Emphysema471.8%
Chronic obstructive airways disease100.4%
Eosinophilic granulomatosis with polyangiitis100.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 2,557 reports.

In context

MeasureSalmeterol xinafoatebeta2-Adrenergic agonistAll reports
Reports as suspect product2,55791,81720,646,523
Share of that pool—2.8%0%
Reports, latest 12 months48—1,332,454
Marked serious53.5%40.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1774691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports210192213
Consumer-filed share66.6%73.9%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 22.9%median 16.3%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Other drugs in the beta2-adrenergic agonist class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked serious
Albuterol sulfategeneric44,7774,20936.7%
Ventolin Hfabrand22,69044620.2%
Albuterolgeneric17,8072,40172.9%
Formoterol fumarategeneric1,6398196.9%
ProAir RespiClickbrand1,61159.1%
Levalbuterol tartrategeneric7362055.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." A brand and its generic are separate rows because reporters name them separately.

Questions about Salmeterol xinafoate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Salmeterol xinafoate?

2,557 reports list Salmeterol xinafoate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 48 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,098 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Salmeterol xinafoate reports?

drug ineffective (22.9%), dyspnoea (18%), asthma (16.6%), cough (9.2%) and pharmaceutical product complaint (7.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Salmeterol xinafoate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

53.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 17.7% of reports include death and 21% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (66.6%), other health professional (16.9%) and physician (9.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Salmeterol xinafoate rising?

48 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 14% from 56 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Salmeterol xinafoate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Salmeterol xinafoate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Salmeterol xinafoate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,098) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.