Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Propoxyphene: adverse event reports filed with FDA

514 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

514
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 23 a year
9
reports, 12 months to June 2026
5 in the 12 months before
73.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
58.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
299 reports · not verified by FDA

514 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Propoxyphene" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2004 to February 2026. A further 467 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 9 reports listed it, up 80% from 5 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 23 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug hypersensitivity (24.3%), toxicity to various agents (19.8%) and completed suicide (16.3%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 144 different terms appear across these reports. Drug hypersensitivity is recorded in 24.3% of these reports, against 0.9% of all reports in the database.

73.7% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 58.2% record death among the outcomes and 10.9% record hospitalisation, as reported. 39.5% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (30.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

024Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 42022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

037732004: 2220042005: 82006: 32007: 320072008: 132009: 122010: 1320102011: 312012: 92013: 7320132014: 532015: 312016: 2520162017: 432018: 372019: 4820192020: 312021: 152022: 1320222023: 122024: 82025: 920252026: 2

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Propoxyphene reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine24.3%125
  2. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances19.8%102
  3. Completed suicidedeath by suicide16.3%84
  4. Drug abusemisuse of a medicine13.6%70
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.4%38
  6. Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped6.4%33
  7. Cardio-respiratory arrestthe heart and breathing stopped6.4%33
  8. Overdosea dose above the recommended amount6.4%33
  9. Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped5.8%30
  10. Drug dependencedependence on a medicine3.3%17
  11. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines2.9%15
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.7%14
  13. Painpain, site not specified2.5%13
  14. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.3%12
  15. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.1%11
  16. Constipationconstipation2.1%11
  17. Nauseafeeling sick2.1%11
  18. Anaemialow red blood cells1.9%10
  19. Chronic sinusitis1.9%10
  20. Colitisinflamed bowel1.9%10
  21. Dyspepsiaindigestion1.9%10
  22. Erythemaskin redness1.9%10
  23. Female genital tract fistula1.9%10
  24. Haematocheziablood in the stool1.9%10
  25. Headachehead pain1.9%10
  26. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion1.9%10
  27. Injurya physical injury1.9%10

Top 30 of 144 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death58.2%299
Life-threatening1.2%6
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)10.9%56
Disability0.8%4
Congenital anomaly1.8%9
Other serious24.7%127
Not serious26.3%135

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.2%1
2 to 110%0
12 to 171.2%6
18 to 4421.4%110
45 to 6430.2%155
65 to 7418.9%97
75 and over4.5%23
Age not given23.7%122

Patient sex

Female55.8%287
Male29.4%151
Not given14.8%76

Who reported

Physician39.5%203
Pharmacist8.4%43
Other health professional33.3%171
Lawyer2.1%11
Consumer or non-health professional10.7%55
Not given6%31

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Pain81.6%
Drug abuse20.4%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 514 reports.

In context

MeasurePropoxypheneAll reports
Reports as suspect product51420,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months91,332,454
Marked serious73.7%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports58291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports109213
Consumer-filed share10.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug hypersensitivity 24.3%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Propoxyphene reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Propoxyphene?

514 reports list Propoxyphene as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 9 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 467 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Propoxyphene reports?

drug hypersensitivity (24.3%), toxicity to various agents (19.8%), completed suicide (16.3%), drug abuse (13.6%) and death (7.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Propoxyphene was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

73.7% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 58.2% of reports include death and 10.9% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (39.5%), other health professional (33.3%) and consumer or non-health professional (10.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Propoxyphene rising?

9 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 80% from 5 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Propoxyphene was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Propoxyphene?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Propoxyphene as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (467) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.