Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Ponatinib: adverse event reports filed with FDA

6,382 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2013–2026.

6,382
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 473 a year
488
reports, 12 months to June 2026
590 in the 12 months before
94.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
27.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
1,746 reports · not verified by FDA

Between January 2013 and June 2026, 6,382 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Ponatinib" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (500) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 488 reports listed it, down 17% from 590 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 473 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are death (17.6%), product dose omission issue (12.9%) and off label use (12.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 1,095 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 17.6% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

94.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 27.4% record death among the outcomes and 47.3% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (21.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

04181Jul 2021: 57Aug 2021: 52Sep 2021: 65Oct 2021: 51Nov 2021: 56Dec 2021: 542022Jan 2022: 57Feb 2022: 46Mar 2022: 57Apr 2022: 40May 2022: 39Jun 2022: 42Jul 2022: 37Aug 2022: 58Sep 2022: 56Oct 2022: 59Nov 2022: 45Dec 2022: 522023Jan 2023: 41Feb 2023: 43Mar 2023: 32Apr 2023: 43May 2023: 37Jun 2023: 51Jul 2023: 42Aug 2023: 48Sep 2023: 52Oct 2023: 43Nov 2023: 63Dec 2023: 572024Jan 2024: 54Feb 2024: 53Mar 2024: 66Apr 2024: 56May 2024: 67Jun 2024: 61Jul 2024: 76Aug 2024: 81Sep 2024: 41Oct 2024: 48Nov 2024: 46Dec 2024: 352025Jan 2025: 41Feb 2025: 70Mar 2025: 39Apr 2025: 45May 2025: 31Jun 2025: 37Jul 2025: 62Aug 2025: 38Sep 2025: 47Oct 2025: 36Nov 2025: 48Dec 2025: 332026Jan 2026: 43Feb 2026: 45Mar 2026: 48Apr 2026: 48May 2026: 14Jun 2026: 26

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03937852013: 12520132014: 1102015: 13120152016: 1282017: 31320172018: 7852019: 75120192020: 7392021: 72520212022: 5882023: 55220232024: 6842025: 52720252026: 224

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Ponatinib reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.6%1,122
  2. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed12.9%822
  3. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label12.4%793
  4. Fatiguetiredness7.9%505
  5. Rashskin rash7.3%466
  6. Headachehead pain6.2%397
  7. Pyrexiafever5.8%372
  8. Nauseafeeling sick5.6%356
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.1%323
  10. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital5%317
  11. Constipationconstipation4.8%304
  12. Dry skindry skin4.5%286
  13. Arthralgiajoint pain4.4%283
  14. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count4.4%279
  15. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading4.2%268
  16. Painpain, site not specified4.1%262
  17. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.7%236
  18. Chronic myeloid leukaemia3.7%233
  19. Dyspnoeashortness of breath3.6%229
  20. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy3.4%219
  21. Pneumonialung infection3.4%217
  22. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.4%215
  23. Thrombocytopenialow platelets3.1%201
  24. Acute lymphocytic leukaemia recurrent3.1%200
  25. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain3.1%197
  26. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used3.1%195
  27. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3%192
  28. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg3%192
  29. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated2.9%187
  30. Vomitingbeing sick2.9%183

Top 30 of 1,095 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death27.4%1,746
Life-threatening2.5%159
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)47.3%3,019
Disability1.3%80
Congenital anomaly0.1%4
Other serious67.7%4,320
Not serious5.4%346

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.7%42
12 to 170.9%55
18 to 4414.3%910
45 to 6421.5%1,373
65 to 7411.9%758
75 and over7.8%498
Age not given43%2,746

Patient sex

Female42.4%2,708
Male51.8%3,309
Not given5.7%365

Who reported

Physician32.2%2,052
Pharmacist1.5%98
Other health professional15.2%972
Lawyer0%1
Consumer or non-health professional48.3%3,083
Not given2.8%176

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 64.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Chronic myeloid leukaemia2,44838.4%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia1,43322.5%
Philadelphia positive acute lymphocytic leukaemia3004.7%
Acute myeloid leukaemia1402.2%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia recurrent791.2%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia (in remission)731.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 6,382 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Ponatinib reports
Dasatinib4767.5%
Aspirin4356.8%
Cytarabine4236.6%
Dexamethasone3826%
Acyclovir3735.8%
Methotrexate3655.7%
Imatinib3475.4%
Allopurinol3124.9%
Nilotinib2914.6%
Cyclophosphamide2884.5%

Other products listed in reports where Ponatinib is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasurePonatinibAll reports
Reports as suspect product6,38220,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months4881,332,454
Marked serious94.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports27491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports473213
Consumer-filed share48.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 17.6%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Ponatinib reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Ponatinib?

6,382 reports list Ponatinib as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 488 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 500 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Ponatinib reports?

death (17.6%), product dose omission issue (12.9%), off label use (12.4%), fatigue (7.9%) and rash (7.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Ponatinib was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 27.4% of reports include death and 47.3% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (48.3%), physician (32.2%) and other health professional (15.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Ponatinib rising?

488 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 17% from 590 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Ponatinib was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Ponatinib?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Ponatinib as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (500) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.