Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Peg/L-Asparaginase: adverse event reports filed with FDA

801 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026.

801
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 58 a year
71
reports, 12 months to June 2026
78 in the 12 months before
97.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
19.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
155 reports · not verified by FDA

801 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Peg/L-Asparaginase" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2012 to May 2026. A further 234 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 71 reports listed it, close to the 78 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 58 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are febrile neutropenia (10.7%), off label use (9.5%) and thrombocytopenia (5.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 297 different terms appear across these reports. Febrile neutropenia is recorded in 10.7% of these reports, against 0.3% of all reports in the database.

97.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 19.4% record death among the outcomes and 43.1% record hospitalisation, as reported. 55.7% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 2 to 11 (26.8%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01223Jul 2021: 1Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 10May 2022: 9Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 13Aug 2022: 13Sep 2022: 7Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 162023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 7May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 23Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 17Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 12Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 18May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 15Jul 2024: 23Aug 2024: 17Sep 2024: 8Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 82025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 9Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 23Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 12Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 3Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0581162012: 520122013: 32014: 2320142015: 352016: 4020162017: 632018: 3720182019: 672020: 9620202021: 232022: 10520222023: 1022024: 11620242025: 682026: 182026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Peg/L-Asparaginase reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells10.7%86
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.5%76
  3. Thrombocytopenialow platelets5.9%47
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.1%41
  5. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell5.1%41
  6. Steroid diabetes3.9%31
  7. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.6%29
  8. Infectionan infection, type not specified3.5%28
  9. Pneumonialung infection3.5%28
  10. Seizurea fit or convulsion3.4%27
  11. Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3.2%26
  12. Vomitingbeing sick3.2%26
  13. Neuropathy peripheralnerve damage in hands or feet3.1%25
  14. Hepatotoxicityliver injury3%24
  15. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3%24
  16. Anaemialow red blood cells2.7%22
  17. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function2.4%19
  18. Nauseafeeling sick2.4%19
  19. Pyrexiafever2.4%19
  20. Septic shockshock arising from infection2.4%19
  21. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.1%17
  22. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines2.1%17
  23. Headachehead pain2.1%17
  24. Hepatopulmonary syndrome2%16

Top 30 of 297 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death19.4%155
Life-threatening13.4%107
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)43.1%345
Disability1%8
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious68.8%551
Not serious2.2%18

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 21.5%12
2 to 1126.8%215
12 to 1716.7%134
18 to 4418.5%148
45 to 647%56
65 to 741%8
75 and over0.2%2
Age not given28.2%226

Patient sex

Female28.6%229
Male42.3%339
Not given29.1%233

Who reported

Physician36%288
Pharmacist2.9%23
Other health professional55.7%446
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional3.5%28
Not given2%16

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 43.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia33241.4%
B-cell type acute leukaemia759.4%
B precursor type acute leukaemia668.2%
T-cell type acute leukaemia556.9%
Acute lymphocytic leukaemia recurrent374.6%
Chemotherapy212.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 801 reports.

In context

MeasurePeg/L-AsparaginaseAll reports
Reports as suspect product80120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months711,332,454
Marked serious97.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports19491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports431213
Consumer-filed share3.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsFebrile neutropenia 10.7%0.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Peg/L-Asparaginase reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Peg/L-Asparaginase?

801 reports list Peg/L-Asparaginase as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 71 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 234 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Peg/L-Asparaginase reports?

febrile neutropenia (10.7%), off label use (9.5%), thrombocytopenia (5.9%), drug ineffective (5.1%) and neutropenia (5.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Peg/L-Asparaginase was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

97.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 19.4% of reports include death and 43.1% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (55.7%), physician (36%) and consumer or non-health professional (3.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Peg/L-Asparaginase rising?

71 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 78 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Peg/L-Asparaginase was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Peg/L-Asparaginase?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Peg/L-Asparaginase as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (234) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.