Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Panobinostat: adverse event reports filed with FDA

568 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2010–2026.

568
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 35 a year
6
reports, 12 months to June 2026
24 in the 12 months before
94%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
33.3%
record death among outcomes, as reported
189 reports · not verified by FDA

Between May 2010 and April 2026, 568 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Panobinostat" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (113) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 6 reports listed it, down 75% from 24 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 35 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are plasma cell myeloma (23.4%), diarrhoea (15.1%) and fatigue (10.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 203 different terms appear across these reports. Plasma cell myeloma is recorded in 23.4% of these reports, against 0.2% of all reports in the database.

94% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 33.3% record death among the outcomes and 31% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (21%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0714Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 9Oct 2022: 11Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 102023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 8Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 14Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 42025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

039772010: 420102011: 92012: 2520122013: 112014: 920142015: 422016: 5420162017: 532018: 5520182019: 772020: 6120202021: 232022: 5520222023: 532024: 1820242025: 162026: 32026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Panobinostat reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools15.1%86
  2. Fatiguetiredness10.2%58
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.9%56
  4. Thrombocytopenialow platelets9.3%53
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term8.6%49
  6. Disease progressionthe disease advanced6.5%37
  7. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.2%35
  8. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label5.5%31
  9. Nauseafeeling sick4.8%27
  10. Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells3.9%22
  11. Vomitingbeing sick3.9%22
  12. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function3.7%21
  13. Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm3.5%20
  14. Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell3.3%19
  15. Pyrexiafever3.3%19
  16. Cytopenia3.2%18
  17. Pneumonialung infection3.2%18
  18. Anaemialow red blood cells3%17
  19. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended3%17
  20. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.8%16
  21. Infectionan infection, type not specified2.5%14
  22. Tremorshaking2.5%14
  23. Arthralgiajoint pain2.3%13
  24. Coughcough2.3%13
  25. Candida infectionthrush, a yeast infection2.1%12
  26. Disease recurrencethe disease came back2.1%12
  27. Haemorrhagebleeding2.1%12
  28. Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2.1%12

Top 30 of 203 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death33.3%189
Life-threatening7.4%42
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)31%176
Disability0.4%2
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious66.7%379
Not serious6%34

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 111.9%11
12 to 170.7%4
18 to 446.5%37
45 to 6421%119
65 to 7412.3%70
75 and over6.3%36
Age not given51.2%291

Patient sex

Female30.5%173
Male30.3%172
Not given39.3%223

Who reported

Physician44.9%255
Pharmacist0.9%5
Other health professional46.3%263
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional6.5%37
Not given1.4%8

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 38.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Plasma cell myeloma29051.1%
Plasma cell myeloma refractory417.2%
Acute myeloid leukaemia193.3%
Brain stem glioma61.1%
Graft versus host disease61.1%
Glioblastoma50.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 568 reports.

In context

MeasurePanobinostatAll reports
Reports as suspect product56820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months61,332,454
Marked serious94%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports33391
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports310213
Consumer-filed share6.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPlasma cell myeloma 23.4%0.2%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Panobinostat reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Panobinostat?

568 reports list Panobinostat as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 6 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 113 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Panobinostat reports?

plasma cell myeloma (23.4%), diarrhoea (15.1%), fatigue (10.2%), drug ineffective (9.9%) and thrombocytopenia (9.3%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Panobinostat was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

94% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 33.3% of reports include death and 31% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (46.3%), physician (44.9%) and consumer or non-health professional (6.5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Panobinostat rising?

6 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 75% from 24 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Panobinostat was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Panobinostat?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Panobinostat as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (113) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.