Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Omega-3-acid ethyl esters: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,047 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2008–2026.

1,047
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 58 a year
18
reports, 12 months to June 2026
19 in the 12 months before
79.1%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
3.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
38 reports · not verified by FDA

1,047 adverse event reports received by FDA list omega-3-acid ethyl esters, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from June 2008 to June 2026. A further 612 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 18 reports listed it, close to the 19 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 58 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are product odour abnormal (8.8%), chest pain (5.9%) and poor quality product administered (4.5%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 222 different terms appear across these reports. Product odour abnormal is recorded in 8.8% of these reports, against 0% of all reports in the database.

79.1% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 3.6% record death among the outcomes and 58.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 57.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (32.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0815Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 15Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 32022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 4May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 6Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 9Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 3Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 52026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02545072008: 220082009: 22010: 320102011: 12013: 1020132014: 262015: 50720152016: 652017: 6020172018: 602019: 8920192020: 682021: 4120212022: 222023: 3320232024: 312025: 2120252026: 6

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Omega-3-acid ethyl esters reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Product odour abnormalthe product smelt odd8.8%92
  2. Chest painchest pain5.9%62
  3. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell4.2%44
  4. Nauseafeeling sick3.1%32
  5. Coma2.9%30
  6. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.9%30
  7. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label2.9%30
  8. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort2.8%29
  9. Pneumonia aspirationlung infection from breathing in material2.8%29
  10. Somnolencedrowsiness2.8%29
  11. Product taste abnormalthe product tasted odd2.6%27
  12. Cataractclouding of the eye lens2.5%26
  13. Underdoseless than the intended dose2.5%26
  14. Arteriogram coronary2.4%25
  15. Painpain, site not specified2.2%23
  16. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2.1%22
  17. Product physical issuea physical defect in the product2.1%22
  18. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%20
  19. Product substitution issuea problem after switching products1.9%20
  20. Hernia1.8%19
  21. Product quality issuea problem with the product itself1.8%19
  22. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse1.7%18
  23. Diabetes mellitusdiabetes1.7%18
  24. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital1.7%18
  25. Neoplasm malignanta cancer, type not specified1.4%15

Top 30 of 222 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death3.6%38
Life-threatening2%21
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)58.6%614
Disability1%10
Congenital anomaly0.1%1
Other serious45.3%474
Not serious20.9%219

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 110.3%3
12 to 170.3%3
18 to 445.6%59
45 to 6432.4%339
65 to 7414.4%151
75 and over16.3%171
Age not given30.6%320

Patient sex

Female33.6%352
Male54.7%573
Not given11.7%122

Who reported

Physician57.7%604
Pharmacist8.3%87
Other health professional9%94
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional24.1%252
Not given1%10

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 26.1% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Ischaemic heart disease prophylaxis40038.2%
Hyperlipidaemia13312.7%
Hypertriglyceridaemia252.4%
Dyslipidaemia212%
Blood cholesterol increased191.8%
Blood triglycerides increased171.6%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,047 reports.

In context

MeasureOmega-3-acid ethyl estersAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,04720,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months181,332,454
Marked serious79.1%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports3691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports586213
Consumer-filed share24.1%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsProduct odour abnormal 8.8%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Omega-3-acid ethyl esters reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Omega-3-acid ethyl esters?

1,047 reports list Omega-3-acid ethyl esters as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 18 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 612 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Omega-3-acid ethyl esters reports?

product odour abnormal (8.8%), chest pain (5.9%), poor quality product administered (4.5%), malaise (4.2%) and gastrooesophageal reflux disease (3.1%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Omega-3-acid ethyl esters was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

79.1% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 3.6% of reports include death and 58.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (57.7%), consumer or non-health professional (24.1%) and other health professional (9%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Omega-3-acid ethyl esters rising?

18 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 19 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Omega-3-acid ethyl esters was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Omega-3-acid ethyl esters?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Omega-3-acid ethyl esters as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (612) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.