Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Perfluorohexyloctane

Miebo: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,413 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2023–2026.

1,413
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 446 a year
707
reports, 12 months to June 2026
502 in the 12 months before
34%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
104 reports · not verified by FDA

Between May 2023 and June 2026, 1,413 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Miebo (perfluorohexyloctane) as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (482) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 707 reports listed it, up 41% from 502 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 446 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded inappropriate schedule of product administration (17.7%), vision blurred (14.7%) and product use issue (12.8%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 235 different terms appear across these reports. Inappropriate schedule of product administration is recorded in 17.7% of these reports, against 0.8% of all reports in the database.

34% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.4% record death among the outcomes and 8.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 80.7% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (26.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

03774Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 12Nov 2023: 24Dec 2023: 242024Jan 2024: 22Feb 2024: 30Mar 2024: 32Apr 2024: 17May 2024: 20Jun 2024: 22Jul 2024: 30Aug 2024: 23Sep 2024: 11Oct 2024: 29Nov 2024: 32Dec 2024: 372025Jan 2025: 52Feb 2025: 41Mar 2025: 62Apr 2025: 71May 2025: 57Jun 2025: 57Jul 2025: 53Aug 2025: 64Sep 2025: 50Oct 2025: 52Nov 2025: 53Dec 2025: 632026Jan 2026: 48Feb 2026: 56Mar 2026: 74Apr 2026: 64May 2026: 72Jun 2026: 58

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

03386752023: 6120232024: 30520242025: 67520252026: 3722026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Miebo reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times17.7%250
  2. Vision blurredblurred vision14.7%208
  3. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used12.8%181
  4. Product delivery mechanism issue12.5%177
  5. Eye irritationeye irritation11.5%163
  6. Circumstance or information capable of leading to medication errora situation that could lead to a medication error10%141
  7. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.9%112
  8. Ocular hyperaemiaa red eye7.3%103
  9. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term7.1%101
  10. Eye paineye pain6.8%96
  11. Intentional product use issuedeliberate use not as intended6.7%94
  12. Dry eyedry eye5%71
  13. Product container issuea problem with the container4.9%69
  14. Visual impairmentreduced vision4.9%69
  15. Burning sensationa burning feeling4.8%68
  16. Product knowledge deficit4.6%65
  17. Wrong technique in product usage processthe product was used in the wrong way4.5%64
  18. Headachehead pain4.3%61
  19. Lacrimation increasedwatery eyes4%57
  20. Patient dissatisfaction with treatment3.3%47
  21. Painpain, site not specified2.6%37

Top 30 of 235 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.4%104
Life-threatening0%0
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)8.5%120
Disability0.2%3
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious20.4%288
Not serious66%932

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170.1%1
18 to 441.8%25
45 to 6413.9%197
65 to 7419.7%278
75 and over26.5%374
Age not given38.1%538

Patient sex

Female78.3%1,106
Male16.2%229
Not given5.5%78

Who reported

Physician12.2%172
Pharmacist1.1%15
Other health professional5%70
Lawyer0.1%1
Consumer or non-health professional80.7%1,140
Not given1.1%15

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 100% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Dry eye50535.7%
Meibomian gland dysfunction90.6%
Sjogren's syndrome50.4%
Postoperative care20.1%
Routine health maintenance20.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,413 reports.

In context

MeasureMieboAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,41320,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months7071,332,454
Marked serious34%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports85213
Consumer-filed share80.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsInappropriate schedule of product administration 17.7%0.8%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Miebo reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Miebo?

1,413 reports list Miebo as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 707 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 482 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Miebo reports?

inappropriate schedule of product administration (17.7%), vision blurred (14.7%), product use issue (12.8%), product delivery mechanism issue (12.5%) and eye irritation (11.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Miebo was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

34% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.4% of reports include death and 8.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (80.7%), physician (12.2%) and other health professional (5%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Miebo rising?

707 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 41% from 502 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Miebo was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Miebo?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Miebo as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (482) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.