Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Lenacapavir: adverse event reports filed with FDA

611 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2019–2026.

611
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 84 a year
243
reports, 12 months to June 2026
180 in the 12 months before
34.5%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.2%
record death among outcomes, as reported
44 reports · not verified by FDA

Between April 2019 and June 2026, 611 adverse event reports received by FDA list lenacapavir, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (69) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 243 reports listed it, up 35% from 180 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 84 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded off label use (22.7%), product use issue (16.4%) and product use in unapproved therapeutic environment (13.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 107 different terms appear across these reports. Off label use is recorded in 22.7% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

34.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.2% record death among the outcomes and 10.8% record hospitalisation, as reported. 36.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (23.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01836Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 7Jun 2023: 12Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 6Sep 2023: 8Oct 2023: 9Nov 2023: 13Dec 2023: 142024Jan 2024: 11Feb 2024: 14Mar 2024: 26Apr 2024: 10May 2024: 26Jun 2024: 11Jul 2024: 17Aug 2024: 13Sep 2024: 21Oct 2024: 10Nov 2024: 16Dec 2024: 182025Jan 2025: 9Feb 2025: 9Mar 2025: 12Apr 2025: 18May 2025: 21Jun 2025: 16Jul 2025: 18Aug 2025: 36Sep 2025: 34Oct 2025: 21Nov 2025: 22Dec 2025: 142026Jan 2026: 16Feb 2026: 9Mar 2026: 15Apr 2026: 20May 2026: 20Jun 2026: 18

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01152302019: 120192021: 120212022: 420222023: 8420232024: 19320242025: 23020252026: 982026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Lenacapavir reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label22.7%139
  2. Product use issuea problem in how the product was used16.4%100
  3. Product use in unapproved therapeutic environment13.4%82
  4. Injection site painpain where the injection was given8.5%52
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term4.7%29
  6. Fatiguetiredness3.6%22
  7. Viral load increased3.6%22
  8. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy3.4%21
  9. Nauseafeeling sick3.3%20
  10. Nodule2.9%18
  11. Painpain, site not specified2.6%16
  12. Injection site reactiona reaction where the injection was given2.5%15
  13. Injection site erythemaredness where the injection was given2.3%14
  14. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed2.3%14
  15. Injection site swellingswelling where the injection was given2%12
  16. Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy2%12
  17. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.5%9
  18. Single component of a two-component product administered1.5%9
  19. Blood HIV RNA increased1.3%8
  20. Blood pressure decreaseda low blood pressure reading1.3%8
  21. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.3%8
  22. Labelled drug-drug interaction issue1.3%8
  23. Viral mutation identified1.3%8
  24. Blood creatinine increasedraised creatinine, a kidney test1.1%7

Top 30 of 107 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.2%44
Life-threatening0.8%5
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)10.8%66
Disability2.6%16
Congenital anomaly0.8%5
Other serious27%165
Not serious65.5%400

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.5%3
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 4415.2%93
45 to 6423.2%142
65 to 744.9%30
75 and over0.8%5
Age not given55.3%338

Patient sex

Female24.9%152
Male49.6%303
Not given25.5%156

Who reported

Physician36.7%224
Pharmacist18.7%114
Other health professional26.2%160
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional18.3%112
Not given0.2%1

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 81.8% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Hiv infection34256%
Prophylaxis against HIV infection142.3%
Hiv viraemia30.5%
Hiv-2 infection20.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 611 reports.

In context

MeasureLenacapavirAll reports
Reports as suspect product61120,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2431,332,454
Marked serious34.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7291
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports108213
Consumer-filed share18.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsOff label use 22.7%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Lenacapavir reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Lenacapavir?

611 reports list Lenacapavir as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 243 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 69 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Lenacapavir reports?

off label use (22.7%), product use issue (16.4%), product use in unapproved therapeutic environment (13.4%), labelled drug-drug interaction medication error (9.3%) and injection site pain (8.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Lenacapavir was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

34.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.2% of reports include death and 10.8% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (36.7%), other health professional (26.2%) and pharmacist (18.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Lenacapavir rising?

243 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 35% from 180 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Lenacapavir was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Lenacapavir?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Lenacapavir as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (69) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.