Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Kiovig: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,312 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2006–2026.

1,312
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 67 a year
46
reports, 12 months to June 2026
48 in the 12 months before
98.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.6%
record death among outcomes, as reported
100 reports · not verified by FDA

1,312 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Kiovig" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from December 2006 to June 2026. A further 155 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 46 reports listed it, close to the 48 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 67 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The reactions recorded most often are pyrexia (10.1%), chills (9.9%) and dyspnoea (8.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 387 different terms appear across these reports. Pyrexia is recorded in 10.1% of these reports, against 1.6% of all reports in the database.

98.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.6% record death among the outcomes and 27.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 48.8% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (17.2%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0612Jul 2021: 12Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 5Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 12May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 10Sep 2022: 8Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 9Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 2Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 62024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 6Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 7Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 6Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 5Jun 2025: 5Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 5Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 8Apr 2026: 3May 2026: 10Jun 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

01112212006: 120062007: 102009: 720092011: 42012: 8020122013: 402014: 19820142015: 2212016: 6020162017: 752018: 21620182019: 502020: 4320202021: 572022: 7720222023: 412024: 6520242025: 422026: 252026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Kiovig reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Pyrexiafever10.1%133
  2. Chillschills or shivering9.9%130
  3. Dyspnoeashortness of breath8.2%108
  4. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.5%99
  5. Headachehead pain7.2%94
  6. Nauseafeeling sick6.5%85
  7. Tachycardiafast heart rate6.1%80
  8. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label4.6%60
  9. Vomitingbeing sick4.5%59
  10. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.9%51
  11. Back painback pain3.8%50
  12. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure3.8%50
  13. Pruritusitching3.7%48
  14. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction3.4%45
  15. Painpain, site not specified3.3%43
  16. Blood pressure increaseda raised blood pressure reading3%39
  17. Erythemaskin redness3%39
  18. Coughcough2.9%38
  19. Pneumonialung infection2.7%36
  20. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion2.7%35
  21. Anaphylactic reactiona severe, sudden allergic reaction2.6%34
  22. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.6%34
  23. Body temperature increasedraised temperature2.5%33
  24. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.4%31
  25. Fatiguetiredness2.2%29
  26. Rashskin rash2.2%29
  27. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term2.1%28
  28. Chest painchest pain2.1%27
  29. Pollakiuriapassing urine more often2.1%27
  30. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2%26

Top 30 of 387 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.6%100
Life-threatening8.6%113
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)27.6%362
Disability2.6%34
Congenital anomaly0.2%2
Other serious75.8%994
Not serious1.8%23

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 22.1%27
2 to 116.9%91
12 to 173.1%41
18 to 4411.6%152
45 to 6417.2%226
65 to 748.7%114
75 and over5.8%76
Age not given44.6%585

Patient sex

Female31.5%413
Male35.2%462
Not given33.3%437

Who reported

Physician32.9%432
Pharmacist5.9%77
Other health professional48.8%640
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional10.4%137
Not given2%26

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 1.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Off label use765.8%
Hypogammaglobulinaemia685.2%
Chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy463.5%
Kawasaki's disease413.1%
Immunodeficiency common variable403%
Guillain-barre syndrome382.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,312 reports.

In context

MeasureKiovigAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,31220,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months461,332,454
Marked serious98.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7691
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports276213
Consumer-filed share10.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsPyrexia 10.1%1.6%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Kiovig reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Kiovig?

1,312 reports list Kiovig as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 46 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 155 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Kiovig reports?

pyrexia (10.1%), chills (9.9%), dyspnoea (8.2%), drug ineffective (7.5%) and headache (7.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Kiovig was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.6% of reports include death and 27.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (48.8%), physician (32.9%) and consumer or non-health professional (10.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Kiovig rising?

46 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 48 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Kiovig was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Kiovig?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Kiovig as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (155) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.