Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Enasidenib mesylate

Idhifa: adverse event reports filed with FDA

3,185 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2017–2026.

3,185
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 361 a year
208
reports, 12 months to June 2026
267 in the 12 months before
60.8%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
24.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
787 reports · not verified by FDA

3,185 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Idhifa (enasidenib mesylate) as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2017 to June 2026. A further 105 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 208 reports listed it, down 22% from 267 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 361 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded death (20.1%), off label use (6.8%) and fatigue (6.4%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 268 different terms appear across these reports. Death is recorded in 20.1% of these reports, against 4.1% of all reports in the database.

60.8% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 24.7% record death among the outcomes and 25.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 37.2% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (27.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

056112Jul 2021: 33Aug 2021: 41Sep 2021: 28Oct 2021: 33Nov 2021: 17Dec 2021: 352022Jan 2022: 19Feb 2022: 32Mar 2022: 21Apr 2022: 21May 2022: 32Jun 2022: 40Jul 2022: 34Aug 2022: 24Sep 2022: 16Oct 2022: 19Nov 2022: 26Dec 2022: 202023Jan 2023: 33Feb 2023: 22Mar 2023: 18Apr 2023: 27May 2023: 32Jun 2023: 29Jul 2023: 21Aug 2023: 33Sep 2023: 37Oct 2023: 34Nov 2023: 34Dec 2023: 312024Jan 2024: 18Feb 2024: 112Mar 2024: 30Apr 2024: 24May 2024: 18Jun 2024: 24Jul 2024: 24Aug 2024: 19Sep 2024: 21Oct 2024: 29Nov 2024: 19Dec 2024: 262025Jan 2025: 19Feb 2025: 20Mar 2025: 20Apr 2025: 27May 2025: 23Jun 2025: 20Jul 2025: 11Aug 2025: 14Sep 2025: 23Oct 2025: 21Nov 2025: 28Dec 2025: 232026Jan 2026: 10Feb 2026: 16Mar 2026: 17Apr 2026: 12May 2026: 22Jun 2026: 11

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

02715422017: 8920172018: 39620182019: 41420192020: 54220202021: 38820212022: 30420222023: 35120232024: 36420242025: 24920252026: 882026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Idhifa reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.1%640
  2. Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label6.8%216
  3. Fatiguetiredness6.4%205
  4. Nauseafeeling sick5.9%187
  5. Hospitalisationadmission to hospital5.5%175
  6. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools4.3%136
  7. Decreased appetitereduced appetite3.6%114
  8. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count3.5%112
  9. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected3.1%100
  10. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.6%83
  11. Pyrexiafever2.1%66
  12. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count2%64
  13. Pneumonialung infection1.9%61
  14. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.9%60
  15. Constipationconstipation1.8%57
  16. Vomitingbeing sick1.8%56
  17. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.5%48
  18. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin1.5%48
  19. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified1.4%44
  20. Differentiation syndrome1.3%40
  21. Headachehead pain1.3%40
  22. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.3%40
  23. Falla fall1.2%39
  24. Weight decreasedweight loss1.2%38
  25. Rashskin rash1.2%37
  26. Infectionan infection, type not specified1.1%35
  27. Adverse drug reactiona harmful or unpleasant reaction reported to a medicine1.1%34
  28. Coughcough1.1%34

Top 30 of 268 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death24.7%787
Life-threatening0.4%12
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)25.2%802
Disability0.5%15
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious22.1%705
Not serious39.2%1,247

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%1
2 to 110.1%3
12 to 170.1%3
18 to 441.5%48
45 to 6413.8%439
65 to 7418.9%602
75 and over27.1%862
Age not given38.5%1,227

Patient sex

Female39.7%1,266
Male54.5%1,737
Not given5.7%182

Who reported

Physician15.4%490
Pharmacist9.3%296
Other health professional37.2%1,185
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional36.5%1,163
Not given1.6%51

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 92.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Acute myeloid leukaemia1,72954.3%
Myelodysplastic syndrome1705.3%
Off label use642%
Leukaemia511.6%
Myeloid leukaemia481.5%
Acute leukaemia270.8%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 3,185 reports.

Drugs most often listed in the same reports

Drug (any role in the report)ReportsShare of Idhifa reports
Acyclovir2718.5%
Allopurinol1795.6%
Levofloxacin1163.6%
Ondansetron1133.5%
Omeprazole993.1%
Fluconazole902.8%
Zofran902.8%
Venclexta872.7%
Tylenol802.5%
Ergocalciferol752.4%

Other products listed in reports where Idhifa is a suspect product, whatever their own role. Co-listing means the two were recorded together; it says nothing about either product's part in the event. Only the 2,500 most-reported names are counted here.

In context

MeasureIdhifaAll reports
Reports as suspect product3,18520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months2081,332,454
Marked serious60.8%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports24791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports252213
Consumer-filed share36.5%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDeath 20.1%4.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Idhifa reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Idhifa?

3,185 reports list Idhifa as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 208 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 105 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Idhifa reports?

death (20.1%), off label use (6.8%), fatigue (6.4%), nausea (5.9%) and hospitalisation (5.5%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Idhifa was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

60.8% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 24.7% of reports include death and 25.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (37.2%), consumer or non-health professional (36.5%) and physician (15.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Idhifa rising?

208 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 22% from 267 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Idhifa was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Idhifa?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Idhifa as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (105) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.