Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Gramicidin: adverse event reports filed with FDA

630 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2015–2026.

630
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 58 a year
101
reports, 12 months to June 2026
239 in the 12 months before
98.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
62.4%
record death among outcomes, as reported
393 reports · not verified by FDA

630 adverse event reports received by FDA list gramicidin, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from September 2015 to June 2026. A further 77 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 101 reports listed it, down 58% from 239 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 58 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug ineffective (43%), infusion related reaction (39.2%) and hypoaesthesia (35.7%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 265 different terms appear across these reports. Drug ineffective is recorded in 43% of these reports, against 6.3% of all reports in the database.

98.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 62.4% record death among the outcomes and 32.2% record hospitalisation, as reported. 86.3% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (18.4%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01734Jul 2021: 6Aug 2021: 4Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 11Nov 2021: 8Dec 2021: 112022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 14Mar 2022: 16Apr 2022: 11May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 4Aug 2022: 14Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 7Feb 2023: 11Mar 2023: 4Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 4Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 102024Jan 2024: 13Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 13Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 25Sep 2024: 19Oct 2024: 26Nov 2024: 17Dec 2024: 182025Jan 2025: 12Feb 2025: 34Mar 2025: 18Apr 2025: 34May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 30Jul 2025: 13Aug 2025: 5Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 19Nov 2025: 18Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 8Mar 2026: 10Apr 2026: 6May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0991972015: 120152017: 52018: 320182019: 122020: 1620202021: 552022: 8320222023: 592024: 16420242025: 1972026: 352026

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Gramicidin reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected43%271
  2. Infusion related reactiona reaction during or soon after an infusion39.2%247
  3. Hypoaesthesianumbness35.7%225
  4. Hypertensionhigh blood pressure35.6%224
  5. Macular degenerationa disease of the central retina34.8%219
  6. Impaired healingslow healing33%208
  7. Pyrexiafever30.5%192
  8. Headachehead pain29.4%185
  9. Infectionan infection, type not specified29%183
  10. Weight decreasedweight loss28.6%180
  11. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction28.3%178
  12. Injurya physical injury27.5%173
  13. Nauseafeeling sick27.1%171
  14. Painpain, site not specified26.5%167
  15. General physical health deteriorationgeneral decline in health26%164
  16. Weight increasedweight gain25.4%160
  17. Urticariahives25.2%159
  18. Hepatic enzyme increasedraised liver enzymes25.1%158
  19. Dyspepsiaindigestion24.6%155
  20. Type 2 diabetes mellitustype 2 diabetes24.1%152
  21. Fibromyalgia23.5%148
  22. Nasopharyngitisa cold23.2%146
  23. Vomitingbeing sick23.2%146
  24. Joint range of motion decreasedreduced movement of a joint22.9%144
  25. Joint stiffnessa stiff joint22.5%142
  26. Glossodynia22.4%141

Top 30 of 265 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death62.4%393
Life-threatening22.1%139
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)32.2%203
Disability21.4%135
Congenital anomaly6.2%39
Other serious91.1%574
Not serious1.6%10

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 170%0
18 to 4418.4%116
45 to 641.9%12
65 to 749%57
75 and over0.3%2
Age not given70.3%443

Patient sex

Female83.8%528
Male0.5%3
Not given15.7%99

Who reported

Physician5.2%33
Pharmacist0%0
Other health professional86.3%544
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional8.3%52
Not given0.2%1

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 1.6% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Rheumatoid arthritis406.3%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 630 reports.

In context

MeasureGramicidinAll reports
Reports as suspect product63020,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months1011,332,454
Marked serious98.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports62491
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports322213
Consumer-filed share8.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug ineffective 43%6.3%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Gramicidin reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Gramicidin?

630 reports list Gramicidin as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 101 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 77 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Gramicidin reports?

drug ineffective (43%), infusion related reaction (39.2%), hypoaesthesia (35.7%), hypertension (35.6%) and macular degeneration (34.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Gramicidin was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 62.4% of reports include death and 32.2% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (86.3%), consumer or non-health professional (8.3%) and physician (5.2%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Gramicidin rising?

101 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 58% from 239 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Gramicidin was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Gramicidin?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Gramicidin as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (77) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.