Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Glucophage Xr: adverse event reports filed with FDA

905 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

905
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 40 a year
13
reports, 12 months to June 2026
18 in the 12 months before
47.5%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
7.1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
64 reports · not verified by FDA

Between February 2004 and June 2026, 905 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Glucophage Xr" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product. Reports that mention it only as a concomitant medication (1,514) are left out of every figure here.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 13 reports listed it, down 28% from 18 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 40 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are diarrhoea (14%), blood glucose increased (13.3%) and drug ineffective (6.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 217 different terms appear across these reports. Diarrhoea is recorded in 14% of these reports, against 3.1% of all reports in the database.

47.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 7.1% record death among the outcomes and 18% record hospitalisation, as reported. 59.4% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (26.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

048Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 3Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 52022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 72024Jan 2024: 3Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 4Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 5Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 2Jun 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0531052004: 10520042005: 792006: 812007: 5420072008: 332009: 262010: 2620102011: 182012: 62013: 620132014: 232015: 552016: 5820162017: 282018: 932019: 6720192020: 282021: 182022: 2220222023: 302024: 232025: 1820252026: 7

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Glucophage Xr reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools14%127
  2. Blood glucose increasedraised blood sugar reading13.3%120
  3. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected6.1%55
  4. Nauseafeeling sick4.1%37
  5. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.8%34
  6. Medication residue3.1%28
  7. Fatiguetiredness2.5%23
  8. Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain2.4%22
  9. Weight decreasedweight loss2.3%21
  10. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.2%20
  11. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.1%19
  12. Diabetes mellitus inadequate controldiabetes not well controlled2.1%19
  13. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness2.1%19
  14. Medication residue present2%18
  15. Rashskin rash1.9%17
  16. Vomitingbeing sick1.9%17
  17. Painpain, site not specified1.8%16
  18. Dyspnoeashortness of breath1.7%15
  19. Lactic acidosisa build-up of lactic acid in the blood1.7%15
  20. Abdominal distensiona bloated abdomen1.5%14
  21. Headachehead pain1.5%14
  22. Myocardial infarctionheart attack1.5%14
  23. Abdominal discomfortstomach discomfort1.4%13
  24. Acute kidney injurysudden loss of kidney function1.4%13
  25. Drug interactionan interaction between medicines1.2%11
  26. Flatulencewind1.2%11
  27. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell1.2%11

Top 30 of 217 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death7.1%64
Life-threatening2.5%23
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)18%163
Disability0.8%7
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious32%290
Not serious52.5%475

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.1%1
2 to 110.1%1
12 to 170.1%1
18 to 447.2%65
45 to 6426.6%241
65 to 7414.4%130
75 and over12.2%110
Age not given39.3%356

Patient sex

Female58.7%531
Male32.3%292
Not given9.1%82

Who reported

Physician12.6%114
Pharmacist6.4%58
Other health professional19.2%174
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional59.4%538
Not given2.3%21

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 52.4% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Diabetes mellitus30934.1%
Type 2 diabetes mellitus12714%
Diabetes mellitus non-insulin-dependent455%
Polycystic ovaries80.9%
Diabetes mellitus management60.7%
Blood glucose20.2%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 905 reports.

In context

MeasureGlucophage XrAll reports
Reports as suspect product90520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months131,332,454
Marked serious47.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports7191
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports180213
Consumer-filed share59.4%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDiarrhoea 14%3.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Glucophage Xr reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Glucophage Xr?

905 reports list Glucophage Xr as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 13 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,514 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Glucophage Xr reports?

diarrhoea (14%), blood glucose increased (13.3%), drug ineffective (6.1%), nausea (4.1%) and death (3.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Glucophage Xr was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

47.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 7.1% of reports include death and 18% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (59.4%), other health professional (19.2%) and physician (12.6%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Glucophage Xr rising?

13 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 28% from 18 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Glucophage Xr was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Glucophage Xr?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Glucophage Xr as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,514) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.